We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cherish Christian womens conference”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed her for two night whilst at the Cherish conference at Leeds Arena. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived to our room to find we had a suite. Complementary bottle of wine and fruit. Huge room, Lovely contemporary feel. Clean and light. Bathroom included a bath and a separate shower.
breakfast was excellent.
all the staff were helpful and considerate.
We have already booked again for next years conference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear caroline r

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the Cherish Conference at the First Direct Leeds Arena, what a fantastic place, we are so proud of this venue in Leeds.
Delighted to read that we were able to offer you a Suite upon arrival and that you enjoyed the fruit and wine offered to you and your Hilton Breakfast, along with my team`s hospitality.
I have taken the liberty of sharing all your feedback with my team, as it acts as a great motivator. Thank you so much.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. Great to hear that you plan to return for next year`s conference. Your loyalty is very much appreciated.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as my fella & I were having a night out in Leeds to celebrate my birthday. We've stayed at this hotel a few times as its always been consistently good & the location is great for the city centre. We arrived a little earlier than the check in time but the receptionist - senior team leader (sorry forgot name) were really helpful & checked us in as some rooms were ready. She was just as helpful on checkout the next day. The room we stayed in had not long been revamped so it was very good - contemporary styling which we both like. Bed comfy. Room perhaps a little warm but the aircon kicked in eventually. Thanks again for a good stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicklehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear nicklehorse
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, further to your recent return visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
May I take this opportunity to wish you belated Birthday Greetings!! Hope you had a great day.
Great to hear that you found Check in quick and efficient upon arrival and you were able to benefit from an early check in and you enjoyed your allocated room.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon and thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spend a lot of times in hotels and always try and stay in one of the Hilton group of hotels as generally they offer a consistent experience across the country. However increasingly the trend has been to cut corners to save money, e.g. no biscuits in the room, fewer tea bags, machine coffee in the restaurant etc etc.

I sat down to breakfast this morning and was shown to my table, had juice served at the table, and was served with coffee and tea at the table, something that many other Hiltons have stopped doing. I know this sounds trivial but is just one of many old fashioned service that is steadily being removed in the pursuit of and extra bit of profit, all at the expense of customer service.

All of this was with a backdrop of a really positive experience from prior to checking in to sitting down for breakfast. At every point I interacted with any of the staff, face to face or on the telephone, I was consistently made to feel like their most important guest. Staff were courteous, helpful, went out of their way to be accommodating and there was a warm happy atmosphere that prevailed.

So it is top marks for the Leeds Hilton, but not for the chain as many fall short of the level of service offered in Leeds. Furthermore they really need to get their act together and be consistent across the brand.

Room Tip: If you dislike very firm beds ask them to put two quilted mattress toppers on the bed for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth_W_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for your review and i'm glad your experience replicates what we expect to do normally....ie... look after all our guests well.

My breakfast team will also appreciate your comments especially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited this hotel on Saturday night for a nice leisure weekend with my husband. We booked a suite as it was a treat for us. The suite was nice and clean but I have actually stayed in the premier inn Leeds arena a few times and their basic rooms are just as nice. The room didn't have the. Complimentary dressing gown and slippers as promised so I had to call for them. Then I had to call reception regarding the complimentary wifi, the rude woman that answered the first time round didn't give me the correct info and then when I called again for the code she actually huffed at me. Then when I went to take a bath I noticed that the towels where all ripped at the bottom NOT 4 STAR. The Location is close to the train station but everyone fails to mention that to get there on foot you have to walk under a dodgy underpass , which is safe enough during the day but I wouldn't chance it late at night. I The swimming pool was also in desperate need of a refurb as the plaster is falling off the walls. Also the walls are very thin as there were a group of men staying in the suite down the corridor and you could hear their conversation until 6 o'clock in the morning when they decided to go asleep.I never usually write reviews and I am very open when I read bad reviews but I payed a lot of money for a lovely suite in a 4 star hotel and did not get what we expected. Definitely should not be 4 star, and the lady who I dealt with on the Saturday needs some training in customer service.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Kerry T

Sorry to read of your dissapointment and of aspects of poor service.This is certainly not our normal standard and my apologies to you. We have senior management in the hotel 24/7 who are always happy to respond to any issues....though obviously we prefer to get it right first time.

thanks for reviewing....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall OK with a great city center location with secure parking, but we paid double for their top suite which was actually just one large room which represented poor VFM in our humble opinion. Everything else was OK

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gethyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for the review and sorry the suite did not match your expectations.We do think our photography is truely representative, and the suite has a large bathroom with seperate shower and bath....but enough of our advert.

we appreciate all reviews....thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A little dated and the rooms are small (in a superior room), the bar serves decent mojitos, and checking in and out were easy, but we have stayed in better hotels in the city. It's only a couple of minutes walk from the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

thanks for your review...we appreciate them all and share all comments with our team. Glad the mojitos went down well and you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here when visiting a local business.

The room itself was well appointed with a TV (But the channels didn't match what was in the directory and the remote was a pig to operate).

The bed was really comfortable and the choice of pillows on the bed was nice. The room came with a tea-tray as well as its own iron and ironing board.

The sound proofing was poor - and all three of us were woken by a people coming in at 0300. The rooms were also really hot with the aircon seemingly not making much difference - the windows open, but announcements at the station next door start at 0400.

The bathroom was refurbished (like the bedroom) with a walk in shower comprising of a shower head and drench shower.

A colleague had the room next door (1008) and this had a bath, rather than just the shower.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Breakfast offered a good choice and was only £10 when purchased on check in.

In terms of dinner, I found it to be a little over-priced. I had a starter of Nachos (massive) and a main of Sirloin Steak with peppercorn sauce. The steak was cooked well, but the trimmings were small when considered that it cost £21. Peppercorn sauce was awful.

The wine choice is wide, but again overpriced.

Its an OK hotel. No complaints, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhall, General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

thanks for your review...we appreciate all comments to assist our management and future planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,105 reviews
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £68 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing