We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have just returned to London having spent 2 nights at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Leeds.
Am very happy with my stay, as my son lives in Leeds I come up to Leeds at least 4 times a year, first time I have stayed in this hotel, would stay here again definitely.
Staff so friendly and helpful, room very clean and excellent location.
Merry Christmas to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

was greeted by friendly staff on arrival, room comfortable big and clean. was a little noisy as in popular area but did not worry as wandered all day so slept well. did not have a main meal but had breakfast both mornngs which was good. will def stay there again soon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10barbara1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here two nights whilst on a business trip to Leeds. The location was good, being near to the station and the town centre, the downside of this was that some rooms overlooked the railway and bars and were noisy until about 1pm. I ate in the hotel restaurant and found it cosy and appealing. A complimentary glass of wine on arrival was also a nice touch. I stayed in a single room with a small double bed pushed against a wall. The room was clean but very dated. It was also a smoking room. I am not a smoker and I wasn't given a choice as to whether I wanted a cleaner smelling room. In all it was an okay place to stay but they do need to invest some money in to updating the rooms - although I did only see one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingFlybygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We came up to Leeds for LFF (Leeds First Friday) and it was suggested to us that we stay here as that's where us "girls" congregate before hitting the many bars in the "Pink Triangle"...
Upon arrival we were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young lady who had us sorted out in no time at all, the room was spacious and immaculate, plenty of hanging space and good size mirrors, the bed was huge and dead comfy,after a night out clubbing i want a shower in the morning that is hot and has the full force of a tsunami, and that's exactly what i got, excellent.

If i had any criticisms it would be that the bar staff were a little overwhelmed with the amount of customers, so they conscripted a third, and she clearly did not want to be there, she ignored our request for more ice, begrudgingly conceded to putting a bit more diet coke in the glass and i am pretty confident we got single measures when we asked and payed for doubles....

Would i stay there again? without a doubt..
would i recommend this hotel to friends and family? you bet i would...
and for the record we stayed in room 118...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room was tired and in need of refurb but overall clean and comfortable. However the noise from the club nearby was ridiculously loud, I could not hear my TV properly! This was at 11.30 at night and I was in bed after a long journey from the south coast so given the advice on a previous trip advisor review I got dressed and went down to reception to request a quieter room. But the receptionist said there were no quieter rooms. I was relieved when he told me that the music would stop at 1am, which it did. By the way I do expect some noise when you stay in a big city, however this was beyond loud. Fine if you are staying in Leeds and going clubbing! There was also a 'trick' to getting the hot water to run from the shower and there is more than one password for the internet (which also didnt work). Would have been useful to know all this when you book in not the morning after you have had cold shower and no internet! Overall a very disappointing hotel with defensive female receptionist! But the bar staff are very nice and snacks good.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the quieter rooms when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am disappointed that noise disturbed your stay.

We have passed your comments onto the EHO who are dealing with this matter, as this is in breach of the clubs licence. We are trying to get them to either stop noise pollution or to have their license removed to prevent our guests being disturbed. The hotel runs on very high occupancy, due to our success and as a result we do not always have available rooms on the rare occasions when guests experience a problem.

We are in the middle of a refurbishment programme of 20 bedrooms and I am sorry your experience was one of our older rooms but I am pleased to read that you found it both clean and comfortable. The Hotel has numerous Wi-Fi connections but they all require the same password, due to our location however we do pick up many other networks in the area which may have been what you could see on your computer. The hotel has full Wi-Fi coverage typically and 50% of our rooms also have the facility for hard wire connection so we can virtually guarantee a connection and I am sorry that you experienced problems. We would have been happy to assist you had we have known at the time.

The instruction for the hotels showers is to run a hot water tap until the water is to desired temperature and then turn on the shower. Unfortunately due to the size of the building hot water may not be instant and the instructions, found on the shower wall, ensure that the shower is immediately hot when turned on.

I do hope that you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel in the future. Please contact the Hotel directly and we will ensure you are allocated a refurbished bedroom in a different area of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My partner and myself had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. I really cannot fault it. Lovely clean room, king size bed, good quality toiletries and they even provide bath salts! Very central , great food in the restaurant , friendly staff too. Need I say more?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

Your comments were greatly appreciated and will be passed onto my team. We always try and deliver good customer service in all areas and it is pleasing to read that your stay was so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myself and 2 friends walked into the hotel looking forward to our stay. Unfortunately the man on reception came across as being very stressed and didn't greet us at all. I offered my name and told him we had a room booked. He glared at us and obviously was unimpressed that we had arrived at midday. He muttered that rooms are not available until 3.00 pm. We asked if we could leave our bags somewhere safe and if there was somewhere we could freshen up? He told us there wasn't anywhere to leave the bags because he had many that has been left already! We almost walked straight back out to another hotel nearby, he changed his mind and gave us labels for our bags but just put them at the side of reception, in our opinion not a safe place to store them. He said there was nowhere to freshen up only the ladies toilet. Not a great start to our much needed overnight stay. We complained to another person on reception and went out for the afternoon. On our return from shopping there was another different man on reception. He was extremely welcoming and friendly, just as I had read on other reviews before we booked. Total opposite to our earlier encounter. We were happy with our room, the bar really good, breakfast was good and location fab. Another issue for us was the amount of noise from other guests on the corridor outside our room in the early hours and a phone call we received at 3.00 a.m from someone pretending to be the manager saying he had received a complaint about noise from our room! We were all sleeping when they phoned . We were told the next morning that the man and his friend had made other phone calls to random rooms during the night and this had been addressed.
What a shame about our non existent welcome when we first arrived and the phone call. We did expect there to be some noise but didn't expect rudeness from staff. Would we return? Yes. If our complaint is addressed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebeeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry your arrival was far from welcoming and the member of staff concerned has been spoken to with regards your comments. The hotel had many early arrivals on the day and therefore many items of luggage were left however these were later transferred into a locked conference room for safe keeping. We give receipts for all stored luggage to ensure the items are the hotels responsibility and returned to the correct guest.

I am pleased that later in the afternoon you received a welcome more in keeping with the Hotel and that you enjoyed our bar, restaurant and our bedrooms. Unfortunately at weekends many guests are in Leeds to enjoy the night life and do return in the early hours and are not always as considerate as they should be, we do have a night staff on duty to try and ensure noise is kept to a minimum.

The guest who thought it would be funny to call random rooms was removed from the hotel in the early hours of the morning. This behaviour will not be tolerated by the hotel and they won’t be staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing