We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, close to the city centre.”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A little dated and the rooms are small (in a superior room), the bar serves decent mojitos, and checking in and out were easy, but we have stayed in better hotels in the city. It's only a couple of minutes walk from the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

thanks for your review...we appreciate them all and share all comments with our team. Glad the mojitos went down well and you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here when visiting a local business.

The room itself was well appointed with a TV (But the channels didn't match what was in the directory and the remote was a pig to operate).

The bed was really comfortable and the choice of pillows on the bed was nice. The room came with a tea-tray as well as its own iron and ironing board.

The sound proofing was poor - and all three of us were woken by a people coming in at 0300. The rooms were also really hot with the aircon seemingly not making much difference - the windows open, but announcements at the station next door start at 0400.

The bathroom was refurbished (like the bedroom) with a walk in shower comprising of a shower head and drench shower.

A colleague had the room next door (1008) and this had a bath, rather than just the shower.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Breakfast offered a good choice and was only £10 when purchased on check in.

In terms of dinner, I found it to be a little over-priced. I had a starter of Nachos (massive) and a main of Sirloin Steak with peppercorn sauce. The steak was cooked well, but the trimmings were small when considered that it cost £21. Peppercorn sauce was awful.

The wine choice is wide, but again overpriced.

Its an OK hotel. No complaints, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

thanks for your review...we appreciate all comments to assist our management and future planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for one night. Lovely room. Great location. Staff were very friendly. No bath towels in room had to hunt some down. One of the best hotel breakfasts I ave ever had. Waiters were very attentive great food selection. I would stay again when in Leeds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

thanks for your review and glad you had a great stay with us....and i'm sure you enjoyed the City of Leeds as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly good parking facilities for a city centre hotel, however slightly snug spaces. Nice reception area very grand marble desk Nice room big king bed with really nice bedding etc. really nice decor in the bathroom. Amazing breakfast ! All you can eat. One little niggle, the pool shut slightly early. All in all really nice hotel in a nice location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jakmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

thanks for your review and glad you had a great stay.Your comments will be shared with our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Due to a mix up my wife and I needed a hotel late sunday evening. Being a HH member I made a dash for the Hilton. The grumpy and not very helpful night manager found us a room which was very typical Hilton small ,well equipped and clean if a tad on the hot side.
As always the Hilton breakfast and reception was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazzamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear mazzamaskell

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Please be assured all your feedback has been noted. I am sorry for your disappointment in regards to the air cooling on offer to you from your allocated room.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your Hilton Breakfast and my Reception team were welcoming.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your kind feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The location of this hotel this excellent - close to the train station, malls, attractions and a bunch of nice restaurants - all in about 5 minute walk. The breakfast was very nice as well.
Stayed here on a business trip and the room size was ok as i was travelling solo, but small by general hilton standards. Internet connectivity was an issue as it kept getting disconnected if the connection was idle for a brief periods (in minutes). The stay was nice and comfortable overall. The location is what is really great. There is a nice sandwich and coffee place just outside and to the left if you do not want to pay for hotel buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adi567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear adi567

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel`s location and your Hilton Breakfast.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to our internet wi-fi offering.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with friends this weekend.
Check in was quick and efficient. Rooms are modern and comfortable with a degree of quality in terms of fitments and furniture.
Bed and pillows were excellent.
AirCon is poor and the room was too hot (My friends also had the same comment about their rooms)
Pool and Gym are run by a third party and are poor/average.
Didn't eat at the hotel but did drink just once as the prices are ridiculous.
£15.00 per night for WiFi is a real rip-off these days

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear timchambola

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you found Check in quick and efficient upon arrival and you enjoyed your allocated room, in particular the bed and pillows offered to you.
Air cooling is offered in all our guest rooms. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
Please be assured all your feedback has been noted. We do offer complimentary wi-fi to all our guests via the 3rd Floor.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,065 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £70 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing