We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosmo experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosmo experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for last 5 years. A late 3 pm check in followed by a ridiculously early 11 am departure has recently been introduced.
The lift has not been working on my last 2 stays which is unacceptable. the stair carpet is threadbare as an indicator to me that the lift has been out of service for well over a month !!
the rooms are clean but look tired. the first floor rooms have been redecorated which is a good improvement..
Drinks are well served but very expensive and the food is limited and average.
room price is ok provided everything works !!
The location is good close to station and Briggate and the Trinity centre.
This hotel could be so much better like it used to be.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partygirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

hi ,,, i stayed at the cosmopolitan last night ... yes the staff are lovely and friendly one of my concerns is the leeds 1st friday event ,, well theres supposed to be a discount that i never seem to see anymore ??? and we go every month so would be nice to feel they looked after their regulars , and the lift was supposed to be repaired yesterday and i stood inside it for 5 mins pressing floor i needed and never budged??? and this is second month in a row ,, and no compensation offered for carrying so much luggage up 3 flights of steps ??? the rooms rnt bad to be fair but deffs needs a power point beside the bed as i wasnt very happy when someone rang me early in the morning after night out and had to get out of bed to answer it ,,, and then theres this 11am kickout time??? jees weve had a big night out ..dont get back till usually 5-6 am in the morning ... then we have to catch a little sleep then get up and dash like mad trying to tidy and pack everything ,,, even the 12pm time wasnt late enough but we coped
... and i wasnt happy when i was at reception and heard someone arranging a longer lay in bed and the guy confirming that will be fine ... and then we get kicked out at 11 ... well i`m sorry unless the discount for lff stands and later kickout times me and a lot of my friends will be going elsewhere ... i used to love this hotel but enough is enough

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had an excellent evening meal and breakfast good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Let downs are this is second stay in month and lift broken again (or still) and no plug near bed for charging phone and using it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly receptionist but boy did it go downhill from there. The lifts didn't work. Don't come here if you want to sleep. Clubs, trains, cars and put in smokers room. Worst hotel I've stayed at in years. Avoid, unless you don't plan to sleep. TV didn't work either for when I couldn't sleep because it's such an old tv.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank GordStod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I have sent a message to your trip advisor account and I do hope I am able to address your concerns personally in order to restore your faith in the hotel.

Leeds as a city is very vibrant and lively at weekends and we are located on the City Centre loop road on one side, near the City’s bars and restaurants on another and although it doesn't typically disturb guests the railway line is two streets away and I am disappointed our prominent location in the City was not to your liking.

The lift is due to be repaired but the delay in repair is not within our control and is as a result of parts being shipped from abroad. It is on a 24 hour repair contract and serviced monthly but sadly the parts currently required are not readily available.

Nearly all our bedrooms have LCD televisions and the few rooms with older style TVs are due to be replaced shortly. I am pleased you found the staff to be friendly and hope that we are able to restore your faith in the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here recently due to getting a fantastic delegate package for an event we were running, we needed to be close to Leeds city centre. The hotel states it has recently been refurbished, which it has in the bar and breakfast area. The rest of the hotel including events room is tired and in desperate need of sorting out. Staff were pleasant and provided an OK service but won't be rushing back!

Watch out for the breakfast, they charge like Rhinos!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a really nice hotel and I thought it was great for the price. The staff weren't massively friendly but that didn't really bother me. The room was cosy, nice bathroom. Great location. Unfortunately though, I was woken up frequently by people walking down the hall late at night- they weren't even being loud, just talking at normal volume, but because the door/walls are so thin, it makes it really awkward to sleep. I probably wouldn't go back for that reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My birthday treat from wife, somewhere central to rest head after night of c***tails and Fantastic Fazenda meat buffet.. Hotel is v good for location central to train stn. If driving voucher available at hotel but if arriving after 6pm park on pay and display for £2 cover you from 6-8am next day. Hotel room was average and the furthest away I have ever stayed whilst at my previous times. Nice size bed, but shower had to be run to get hot..Hairdryer some retro on the wall device-didnt work. Reception brought h/dryer up..very average but price and location boosted stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garryc184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing