We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We received a voucher for afternoon tea with bubbly at this hotel for Christmas and went at the weekend. I know Leeds well and was worried that the area the hotel is in is a little rough, however, the restaurant is actually really lovely and beautifully decorated. If this place was on the main street in Leeds it would be packed- but a mere 2 minutes walk from the main shopping area, it was empty on a Saturday lunch time. The afternoon tea was really really nice- better than a previous one I've had in a fancy chain. It all seemed home made, nothing from a packet, the scones were fluffy and warm and the cakes delicious. It also came with a selection of finger sandwiches and the bread was very soft and fresh.
The service, however, didn't quite match up to the food- the waitress seemed very young and inexperienced. Perhaps it was her first day, as we had to ask for things like tea and coffee that were supposed to be included in the deal, and she seemed confused by special requests.
I also visited the bathroom which involved walking past the reception area, and it was very well presented and welcoming, and the bathroom was modern and sparkly clean. I would consider using the hotel if I was staying in Leeds in the future, although maybe not at a weekend as people have mentioned there is a noise problem from nearby bars.
I would recommend that people at least try the restaurant here, especially if other places in Leeds are full up, as it seems like you won't struggle for a table here, and they appear to have a great chef in the kitchen!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a lovey 2 days January 1st with my partner room lovely, food lovely staff friendly! Had a room over looking side street, close to shops, bars, restaurants. Fresh poached eggs on ordering at breakfast. Wine a little pricey in dining room but food was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Came here for a works lunch time Xmas meal. Must say I was very impressed by the quality of food on offer. As a mid-week event it didn't seem to be too busy but would certainly recommend to others.

Cannot personally comment on the accommodation - didn't stay. However a colleague had used it for a post Friday night celebration kip and said it was reasonably priced and fit for purpose.

It's pretty central for Leeds and close to to the station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stay their over Christmas on Grand UK Holiday Group what a waste of money, the hotel food was bad, people from Manchester complained bitterly to the manager and all he did was argue.
The noise from the club wasn’t very good it was heard, they must have the door open, the internal window did not shut properly.
To top of the noise problem at 0030 hrs Boxing day Network started work on the railway maintenance and that only stopped for 10 minutes at 10 00 hrs the drumming was awful, People should have been warned when we arrived by the management, SO GRAND UK COULD PUT 90 OF US ALL SOMEWHERE ELSE.
I asked the barman for a Whisky Mac, he did not know the drink was served me whiskey and dry ginger in a little bottle. For those whom serve at a Bar its Whiskey and Ginger wine with optional ice.
We had no wine with our dinner we had buy it, most hotels serve it with your dinner a Christmas on group booking. 2nd worst hotel I have stayed at in the last 50 years.
They cleared tables early I had to ask for another pot of coffee, my bottle of wine went missing and it had to be replaced.
The heating was to hot in the hotel the waste money, i had to turn it down in my room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for one night. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel but nothing to complain about either. The public rooms are pleasant, The bedroom was a good size with a very big and comfortable bed and all the facilities including very fast WiFi. We had a big bathroom with the most powerful shower I have ever used. I think the dim lighting doesn't enhance the look of the room and the furniture was not to my taste, but that's a personal view.
The public rooms are very pleasant, the staff were friendly enough and the bar prices were reasonable.
The hotel is well situated.

Our only complaint was a constant roar throughout the night. It didn't bother me but my wife couldn't sleep. It sounded like some kind of blower, perhaps air conditioning outside the room. Triple glazing on the rooms affected might solve that one.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with parking close by. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had an executive room, which was spacious and clean, but the decor was a bit dated. The main reason for my relatively low score is the bed, a kingsize bed, but the mattress was appalling very uncomfortable and made for a very poor nights sleep.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ACETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Room was disappointing, very tired in need of refurb.
Staff on reception not very friendly stayed 3 days no acknowledge ment or pleasantries exchanged.
Check out 11! Unreal Bathroom old, bath panel falling off.
Nightclub noise crazy until all hours

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gez171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

It is most unfortunate that you did not make us aware of the problems with your room at the time especially considering the longevity of your stay. We could have rectified your concerns immediately and it is disappointing that you have only made the hotel aware of any problems on this social media site.

We do have 20 refurbished rooms that were completed in November 2013 although all our rooms are of a high standard. We would have happily re-located your room as guest satisfaction is very important to us. Our check out time for those booking direct at the hotel is 12pm and we are happy to extend this subject to that days arrivals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#11 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing