We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand all the negativity!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Met Hotel Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the negativity!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Met, Leeds after purchasing a groupon offer for bed, breakfast and evening meal. We were both very pleased with the hotel from start to finish with the staff, quality of food and room we had.

We arrived shortly after 2pm and although only booking a standard room we asked if there were any available with larger beds the receptionist said there was but we would have to wait for to to be cleaned, this was not a problem as we had planned to visit the Royal Armouries anyway (only a 10 minute walk away) and we were able to leave our luggage in the office.

When we returned a few hours later our room was ready, we had rood 302 which was a very well decorated corner room with plenty of natural light. The views were not the best and there was a little street noise (as you would expect from a city centre hotel).

The room also lacked a luggage stand and was close to the stairs which meant there was a some noise as the door opened and closed however these were only small negatives and the super king size bed, bottled water and plenty of tea and coffee more than made up for them.

The evening meals were of high quality as was the choice and quality of breakfast with a hot and cold buffet on offer. After breakfast we once again left our luggage while we explored the city before getting a train home.

If you are looking for a medium priced city centre hotel in Leeds then you can't go far wrong with the the Met.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    425
    393
    209
    150
See reviews for
80
422
117
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Have stayed at the Met on numerous occasions over the last few years whilst on business. It's been "adequate" but this week's stay has driven me to write a review as the place is clearly on a rocky road downhill. Staff generally fine, polite etc, other than the chap on reception this week who was just abrupt. The room was OK, fairly recently refurbished, but still have to wait 10 minutes for hot water to arrive, and being on the side where the bins are collected, plenty of noise in the early hours of the morning. The real reason for the review though is the food....appalling!! Evening of arrival a club sandwich took over half an hour to arrive and was just disgusting as were the sour chips, the following morning, breakfast (cooked) was just a shocker, overcooked, dry and completely unappetising. Back to Premier Inn for me, at least I know what I'm going to get there.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mopsyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Myself and my two daughters stayed at the Met Leeds recently and were really looking forward to a bit of indulgence insofar as nice surroundings and a little luxury. What a disappointment!
Firstly, though I must say that all of the staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant.
The problem is the hotel itself. It appears to have a had a "bit of a makeover", but very basic. Once out the main reception area the rest of the hotel is quite shabby and dirty. Our rooms were dated, smelly and lacking in amenities. Mine in particular resembled a cell. It was cold, damp and cramped.
After a night out we went to the hotel bar which can seat approximately 15/16 people and asked to see the cocktail list. The young barman informed us that they were not allowed to make cocktails and could only serve beers, wines and spirits. When we asked to see the bar menu we were informed that this ended at 10pm (it was 10.30pm). We then asked if room service was also finished and were told that it was still available but only to the room. We were then informed that we could have it delivered to our room and bring it down to the bar! After a bit of persuasion the guy in the kitchen agreed to make sandwiches and send them to the bar. The bread was stale and the sandwiches mostly inedible.
I could go on. In a nutshell it was an experience not to be repeated. Pity as it sounded good in the literature.

Room Tip: Dont have a room near the lift or at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

For a night out in Leeds it's ideal 10 mins walking from any of the bar areas. The entrance area is very grand. Free wi fi for one hour a bonus. Didn't use restaurant so can't comment on food. Rooms clean but old fashioned. Ideal for night out in Leeds.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vickyst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Vickyst123

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent experience here at The Met. All comments are very much appreciated and they form the basis for our continual development here at The Hotel.

It was very pleasing to hear that you found the hotel clean and convenient for use.

I hope that the next time you visit Leeds we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel again

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Where do I start - very poor experience considering the 4 star status and price tag.

Lift was out of order for the week - we were on the 3rd floor with heavy luggage - no mention of this at the time of booking yet it was planned maintenance. Wifi was pathetic with only an hour free. The car park was tiny and was charged at £20 per night which was scandalous. The room was shabby and needed a lick of paint and some modernisation.

I will not be staying again and would approach any of these hotels in the PH group - other chains provide much better VFM.

Room Tip: Insist on a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jon E

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent experience here at The Met. We very much value constructive honest feedback such as yours as this allows us the opportunity to evaluate our current offering to guests.

It was disappointing to learn that you did not have the most pleasurable of experience which we hope for all of our guests. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by our lift being out of service.
I must apologise for any confusion caused by the internet. The Wi-Fi is completely complimentary for the duration of any guest stay and a code just needs to be obtained from the reception desk.

I will be sure to pass on all your comments regarding your stay and in particular the service elements of your experience to the team so that we are able to use this as a base point for our improvement in the future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Easy to reach from train station, convenient for shops and restaurants. Rooms large, clean and comfortable although hot. Bar open all evening for residents. Hotel staff where pleasant and helpful. TV, iron, tea/coffee facilities all in room.

Room Tip: Double rooms are of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Vikk08

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at The Met Hotel.

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Met and as you quite rightly stated we are ideally located for all of the wonderful restaurant and bars in Leeds.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Old character but with a freshness modernness about it. Got everything right here, all the little details like candle lanterns at the front doors. Perfection. On night 3 and delighted with my stay. Staff are so very nice. Breakfasts have been delicious. Do consider a tiny little walk off the very city centre boasting of more quietness and minutes only from train station.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullaneannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mullaneannette

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at The Met Hotel.

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your your time here at The Met and very pleasing that you enjoyed the small little extras that we feel really add to the ambience of the hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#34 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Quebecs
#7 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing