We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Grange
2 reviews
“absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I would recommend you stay at this hotel for the pleasant relaxing experience.A beautiful hotel both inside and out and the staff are really friendly and cater for you every need. The location of the hotel is ideal for leeds city centre shopping etc. Leeds appears to be a lively thriving place to be.
This Value for money Hotel Has excellent high standards, food is excellent especially breakfast Would stay there anytime

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear The_Terry,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at The Met Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read a review from a guest who has had a most enjoyable experience with us at The Met Hotel.

As you quite rightly stated Leeds is lively thriving place and we are so proud to be a part of that experience.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel again very soon

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    442
    399
    213
    153
See reviews for
82
438
120
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Me and a friend stopped here as we were going to the leeds festival. the hotel is a principal hayley hotel and for the price we paid(£60! via trivago) we were amazed at the standard of a hotel. We honestly thought we had the wrong hotel lol, its got that 'international hotel ' feel about it and it was booked for a saturday night so we could have easily paid double or more!

The room 403 was very comfortable but quite hot as many hotel rooms seem to be, breakfast was excellent quality too, buffet style with fresh juices, fruit and full english of course.

i would definitely stay here again at that price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazlotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear gazlotre,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments on your past experiences at The Met Hotel. We welcome all responses from guests as it allows us to continually develop our current offering.

So pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your short stay at The Met whilst at this years Leeds Festival. We work hard on the ambiance of the hotel so that we ensure it caters to all clients.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel during next years Leeds Festival

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As soon as you see the hotel it is beautiful from the outside. Inside is just as nice, the staff are very nice and cater to your need. Very good value for money. About 10 minutes to the shops and handy for the station. Very clean and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Beth2202,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It was lovely to hear that you appreciated the true beauty of our wonderful old building and very nice to hear that you found The Met value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here as a single female traveller in July 2013. The Met is well located in a reasonable central area only a couple of minutes from the station. My single room was small but clean and had all amenities needed. Breakfast was fine and my request for porridge met speedily. Staff are professional and the public areas are not intimidating. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meltonwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Meltonwrite,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

Pleasing to hear that you had a pleasurable experience whilst staying at The Met Hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 8 other women for my hen night, the hotel is in a good location for access to shopping and nightlife
The rooms were spacious, clean and provided exactly what we needed
We booked beauty treatment packages and these were fantastic highly recommend
Breakfast was lovely, plenty if choice and food tasty and warm.
Restaurant very clean and staff happy to help
Very pleasant stay overall

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Gemma58,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments on your past experiences at The Met Hotel. We welcome all responses from guests as it allows us to continually develop our current offering.
It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Met Hotel and that you were able to experience the service quality that we pride ourselves on.
I do hope that we are able to continue to welcome you to The Met any time that you are in the area.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

i went to the met hotel in leeds for my nieces wedding, the weddding was excellent, the staff very friendly and welcoming. we stayerd over night what a mistake our room backed on to the club next door, shouting untill all hours then when it finally settled down staff decided to use the bottle bank wright under our room this went on untill about 3am.

Room Tip: aask for a room at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Victoria_Hayley

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your experience at your nieces wedding.
Please accept my apologies for the difficulties that you experienced during your evening. This is something that we are currently attempting to stop with some good cooperation from the pub you mentioned behind us.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's not the staff, lets be clear about that. They do what they can with absolutely no support from management, assuming there is any as I never saw a manager whilst I was there. All chain hoteliers should beat a path to this place for a lesson in cost cutting and meanness. A cheap refurb, low energy lighting which is dull and creates a dingy feeling, no bathrobe, no bottled water, no toiletries other than two 10cl bottles of body wash, a telly from the 90's with an awful signal, wifi is free(amazingly) but of course not available in the rooms unless you use the cable ( no use for my MacBook Air), non stealable coat hangers, no credit unless you handover your card, only two tiny towels that don't even cover your modesty, i could o on and on. This is a soulless hotel with nothing to recommend it other than cheapness. When will the UK's hotel groups stop treating their customers like mugs in the pursuit of paying back loans they cannot afford to prop up hotels that do not deserve to operate. All that is bad about the UK Hotel scene is on display here and it's miserable. Don't stay here and then hopefully the owners will realise they are in the wrong business. Until we stop using these kind of hotels we get he hotels in he UK we deserve. I will never return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmallShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear SmallShot,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. We value all feedback from guests and do take those that may not be the most favourable very seriously. As a business we are constantly looking to better ourselves and adapt to best meet the needs of the modern day guest. Your comments will allow us to assess our offering and adapt to ensure that we better fulfil our guests requirements in the future.

I do hope that you may return to us in the future so that you may judge these changes for yourself

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Quebecs
#9 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#37 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing