We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds, the location is fantastic and nothing is too far away! The Reception staff are very helpful and friendly.
Rooms have plenty of space and amenities. I cannot fault this hotel.
The lift is now in fully working order although, there isn't a great deal of stairs to reach the first floor so personally, with bags, I would still walk.

Room Tip: Corner twin has plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    483
    239
    120
    52
See reviews for
103
420
124
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel provided good facilities both for a large group's overnight stay and for the conference for the duration of our stay.
The customer service was excellent and everyone was made to feel welcome.
This is conveniently located near the town centra and has access to all required amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Reminiscent of Fawlty Towers or poor student accommodation. The lift to the bedrooms is actually a lift to stairs to the bedrooms reached via a warren of corridors, mattress dumped in the corridor, rusty pot in the bathroom and miserable decor in 70s brown. First time I have had a standard room booked that is a penny-pinching single bed up against the wall. Not appropriate for lone female travellers. Just poor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JenK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a disappointing and rather unfair review. The hotel really is not as big as you have implied and we have 89 bedrooms over 3 floors and 6 corridors. The mattress as you say was ‘dumped’ in the corridor had literally just been left as a member of staff was asking a colleague to help lift it up a staircase this took all of 5 minutes. The rusty pots you have described are actually plastic, obviously we would not put metal containers in a bathroom!

We offer a range of bedrooms and the superior rooms were available at a higher price. I am sorry this is seen as penny pinching on our behalf when it was actually yourself who booked this room type when other room types were available.

As a busy corporate hotel our guests are made up of many female travellers. We take every care with all guests in terms of their security and welfare and have never had a similar opinion made.

It is unfortunate that rather than speak to ourselves at the time, when we could have addressed your concerns, that you have decided to share it on trip advisor. It is always frustrating that this site is used in such a unconstructive manner. Complaints are often embellished to make for a more destructive and damning read and I am sure those viewing reviews see this and form their own opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night out in Leeds. Fantastic location a reasonably priced car park 2 mins away. Welcomed by friendly staff, great room offering comfortable clean accommodation.
Lively friendly bar, busy dining room. We had a great breakfast for £7.50 sat with a view of nearby streets perfect way to finish our short break.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pengeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was really impressed with the hotel staff and service at the Cosmopolitan Hotel. The foyer was really well decorated and the bedroom very comfortable.

The quality of food in the restaurant was excellent and I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Only one negative and that was the fact the lift was out of order for the duration of my stay. Not a problem with me personally going up and down the stairs, but a problem lifting the suitcase up 3 flights and bouncing it back down again at the end of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for last 5 years. A late 3 pm check in followed by a ridiculously early 11 am departure has recently been introduced.
The lift has not been working on my last 2 stays which is unacceptable. the stair carpet is threadbare as an indicator to me that the lift has been out of service for well over a month !!
the rooms are clean but look tired. the first floor rooms have been redecorated which is a good improvement..
Drinks are well served but very expensive and the food is limited and average.
room price is ok provided everything works !!
The location is good close to station and Briggate and the Trinity centre.
This hotel could be so much better like it used to be.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partygirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

hi ,,, i stayed at the cosmopolitan last night ... yes the staff are lovely and friendly one of my concerns is the leeds 1st friday event ,, well theres supposed to be a discount that i never seem to see anymore ??? and we go every month so would be nice to feel they looked after their regulars , and the lift was supposed to be repaired yesterday and i stood inside it for 5 mins pressing floor i needed and never budged??? and this is second month in a row ,, and no compensation offered for carrying so much luggage up 3 flights of steps ??? the rooms rnt bad to be fair but deffs needs a power point beside the bed as i wasnt very happy when someone rang me early in the morning after night out and had to get out of bed to answer it ,,, and then theres this 11am kickout time??? jees weve had a big night out ..dont get back till usually 5-6 am in the morning ... then we have to catch a little sleep then get up and dash like mad trying to tidy and pack everything ,,, even the 12pm time wasnt late enough but we coped
... and i wasnt happy when i was at reception and heard someone arranging a longer lay in bed and the guy confirming that will be fine ... and then we get kicked out at 11 ... well i`m sorry unless the discount for lff stands and later kickout times me and a lot of my friends will be going elsewhere ... i used to love this hotel but enough is enough

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing