We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. The staff were wonderful and the rooms are fabulous. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. I stay at many Hilton hotels and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leighton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Leighton B
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to completing an online survey in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with all my team here, as it acts as a great motivator.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you, once again.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is ideally situated by Leeds train station, and in walking distance.
Not far from local pubs, and eating places.
The hotel itself is clean on arrival, and welcomed by friendly staff.
The bar was a fantastic place to meet and chat, and had a friendly atmosphere.
The room was a twin, and clean and spacious. The bathroom was very clean.
Breakfast was included in my price, and of a high standard, and great selection.
Overall stay - very impressed & would return.

Room Tip: Check the photo's out, what you see is what you get. Book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Gary B
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you for your kind feedback, please be assured that all your comments have been noted and shared with all the team here at the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel`s central location, your allocated room and Hilton Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you once again for your valued feedback.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Leeds City hotel for one night on a business trip as we were attracted by its proximity to Leeds central train station, being less than a hundred metres from the station entrance. Our 'deluxe' double room was, in our opinion, just an ordinary looking, standard double room, so why Hilton need to use the misnomer of 'deluxe' is anyone's guess, except for being able to charge you more than a 'standard' double would cost!
The room itself was adequately sized, clean but looking tired with scuffs on the furniture, the odd stain on the carpets and a bed who's baggy, overused mattress cried out to be replaced, although the sheets etc were spotlessly clean.
The same story continued in the bathroom, which was again of an average size and contained all the necessary amenities, but it looked as though the whole room/bathroom needed a total refit. Don't get me wrong, the rooms aren't horrendous, so please don't take this review out of context, but you expect more from a Hilton 'Deluxe'.
Positives were friendly and helpful staff and a good Yorkshire breakfast!
All-in-all, a hotel situated in a fantastic position with great potential being so near the main station plus the city centre is a short stroll away, but it would be interesting to know the last time the hotel was given a facelift/refit/refurb...

Room Tip: I'm afraid they all need a refit - we had numerous colleagues staying in different rooms and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeffAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear JeffH6267
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you for your feedback, please be assured that all your comments have been noted. Sorry to read that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton as a large group to attend the Leeds festival. The hotel is very central to the City Centre where there is an array of great shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the station and everything is nearby walking distance. On arrival though at approximately 1pm we encountered a bit of a jobs worth receptionist by the name of Ron Douglas whom was miserable and unhelpful. The artist concerned was due to be on stage by 4pm therefore it was imperative to check in, get ready and be on the way by 3pm, so we asked nicely if the room can be cleaned and prepared for early check-in. He quoted policy (3pm check-in) and was extremely unhelpful, one of the other receptionist assisted by trying to be helpful and got the room cleaned and prepared for us within the hour. It was rather annoying and frustrating that he represented Hilton in such an unhelpful manner, but it all worked out in the end and we was happy with our rooms and the remainder of our stay. The breakfast is very good with cooked meat options, cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls etc. Parking is £15 for the day, but you can pay an hourly rate as well. Be warned though, the underground parking is very tight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Karen D
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to Leeds.
May I ask that you make direct contact with my PA, Janet McAteer via email: janet.mcateer@hilton.com as we do not have a member of staff under the name mentioned and this would enable us to pass on your feedback to the relevant hotel.
Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I booked This hotel under a travel agent rate via work, I often use these rates and they are excellent for travel industry workers. Before travel I e-mailed the hotel with a few requests as there were 6 of us staying across 3 rooms. The contact I dealt with was Jamie and have to say he was excellent and met all of our requests so a big Thank you! The hotel is just off the loop system and not to difficult to get into. Parking is £15 per car for 24 hours which I think is a little steep for guests but this is pretty standard for city centre hotels all over. The car park was easy to get a space in considering it was bank holiday and there is a lift that takes you straight up-to reception. The hotel reception is bright, clean and welcoming. The lady who checked is in (didn't catch her name) I have to say sadly was a little bit frosty faced, the rest of the staff however were all very pleasant and welcoming. We were given a free upgrade to twin deluxe rooms and as I had signed up to be a Hilton honors member we did get free wi-fi in the room which didn't appear to work during our stay, however I did here another guest querying this and over heard there was a tech fault. We had a room on the 8th floor, very quiet which was great never heard a peep from the other rooms and when I asked for a ice bucket the guest services guy arrived literally within 5 minutes to deliver this. The rooms are modern, spacious and come complete with complimentary toiletries. The rooms have air con and were spotless, couldn't fault them.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk out of the city centre and the new Trinity shopping centre, we walked this during the day and got a taxi on a night due to high heels and some of leeds bars being spread out.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will certainly return, it is in a prime location, has good rates and good service. We did not have breakfast however could have added this at check in for £10 and the facilities look lovely however we did not have enough time to take advantage of them. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vixyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Vixyc88
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you for your comments, which have been noted and shared with all the team, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course, the service provided by Jamie, Reservations upon making your reservations.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back, very soon and thank you for your valued feedback.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a deluxe double (I decided to go for a deluxe over a standard as the deluxe description advised it was quite a bit larger than a standard room). The room was, in my opinion, a standard size and didn't have the dressing gowns and slippers that are advised on the website, not that that matters, I'm just wondering now if we had been put in a standard room instead of a deluxe!

Anyway, the room was clean and the bathroom was lovely. The staff were all very professional and polite.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

The pool was a little disappointing in that there was no atmosphere in there, no music and no attendant around the pool, however the chap behind the fitness suite reception was really nice and helpful.

A good, average hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajwbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear ajwbabe

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you for your feedback, delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, your comments have been shared with all the team. Thank you once again.
I have noted all your observations and would like to sincerely apologise that no robes or slippers were available for you. I am sure had you highlighted your concerns at the time of your stay, one of our Housekeeping team would have been delighted to assist you and provide these for you. I am sorry, once again that they were not placed in your room, prior to your arrival.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed the Hilton Breakfast offered to you, our hotel`s location and our Livingwell team were accommodating to your needs.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back, very soon and thank you for your valued feedback.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You get what you expect for the Hilton Brand. Decent rooms and breakfast. Didn't need to bring towels for the swimming pool - these were provided. Only had 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel in the room but I'm sure if I asked I could have had an extra.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Alison T
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you for your feedback, delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back, very soon and thank you for your valued feedback.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#11 of 87 in Leeds
2,139 reviews
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,816 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#38 of 87 in Leeds
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £69 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing