We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are traveling by train the location is excellent. Rooms are what you would expect from a Hilton. We were disappointed that they did not have a Executive Lounge but other than that it was a nice hotel to stay at. Breakfast was about average with all the usual assortment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jelahti

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel`s location and your allocated room.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to the lack of an Executive Lounge.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    785
    524
    204
    115
See reviews for
183
754
107
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the Hilton for just a Sunday night last weekend. The hotel is very central and convenient for shops, restaurants and pubs. We were upgraded to a very nice suite on the 11th floor by a very pleasant and helpful young lady on reception. The young lady also arranged for us to have an early dinner as we were going to a show in the Town Hall at 08:00. Our room was very spacious with plenty of storage space and a large flat screen TV and big double bed. The en-suite bathroom was a good size with separate bath and shower cubicle. The room and what we saw of the Hotel was very clean. Our 3-course evening meal was very nice apart from the frozen chips that were quite over-done, a shame because everything else was very good. Just had one drink in the hotel which seemed very pricey but what we've come to expect in City centre hotels. We both had an excellent nights sleep in what was a really comfortable bed. Breakfast next morning was just ok. As stated previously the bacon, sausage etc is cooked and left under lamps to keep warm, unfortunately this does make the food really dry. There was also a large amount of cereal and fruit etc to choose from. All the staff that we spoke to were very pleasant and helpful. We have stayed in a lot of Hilton Hotels around the World and have never been let down by one yet. This one was no exception and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Philann

Thank you for taking the time to place your detailed feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particulary, our central location, ideal for the local shops, bars and restaurants of Leeds.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to a 11th Floor Suite and my Reception team were able to offer you an early dinner to suit your needs.
Please be assured all your feedback has been noted and shared with all my team, here at the Hilton Leeds City.
Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Mediocre business hotel. Cramped rooms with dull furnishing. No biscuits. Poor and expensive restaurant. Noisy gym on ground floor. Some staff are very helpful but as a coordinated service a lot is left to be desired. Avoid unless you have no other choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Giuseppe T

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback online via Tripadvisor and completing an online survey, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your detailed feedback has been noted.
I am sorry to read that our hotel was not up to your expectations. We don`t offer biscuits as standard in any of our rooms. I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you.
I do hope that the separate correspondence and arrangements made for you, meet with your approval.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend with an upmarket coach tour. The room and facilities were good and the location and parking very convenient, but the Saturday evening food was not good at all. This may have been coach party fare, but the soup was bland and tasteless (although hot, which was a plus), there was a hot buffet main course which was a choice of bland roast turkey breast, hard to chew pork steak in a red sauce and either fish cakes or ravioli, which we didn't try. The vegetables were undercooked and unseasoned. I had hot rice pudding for desert which was ok (although a strange thing to have) and the other deserts were mousses and sponges. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered a wide choice, but there was no freshly cooked food, it was all pre-cooked and kept warm. Disappointing for a Hilton, maybe it's what happens with coach parties and independent visitors would have better experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandlLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear sandlLondon_UK

Thank you for taking the time to place your detailed feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all our feedback has been noted and shared with the relevant Heads of Department. I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to your evening meal and Hilton Breakfast offered to you in our City 3 Restaurant.
I am sure had you highlighted your concerns at the time of your visit, a member of my Restaurant Team would have been delighted to assist you, address your concerns and offer you a meal that would have met more with your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A two night with my fiancee. From arrival, through to breakfast, through to drinks at the bar, everything was perfect. We arrived two hours early and expeceted to wait, but they sorted a room out immediately for us. The room was immaculately clean and tidy, and was cleaned and the bed made up while were out the following day. The staff were very friendly, always saying Hello and making sure that everything was to our satisfaction.
Breakfast was unbelievable with lots of choice, from Full English, to fruit, cereal, toast, croissants etc .. and unlimited coffee and juice. Well worth pay that bit extra to add the breakfast into the deal. We filled up and didn't need to eat again until we went out on the night.
Bar prices were very reasonable and less than I expected to pay at a hotel.
All in all, it was an excellent place to stay and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Kev G

Thank you for taking the time to place your detailed feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Please be assured that all our feedback has been noted and shared with my team, here at the Hilton Leeds City, as it acts as a great motivator.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. I did not arrive until after 8 pm having only booked that morning. Booking in was painless and the receptionist very helpful. Lovely big room with large twin beds. However it was very warm and the air con made no impact on this. The old style double glazing was not that efficient at keeping out the noise from the station. Also thin walls so I could hear the TV next door. Having said that, the room was well appointed and very clean apart from a little pile of dust behind the bathroom door (which I only noticed because the loo faces that way!)
Room service was fine, although £5 tray charge seems a little steep, The fire evacuation was well handled and I was able to get back into my room within 5 minutes when the all clear was given.
Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice - liked the fresh orange juice! Check out was again swift and efficient. All the staff I came across were polite and helpful.
All in all, a good hotel and conveniently located with just a few little glitches which are probably do to with the age of the building. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Devonvillamaid
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your comments have been noted and shared with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure the appropriate corrective action is taken. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
Delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed our Reception`s warm welcome, your Hilton Breakfast and you found my team polite and helpful.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very comfortable rooms with easy access to Granary Wharf and the City Centre. Expensive breakfast but worth it with excellent selection including fresh pastries, continental meats & cheeses, and Full English! Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Caroline M
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found your allocated room comfortable and found our hotel an ideal location to access the City Centre and Granary Wharf.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your Hilton Breakfast and the service offered to you from my team.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,048 reviews
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Property: Hilton Leeds City
Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing