We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat for my mother”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Room was disappointing, very tired in need of refurb.
Staff on reception not very friendly stayed 3 days no acknowledge ment or pleasantries exchanged.
Check out 11! Unreal Bathroom old, bath panel falling off.
Nightclub noise crazy until all hours

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gez171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

It is most unfortunate that you did not make us aware of the problems with your room at the time especially considering the longevity of your stay. We could have rectified your concerns immediately and it is disappointing that you have only made the hotel aware of any problems on this social media site.

We do have 20 refurbished rooms that were completed in November 2013 although all our rooms are of a high standard. We would have happily re-located your room as guest satisfaction is very important to us. Our check out time for those booking direct at the hotel is 12pm and we are happy to extend this subject to that days arrivals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I found this hotel great for shopping the night life friendly staff good food and bar great choice on cocktails the room was clean with toiletries and cotton wool balls and bath salts great for a hot soak after a full day shopping will stay here again thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 897linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have just returned to London having spent 2 nights at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Leeds.
Am very happy with my stay, as my son lives in Leeds I come up to Leeds at least 4 times a year, first time I have stayed in this hotel, would stay here again definitely.
Staff so friendly and helpful, room very clean and excellent location.
Merry Christmas to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

was greeted by friendly staff on arrival, room comfortable big and clean. was a little noisy as in popular area but did not worry as wandered all day so slept well. did not have a main meal but had breakfast both mornngs which was good. will def stay there again soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10barbara1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here two nights whilst on a business trip to Leeds. The location was good, being near to the station and the town centre, the downside of this was that some rooms overlooked the railway and bars and were noisy until about 1pm. I ate in the hotel restaurant and found it cosy and appealing. A complimentary glass of wine on arrival was also a nice touch. I stayed in a single room with a small double bed pushed against a wall. The room was clean but very dated. It was also a smoking room. I am not a smoker and I wasn't given a choice as to whether I wanted a cleaner smelling room. In all it was an okay place to stay but they do need to invest some money in to updating the rooms - although I did only see one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingFlybygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We came up to Leeds for LFF (Leeds First Friday) and it was suggested to us that we stay here as that's where us "girls" congregate before hitting the many bars in the "Pink Triangle"...
Upon arrival we were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young lady who had us sorted out in no time at all, the room was spacious and immaculate, plenty of hanging space and good size mirrors, the bed was huge and dead comfy,after a night out clubbing i want a shower in the morning that is hot and has the full force of a tsunami, and that's exactly what i got, excellent.

If i had any criticisms it would be that the bar staff were a little overwhelmed with the amount of customers, so they conscripted a third, and she clearly did not want to be there, she ignored our request for more ice, begrudgingly conceded to putting a bit more diet coke in the glass and i am pretty confident we got single measures when we asked and payed for doubles....

Would i stay there again? without a doubt..
would i recommend this hotel to friends and family? you bet i would...
and for the record we stayed in room 118...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room was tired and in need of refurb but overall clean and comfortable. However the noise from the club nearby was ridiculously loud, I could not hear my TV properly! This was at 11.30 at night and I was in bed after a long journey from the south coast so given the advice on a previous trip advisor review I got dressed and went down to reception to request a quieter room. But the receptionist said there were no quieter rooms. I was relieved when he told me that the music would stop at 1am, which it did. By the way I do expect some noise when you stay in a big city, however this was beyond loud. Fine if you are staying in Leeds and going clubbing! There was also a 'trick' to getting the hot water to run from the shower and there is more than one password for the internet (which also didnt work). Would have been useful to know all this when you book in not the morning after you have had cold shower and no internet! Overall a very disappointing hotel with defensive female receptionist! But the bar staff are very nice and snacks good.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the quieter rooms when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review and I am disappointed that noise disturbed your stay.

We have passed your comments onto the EHO who are dealing with this matter, as this is in breach of the clubs licence. We are trying to get them to either stop noise pollution or to have their license removed to prevent our guests being disturbed. The hotel runs on very high occupancy, due to our success and as a result we do not always have available rooms on the rare occasions when guests experience a problem.

We are in the middle of a refurbishment programme of 20 bedrooms and I am sorry your experience was one of our older rooms but I am pleased to read that you found it both clean and comfortable. The Hotel has numerous Wi-Fi connections but they all require the same password, due to our location however we do pick up many other networks in the area which may have been what you could see on your computer. The hotel has full Wi-Fi coverage typically and 50% of our rooms also have the facility for hard wire connection so we can virtually guarantee a connection and I am sorry that you experienced problems. We would have been happy to assist you had we have known at the time.

The instruction for the hotels showers is to run a hot water tap until the water is to desired temperature and then turn on the shower. Unfortunately due to the size of the building hot water may not be instant and the instructions, found on the shower wall, ensure that the shower is immediately hot when turned on.

I do hope that you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel in the future. Please contact the Hotel directly and we will ensure you are allocated a refurbished bedroom in a different area of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#11 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,594 reviews
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £46 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing