We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - much much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Wow - much much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I shuddered when this was the only hotel I could find on a recent business trip to Leeds - all others were full. The reason for shuddering was that I stayed at this place many years ago when it was known as something else and had a horrid experience.
BUT..IT IS MUCH BETTER NOW! It must have been taken over and invested in as the rooms are now much better as is the service which I found to be pleasant and efficient.
The wifi seemed to work well with very good speeds (20+mbps) and my room was large and all facilities worked.
Breakfast was nice enough although they don't start service until 8am on a Sunday which was quite late for our business needs - but then again not many people are on business on a Sunday morning I guess!
Overall, would I stay here again? Yes, definitely.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking some rubbish bins but they are genuinely the best rooms to get in order to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    476
    232
    119
    51
See reviews for
100
414
124
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had to stay in Leeds overnight and The Cosmopolitan was probably the best priced central hotel.

Close to the train station and Leeds City Centre which I needed the next day.

Very good value for money I had booked room only and added breakfast on check in for a discounted rate.

Breakfast was a nice selection of the usual suspects on a buffet but was well presented and the service was efficient and friendly.

Nowadays money is everything but if the rate is right would return on business or a city break due to location and quality for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 108. Could not leave window open due to been right near some huge ducting/extractor fans that made a constant humming noise. No car park at hotel but left car in multi storey round corner that cost £15 and that was with the hotel discount. Overall the rooms are looking tired but bar area spot on. Bit overpriced

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I invariably stay at the Queens Hotel when in Leeds on business and have done so regularly since 1976. However, the prices are going very uphill and the service very down dale.

Thus I stayed at the Cosmopolitan this week and it was a good experience. It is only a short walk from the railway station (5 mins) and safe even late at night. The staff were friendly and efficient and I received a complimentary glass of wine on arrival. The room was half the price of the Queens and just as good. At breakfast there was plenty of choice and it was easy to access everything.

For a business trip this was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The look of the hotel is impressive and the staff are very helpful. The room was very large, as was the bed, which was also comfortable. Everything was clean & tidy.

However, the shower system lets the place/room down. You had to put the hot bath tap on full blast for ages before the hot water started to filter through, then turn it off and then turn the shower on ...... why?

This still did not detract from the fact I still had a very tepid shower, I had to control the hot water from the shower by altering the cold tap in the bath, as this is a shower over bath situation my feet an ankles were submerged in 5 inches of cold water as the drainage is unable to cope with the amount of water its being dealt with.

The staff apologised and said that maintenance would have a look at it. I have no idea if its fixed as i only stayed 1 night ..... Room 325.

Room Tip: Not 325 unless the shower/plumbing has been fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I has stayed at this hotel before and has always enjoyed it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and when I stayed in March I was offered a glass of wine which I kindly decline (not much of a wine drinker personally). The room were always clean and bed made up and the cleaning staff were kinds and not rude.

The breakfast/bar waiter/waitress were also friendly and helpful and if you are not happy with something you can ask for a fresh one and they are more than happy to get you fresh one, such as fresh bread etc or even requesting fried egg to be cooked on request.

The only downside to my room I stayed in was and is reflected in the score is at night, there is an uplighter outside on the wall next to the window and there is no blackout curtain provided to blackout this uplighter. Cos of this it was at times hard to get to sleep cos of the light. Otherwise an excellent room.

Because I has stayed there before I was aware of Wifi issue but is very happy to say looks like they got the internet wifi sorted as in my previous stay I did have issue but this time not 1 single issue at all awesome.

Would I stay again, you bet I will.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance as they tends to have special advance rates at times. Don't be afraid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Made a reservation through our business reservation desk and, with pre-negotiated rates, it should include a breakfast. However, when I got my room voucher there was no mention of the breakfast so I phoned the hotel to clarify. They told me very abruptly that they were full and don't need to offer the corporate rate... I don't need to stay in a hotel where the service is rude before check-in so I cancelled the booking. They aren't so full now.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
You tried to book a corporate rate on a third party site which was not available, as the website should have made clear. We are not able to change a booking made through a third party.

It is always advisable to check a reservation before confirming, to prevent such events happening. We have advised your booking agent of the problems you have had when trying to make your reservation, as we also feel their website is not very clear.

We did offer you a discounted breakfast rate on your room only booking, but you chose to cancel the booking instead, as is your right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing