We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Hertford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worse experience ever”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Dirty, tired and no food available for dinner!
One of those hotels where the reception is the best bit and that's not even great!
Single glazed windows mean you get to feel like you are sleeping in the streets of Leeds thus you will get no sleep.

I was unfortunate enough to drop an earring on the carpet in my room and that's when I realised why it felt like I was walking on grains of rice- the carpet looked liked it hadn't been hoovered for months.


I was there for your de France with a group of business associates and for convenience we braved the restaurant fortunately we had a lucky escape as every time someone went to order anything off the menu it was "sorry we don't have that" or "sorry 4 people can't have that as we only have one steak available"

Avoid at all costs if you want a clean room and decent nights sleep

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nicola1919,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer my apologies for what appears to be a less that satisfactory stay with us.

The comments you have made are certainly not in line with the standard that we work towards here at The Met and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you further.
If you would be kind enough to contact our Operations Manager at joseph.farrar@principal-hayley.com


Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    442
    399
    213
    153
See reviews for
82
438
120
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a beautiful building, it is a shame that the first thing the weary traveller comes across is the not-so-faint aroma of dirty mop that pervades the lobby and very small lift. But is it symptomatic of a wider problem of lack of care about that beautiful building.

Our room was on the sixth floor(warning - the lift only goes to the 5th floor) and was tiny and airless (even with the window open). Just because you can squeeze in a double bed doesn't make it a double room, especially when the bed is covered with a single sheet that can't be tucked in. We had to take in turns to get dressed in the mornings as there was not enough space for us both to get changed at the same time. There was one chair on which to put our clothes overnight. My other half used the knobs on the wardrobe door.


The bathroom had a cracked sink and dirty shower (see pics). The hot tap spat at us due to poor water pressure - this problem then extended to the shower so that spat spurts of alternatively warm and freezing cold water. Maybe some of that dirt is due to the fact that you can't get hot water in there! There was only one set of towels in the bathroom, a second set of towels was on the floor of the wardrobe (not very welcoming).

There was no wi-fi access in our room so we had to use our computers in the lobby, bar and restaurant.

On checking out we were initially charged for an upgrade to our room ( if only!!) as well as £20 per day for parking. After some discussion, the receptionist realised that we had not had an upgrade and rescinded the charge.

It advertises itself as a 4 star hotel but alas whilst the bricks and mortar and 4 star, the facilities are 2 star at best.

Room Tip: Avoid the sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sasha160,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer my apologies for what appears to be a less that satisfactory stay with us.

The comments you have made are certainly not in line with the standard that we work towards here at The Met and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you further.
If you would be kind enough to contact our Operations Manager at joseph.farrar@principal-hayley.com


Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the met for the weekend. The hotel doesn't warn people that its an events hotel and that only guests involve in the event matter. When we arrived on the friday evening we were greeted by a full blown disco and dozens of screaming student party goers. The noise was horrendous and could be heard from the sixth floor. On entering the room it got worse. Dated, cluttered, extremly small, boiling hot and smelt of damp. Quite literally an attic room. The second night was the same again, this time a wedding party. We had planned to eat in the restaurant, but unless you want your plate to move around by itself on a vibrating table, forget it.

On checking out at the end of our very uncomfortably, sleep deprived stay we weren't even asked if we had had a good stay? It just capped off possibly the worst hotel stay possible as no further proof was needed that our experience wasn't important.

All in all the rooms are very poor, customer service was non existent and the hotel is well over priced in comparison to other hotels locally. Will not be returning!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jonathan W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer my apologies for what appears to be a less that satisfactory stay with us.

The comments you have made are certainly not in line with the standard that we work towards here at The Met and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you further.
If you would be kind enough to contact our Operations Manager at joseph.farrar@principal-hayley.com


Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed there one night whilst on business in Leeds. The hotel exterior and reception were truly picturesque and reflected well the Victorian feel whilst being modern. I agree with another reviewer about the customer service, it was average with lack of eye contact and friendliness; it felt automatic and one reptionist in particular sounded a bit like a tape recorder. Some of the staff were a bit clueless and they could all benefit from customer care training. I had a single room on the 3rd floor and although it was clean, the bed was quite soft, which is fine for one person but would have been uncomfortable had it been a double. I thought it lacked character and was bland, which is a shame in a building so full of character. The room was quite stuffy as I could only open my window by a few inches. Breakfast was average but there are options which can be ordered such as poached eggs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mika55_9,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience here at The Met

It appears you have a somewhat mixed experience during your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding service interaction to our heads of department as I am sure that they will be concerned with your comments.

Once again I thank you for your constructive comments

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Dated Hotel which looks good on the surface. No hot water in bathroom or shower. Noisy room. Wifi and Internet terrible for a so called business hotel. Location good and breakfast decent. Attention to detail and pride lacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear EnglishManJourney

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent experience here at The Met. We very much value constructive honest feedback such as yours as this allows us the opportunity to evaluate our current offering to guests.

It was disappointing to learn that you did not have the most pleasurable of experience which we hope for all of our guests. I am pleased to say however that since your stay we have undergone significant changes in relation to our Wifi and this has improved the usability considerably.

I will be sure to pass on all your comments regarding your stay and in particular the service elements of your experience to the team so that we are able to use this as a base point for our improvement in the future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just got back from 3 nights away at the met, very warm welcome for us, room was lovely and clean! The hotel is close to all local attractions. Breakfast was yummy too, big variety to choose from! Staff always spoke when they seen you, we didn't have dinner at the hotel but we did have a few drinks in the tempus bar which was nice. No doubt if we visit leeds again we would definitely stop at this hotel!! Big thumbs up to all the staff at The Met :)

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel which was very good as didn't hear any tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiserchief07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Kaisercheif07

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent experience.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Met.

It was so pleasing to hear that you will be staying with us again the next time you visit Leeds (we hope it’s not too far away)

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great City to visit and the Met was a good choice of Hotel. We arrived by train from London and the Hotel was 5 minutes from the Station. We were welcomed at the desk and given a room on the 5th floor. The Hotel is a fabulous Hotel a great example of Terracotta Style. The Hotel had an attractive foyer and impressive staircase. The room was very good tastefully decorated and a a very nice bathroom (looked like it was recently refurbished). Everything in the room you would need, tea and coffee, hairdryer, tv, iron and a fan if needed. We had a good night's sleep and woke up rested ready for the day of visiting the University. From the Hotel the centre of Town ( Trinity Centre and the Corn Exchange) it was 10 minutes walk and then to the University from the centre of town 15 minutes walk. We would return to the hotel and also to Leeds (great City) interesting architecture.

Room Tip: 5th floor was good, I cannot comment on the other rooms but 503 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_B186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Amanda_B186338

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent experience.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Met.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the near future for an equally as wonderful experience.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#37 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing