We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel once in the past and did not have the best review on this hotel, however I thought I would give this hotel another chance and I am very happy I did this.
On Sunday I booked the executive king room I would recommend anyone to pay that little extra because wow these rooms are lovely!
On arrival the hotel had been very busy the night before the gentleman on the desk did not hesitate to take my bags and look after them while I went around Leeds while my room was been organised.
I then came back to the hotel at 3pm they explained my room may not be ready, however it was I collected my bags and went up to my room 122. It was delightful, lovely comfy bed with plenty of pillows and cushions. I went into the bathroom had some lovely toiletries which I ran myself a night big bubble bath before my night out that was ahead of me. I then put then tv on while getting ready. I went out and then came back to the hotel and had one of the best sleeps!
This hotel is perfect for the price!
I will be staying here every time now when I come to Leeds for my nights out!
In fact I already have three more stays booked in advance can't wait!
Thank you Cosmopolitan and the staff for a wonderful stay :) x

Room Tip: The only little issue you may have is that it is slightly noisy due to the bars near by but this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Typical of older hotels, beyond the lobby and dining/bar area, the hotel is pretty shabby.

I was given a smoking room, which stank of stale smoke.

There was a club nearby with loud music, which went on until 4am I asked for another room, but was told the hotel was full. There weren't many people around for a full hotel.

The wireless didn't work at all.

There was no hot water in the morning.

On the positive side, the staff were generally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations.

The hotel has just completed the complete refurbishment of 17 bedrooms and all our rooms are well maintained and it is disappointing you felt that the hotel was shabby. I am sorry that you were allocated an older smoking room and that we were unable to move your room. The hotel was indeed fully booked as you were informed. The majority of guests were at an event at the Leeds Arena and this would be why the hotel appeared quiet.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise which midweek is very unusual and we are not aware of other guests experiencing this problem. I have copied your comment to the local EHO as they are investigating noise problems as this is out of the Hotels control sadly.

As we have advised by e-mail we were unable to find any fault with the hot water upon you leaving. There can be a delay in hot water in the shower but on checking it was found to be to the correct temperature and I am sorry that this added to your poor stay with us. The wi-fi is available throughout the building and there are 8 routers and it can simply be an individual computers that does not allow connection to a public wi-fi zone rather than our system failing as this is very rare with the blanket coverage we have.

I am pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and I have contacted you directly to try and resolve your complaint to your satisfaction and await your reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 22/06/14 for 1 night while we went to see Eric Clapton at the first direct arena
The room was clean and comfortable 20 minuet walk to the arena or £5.70 in a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliemarsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at the Cosmopolitan many times and find it the most convenient place to stay in the City. The rooms are clean,comfortable,bar area great! The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have all you require.
The room rate is very reasonable and there is a consistency within the hotel of good standards, everytime I visit , its an lovely experience and I recommend the cosmopolitan to everyone. Thanks again for another great visit.
Ali H

Room Tip: Ask reception, they will always do their best for you and give you the best room available at bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I actually live in the city, but given the opportunity of an expensed night in town i stayed a night here.

Pleasently surprised, lovley reception with a free glass of wine on arrival which i wasnt expecting, Parking taken care of at the hotel reception for the Q park which is a secure Multi story 5 mins walk away.

Room was excellent and i think had been recently refurbished, great size, comfy bed and good bathroom both size wise and had a nice selection of toiletries.

Certainly exceeded expectaions given the price, although i know the rate was reduced so probably about right for the listed cost.

Had a bite to eat and some wine in the resataurat, again very good, and the waiter seemed very knowledgable about the wine, which was anice touch.

There was a minor issue with noise, niot the hotels fault, but there were some noisey guests above me, complained to reception and about 30 mins later all went quiet, by way of an apologie i was given a free upgrade and a half price voucher for my next stay which was good given the circumstance.

All in very impressed and the hotel certainly lives up to its external appearence. 5 min walk to Brigate which is the centre of Leeds City Centre. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location for the tourist attractions in Leeds, and has a discount deal with the nearby Q car park. Our family room (1 double bed, 1 single) was nice. The staff are friendly.

We had a drink with friends in the bar, which was also nice. Breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I regularly stay here. It is clean, the rooms are nice and it is excellent value for money. They most impressive thing about the hotel though are the staff, who are the friendliest, most helpful I have ever stayed with. When staff are smiling all the time you know the hotel is well managed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#11 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing