We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, restful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel after being offered a two night free stay by their solihull sister hotel (see review of st johns hotel)

We stayed on the 4th floor and our bed was wonderfully comfortable and breakfast was nice. There was some noise from outside however when you're in the city centre and in an old building I guess that is to be expected. Staff were very friendly and the building was beautiful. The hotel is within walking distance from most things you'd want to see in the city centre. We thoroughly enjoyed our two day break.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsBJohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Mrs BJohal

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience here at The Met.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Met and very pleasing to be able to welcome you back to another PH Hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to the team.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met many times more in the future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked two nights at The Met and it is in a great location just a couple of minutes walk from the train station and close to the shops, bars and resteraunts of Leeds City centre. The public areas of the hotel look lovely and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. However our room was really disappointing, very small and it didn't seem to have a full size double bed. There is no double glazing so it was, due to its city centre location, very noisy. There was no extraction fan in the bathroom and this seems to be contributing to a mold problem in the grouting. Not ideal!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Cnoodles

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. Your constructive comments are very gratefully received allow us the opportunity to evaluate our offering and improve upon this for future guests.

It was disappointing to discover that upon this occasion you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us.
We are currently reviewing a number of our bedrooms in an attempt to bring them inline with modern standards for a city Centre hotel. This will in due course include work on the windows.

The look of the public areas and the excellent service from the staff are the points we will continue with and ensure this same enthusiasm is applied to every area of the hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to us at some point in the near future so that we may show you a true reflection of the standard and quality that we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A very disappointing hotel. Foyer and bar etc were lovely. The room was awful tiny and old. The bathroom had cracked tiles etc. the room was boiling hot,and the view from the window looked like a Victorian work house. The breakfast was disgraceful and half the food it said was there was not. There was no croissants no selection of bread just old overlooked rolls and there no selection of fresh fruit. You could see people's faces as they looked at the food available. Two inexperienced young staff tried to run the tea coffee etc but it was very slow. The toast they brought was cold and rubbery.
This is just a 3* at most . The travel lodge food and rooms are much better.
I think Leeds met need to realise the pictures they put on the website should look like the rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that matches the web pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetteproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Janetteproud

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. Your constructive comments are very gratefully received allow us the opportunity to evaluate our offering and improve upon this for future guests.

It was disappointing to discover that upon this occasion you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us.
We are currently in the midst of an ongoing process to rejuvenate a number of our bedrooms to bring them in line with modern specification, mainly the windows and bathrooms – something which you commented on in your review.

The service & quality you experienced in our restaurant is certainly not reflective of the high standard that we set ourselves here and it is something that I have discussed with the departmental heads in great detail.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to us at some point in the near future so that we may show you a true reflection of the standard and quality that we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Met and after a few pre booking room queries (we got there and eventually the service was superb)............we had the best room, 2nd floor, lovely large bed quite (bit hot till we opened the window (not noisy either).

We ate in the hotel with great restaurant service and even better at breakfast - especially attentive.

The hotel couldn't be better positioned so a quick city tour in the morning was just the ticket - and yes - we will return!

Room Tip: they tell me that 602 has the only original fireplace in the hotel (lift only goes to the 5th tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loquax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Loquax

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience here at The Met.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Met and I am pleased that we were able to help with your pre-booking enquiries to ensure that your stay was 100% pleasurable.
I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to the team.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met many times more in the future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

An excellent city centre hotel. Spacious rooms, large bathroom with large fluffy towels although the water took a long time to drain out of the bath . When taking a shower you end up with water over the ankles. The staff in the restaurant are friendly and helpful as are the receptionists. The only moan is that the room was very warm at night with the radiator turned off but we were in a side room and with the window open the traffic was noisy. However we would recommend the hotel and stay there again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank terets57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Terets57

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience here at The Met.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Met. I will be sure to get maintenance to look at the points your mentioned regarding heating and the draining away of water immediately.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met many times more in the future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

stayed recently in a single room which was clean but tattered with paint flaking off the walls and sash window which rattles a lot so difficult to get a good night's sleep. website describes free wifi but this is actually a plug in connection in the room with wifi only available in reception and the lounge areas. housekeeping disturbed early in the morning despite only staying for 1 night. overall mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumbykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Thumbykin

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through these comments that we are able to monitor and assess our current offering to guests.

It is very disappointing to hear that you only found the Hotel to be Average. I will be sure to bring your review up at our weekly head of department meeting and we will strive to ensure that other guests do not have a similarly average experience whilst they are with us.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the future so that you may experience a true example of the standard and quality that we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards
Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is 2nd visit to this hotel and both have excellent service
This am we went down to breakfast not realising that it finished at9.30 but Kelly put her self out and ask Ryan the chef if he could prepare breakfast for us x4
No problem the breakfast arrived and was excellent as usual
Thank you for another great weekend and thanks to you pleasant and helpful staff we can certainly return to the Met




Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Les_SandraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Les_sandraD

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience here at The Met.

It is wonderful to hear that you have had multiple enjoyable experiences here at The Met Hotel and it is also very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate your wishes for breakfast.

I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to all the team including Kelly and Ryan.

I hope that we are able to continually welcome you back to The Met many times more in the future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,065 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
3,326 reviews
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,127 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £62 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing