We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary S”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Two nights in the Metropole (The Met ) in Leeds. The room on the first floor was on the small side but very comfortable with nice decor and a pristine en suite. The Service was good and the staff were first class, friendly and efficient. Pricey to drink in the bar but close enough to a wide range of pubs and restaurants. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Emeless

Many thanks for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Met Leeds.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms were fairly nice and modern with everything you need however our bathroom was a little tired and could have done with some DIY - nothing major just a bit of mould on the shower screen, some tiles that needed re grouting and some glossig on the frame work- hardly worth complaining about. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the hotel in general was very nice. Breakfast was a little un organised on both mornings but the food was nice. Overall it was fine and we will return mainly due To the brilliant location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyeastyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Amyeastyorks

Many thanks for your feedback, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Met Leeds.

Kind Regards

Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for one night for a friends birthday and had a night round Leeds. Our room was on the 5th floor and was a disappointing sight to say the least. It looked like we had gone back to the 70's the decor and furnishings were that dated. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in the mattress felt half the thickness of a normal mattress, the duvet was the same just a cheapo one. It didn't help been constantly woken up by noise from the room next door the walls must be paper thin and also footsteps in the room above. Our friends who had also booked 'double' rooms also on the 5th floor didnt even have a double size bed they were a 3/4 size!!! I don't know what the rest of the rooms are like in the hotel but if they were as nice as the downstairs reception and dining rooms then it would be a nice hotel and would probably stay again in the future but just left feeling disappointed with our room and wouldn't want to risk it again

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekychops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Cheekychops79

Many Thanks for your feedback, I apologise if the bedroom was not to your liking, we are refurbishing the floor you stayed on over the next couple of months so all the bedrooms will be updated and have new beds

Kind Regards

Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here for one night and it was one night too long! On check in the receptionist was very cold and never made eye contact with me. All she told me was that my room was on the 2nd floor, no mention of where the lifts were. The room was very depressing and the view out of my window was of two air conditioning units. Dinner was a shambles. One waitress serving the whole restaurant (only 5 tables at any one time) not a problem but service took over 2 hours. Guess she was doing the cooking too. The menu was very limited and the steak was very poor. Was expecting more for £20 however the 6 think chips you get and the perpercorn sauce (an additonal cost) was very good.
Don't think I will being coming back.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_a22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Kevin_a22

I am dissapointed to hear about the challenges you faced here at the Met and apologise for any inconvenience caused.
We take feedback like this very seriously and I can assure you that all these points you have raised will be looked into and actioned accordingley.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in room 410, which featured a grubby, jaded bathroom featuring dirt and stained grouting, which is unacceptable for a hotel allegedly of this quality. Breakfast was also a problem, with tea/coffee taking ages to arrive and requests for a bread roll met with 'we only do toast'.

On the plus side, check in was fine, the public areas of the hotel are lovely, and the bed was comfortable, although the hotel was extremely hot and humid (so if you are staying in summer, go somewhere with air conditioning instead). One final note, the advertised 'free high-speed internet access throughout the hotel' does not seem to include the rooms - there you have to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear lazy_diver

Many thanks for your constructive feedback in regards to your stay here at the Met.
I am dissapointed to hear of the challenges you faced, I can assure you that this feedback will be actioned and dealt with accordingley.
Regards the internet issue, I can assure you that all the internet in the hotel is free of charge, the only difference is that you have to use the modem provided on the desk in the bedroom to access the internet, the wi-fi is available in all surrounding areas.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My initial impression of the hotel was reasonable - the common parts are quite nice, but the rooms are not up to scratch. My room was large with a sofa in it, which I liked, but overall it looked tired and as though it needed some TLC - stains on the sofa, stains on the curtains, mouldy grouting, old fashioned TV, peeling paint work etc.

Room service was overpriced and mediocre - my pizza came with a hair on it. Lovely!! I wished I had gone out and brought back a takeaway.

Given the price I certainly wasn't expecting luxury, but there are other hotels in Leeds in the same price bracket which are much more modern & better value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2theWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Mwag

I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy parts of your stay here at The Met.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can guarantee you that this will be actioned and dealt with accordingley

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is very close to the station (about a 2 minute walk) and pretty easy to find.

I was here for a 2-day meeting which was initially in one of the upstairs meeting rooms which was small and really noisy with the windows open (think buses and drilling) but had no apparant air conditioning meaning you baked with the windows closed! The staff were very helpful though and arranged for a change of room to one of the basement meeting rooms which was perfect! Air-conditioned; quiet; close to the tea and coffee and of a good size.

During the meeting we had some issues with the wifi but this was quickly sorted by one of the hotel staff.

We stayed for one night and ate in the restaurant which was great. The atmosphere was good; food was great (I'd stay here again purely for the food!) and service was efficient and well organised. Drinks were expensive though (but it's a hotel...) . Breakfast was also really good with freshly baked bread; small quantities of cooked breakfast which were regularly topped-up.

The room was good with plenty of space, an iron and a very comfortable bed. Some of my colleagues complained about being woken by the bin men bright and early but I didn't hear it so I must have been on the right side of the hotel.

All the staff I spoke to were happy to help and friendly - like they actually wanted my custom!

All in all I'd quite happily stay here again and would go as far as to request to stay here (rather than staying where I get told!)

Room Tip: Check you haven't been assigned a meeting room upstairs (MET 1-10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Mr Jacey

Many Thanks for your feedback regards your event held here at the Met.

I am very pleased to find that your overall experience was a positive one.

Kind Regards

Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
1,493 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £58 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing