We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    491
    240
    120
    52
See reviews for
106
424
125
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A good value voucher treat for my Mum to enhance a shopping trip proved a good buy. I was wary as some reviews of the hotel were not that favourable but we were not disappointed.
Excellent service and attention from very pleasant staff. Good quality sandwiches, cakes and clotted cream scones brought to us after our lovely champagne at just the right time made this an enjoyable experience. Nothing was too much trouble.
I would make the effort to visit this hotel again.
Yes the surroundings are a bit jaded but this place is worth a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed at the Cosmopolitan previously, my stay was OK, a few problems but I still returned.

This time, I thought the room was in even better condition and very clean.

I really enjoyed staying at The Cosmo, it's cheaper than other central Leeds hotels and yes it is a bit dated and in need of a total refurb (especially that TERRIBLE hallway carpet!!!) but the staff have done the very best they can, everybody is friendly and the reception team are very helpful.

Excellent location for an evening out in Leeds city centre, 2 mins from the train station. I really couldn't have asked for more. I hope to stay again at some point in the future if the rates etc stay the same (I wouldn't pay more).

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_E_ROB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for 1 night just before New Years Eve. It is about 10 minutes walk from Leeds train station and pretty central.

I didn't eat there, getting in quite late but there are lots of restaurants, take aways and late night supermarkets nearby.

The check in lady was lovely and pleasant and smiled when you walked by - great job!

Room was really large for the price. Bed was very comfy and the room was really warm. The bathroom was okay with little extras which I appreciated even if I didn't use them - bath salts, sewing kit etc.

The only thing I thought let it down was the carpet in the hallway, lurid blue and yellow and the door to my room was a bit dated. It smelt of paint though and was clearly well maintained.

I couldn't really find a good spot to smoke outside but it is right in the street so that was okay.

I also met the cleaning lady the next morning and she was very friendly.

There was a stack of a Christmas presents by the lift which seemed to be from the staff to their colleagues and I liked that, nice touch.

I might try somewhere else if I am back in Leeds but if this hotel is available and at a good deal, I would happily stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We received a voucher for afternoon tea with bubbly at this hotel for Christmas and went at the weekend. I know Leeds well and was worried that the area the hotel is in is a little rough, however, the restaurant is actually really lovely and beautifully decorated. If this place was on the main street in Leeds it would be packed- but a mere 2 minutes walk from the main shopping area, it was empty on a Saturday lunch time. The afternoon tea was really really nice- better than a previous one I've had in a fancy chain. It all seemed home made, nothing from a packet, the scones were fluffy and warm and the cakes delicious. It also came with a selection of finger sandwiches and the bread was very soft and fresh.
The service, however, didn't quite match up to the food- the waitress seemed very young and inexperienced. Perhaps it was her first day, as we had to ask for things like tea and coffee that were supposed to be included in the deal, and she seemed confused by special requests.
I also visited the bathroom which involved walking past the reception area, and it was very well presented and welcoming, and the bathroom was modern and sparkly clean. I would consider using the hotel if I was staying in Leeds in the future, although maybe not at a weekend as people have mentioned there is a noise problem from nearby bars.
I would recommend that people at least try the restaurant here, especially if other places in Leeds are full up, as it seems like you won't struggle for a table here, and they appear to have a great chef in the kitchen!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a lovey 2 days January 1st with my partner room lovely, food lovely staff friendly! Had a room over looking side street, close to shops, bars, restaurants. Fresh poached eggs on ordering at breakfast. Wine a little pricey in dining room but food was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Came here for a works lunch time Xmas meal. Must say I was very impressed by the quality of food on offer. As a mid-week event it didn't seem to be too busy but would certainly recommend to others.

Cannot personally comment on the accommodation - didn't stay. However a colleague had used it for a post Friday night celebration kip and said it was reasonably priced and fit for purpose.

It's pretty central for Leeds and close to to the station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
506 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,391 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing