We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeds Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel is very central in Leeds. Rooms are comfortable, however, it is very expensive. Manager was rude, I asked for converter, and he told me inappropriately that i was going to be charged If i don't return it,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Jlarez

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Please accept my apologies for the service you recived
I would like a bit more information if possible on the incident with the rude associate.
Please contact me by email or call me on 01132366366
I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards
Paul Collins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    715
    287
    106
    48
See reviews for
235
701
91
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have not actually stayed @ this hotel but last week we went into the 1871 bar which was really interesting.

Lovely hot day in Leeds City Centre where this bar is situated, we tried 2 glasses of perfectly chilled Rose which was served with nibbles. Lots of happy shoppers doing the same and watching the world walk by.

Great position, friendly and efficient staff. Really enjoyed it well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JELeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel is very central in leeds. Rooms are comfortable, however bathrooms need updating and the air conditioning is not very effective. Hot in summer and rooms are cold in winter. Recently ate in the new steak restaurant and while the food is nice, it is very expensive. You have to pay extra for chips, vegetables etc. I would expect a sauce and fries for a £25 steak. Will not be a regular visitor to the restaurant. Car parking is very expensive. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesT38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Most will probably like this place. It was spotless and my room was modern. The only problem was, it was really hot! Whilst it had a blower in the room, it was pretty noisy so I struggled to get to sleep with it on and because I was on the 1st floor, with the window open I could hear everyone walking past so couldn't leave it open.

I travel on business and only get a budget of £20 for an evening meal. This is the first hotel I've stayed in outside London where the choice in the restaurant on that budget was really limited. My 2nd choice was a bar snack in the newly refurbushed hotel bar. Only 2 real choices - burger or salad. I enjoyed the burger and it was decent value for the money.

I ventured out 3 times in the evening for a walk and each time got pestered by beggers opposite the hotel - be warned!

*TOP TIP - if you park in the NCP next to the hotel, make sure you get Reception to validate your ticket to benefit from discount - be careful though, even then its very pricey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Night-Club unless you've got a set of ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the Marriot on a Saturday night in March 2012.

The hotel is very clean and staff and service is excellent. Rooms ate spacious and have minibar, tv, air conditioning.

It is in an excellent location......however! Be aware that there is a nightclub just beside the hotel and if you are unlucky enough to get a room on the side where the club is, it is very, very noisy from about midnight until 6am. May be worth asking for a room on the other side.

Other than this it's a great hotel in a great location at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I normally stay in this hotel when i come to Leeds for business as it is just a couple of minutes walk from my office. I like the hotel's location: it is close to many bars and restaurants as well as the main shopping street and the train station. The cab ride from the airport will be around 20-25 pounds.
The rooms are on the smaller side and some of them need renovation. In fact the hotel seems to be ongoing some renovation of it's bar and restaurant areas. Breakfast is plentiful and has everything you will need.
I specially like the pool and fitness center. After a had day at work, it is extremely nice to go down to the pool area and relax a bit. Fitness could be a bit bigger and the aircon is on the old fashioned side but good enough to keep you fit. Do get there early (or late) as it tends to get busy around 7am and 7pm.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Leeds for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I sometime stay at the Marriott when in Leeds for business. The room is standard hotel fare for the price range, but the restaurant continues to let the place down.

Since I am visiting Leeds for work, I want to be able to eat at the hotel. I try to avoid the Marriott because of the poor service and poor quality food at the restaurant, but since the restaurant had been re-vamped I thought I would give it a go.

I don't know how much money they spent on the make over but they wasted every single penny. Service is glacially slow and food quality has sunk further than before.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#15 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeds Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Marriott Hotel

Property: Leeds Marriott Hotel
Address: 4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Leeds
#14 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#19 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European charm and a touch of modern elegance await you at the Leeds Marriott Hotel. Located in the heart of city centre, we offer unbeatable access to some of Leeds' most celebrated attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Leeds Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leeds
Leeds Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing