We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a meeting the next day- comfortable hotel with good customer service care- a glass of nice wine on arrival was a nice touch, room very good, clean and with all the extras- would definitely stay here again as location right in the middle of Leeds

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank skibeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My daughter and myself stayed at the Cosmopolitan June 2014. We had a lovely time from the moment we got to the hotel nothing was to much trouble. We arrived to early to check in but there was no problem leaving our cases. When we did check in the rooms were vibrant and beautifully clean. Everything you needed was provided. We were not disturbed by any street noise or the clubs near by. In the morning we did not want a full breakfast so had food from the Cafe Menu which was to a high standard. All in all a very enjoyable experience and I will be booking again for our trip in December 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed the one night with colleagues, staff were good and the room I had was to a high standard but the décor could do with updating. for the price paid and location you cannot fault the Hotel, and the food was good but a bit pricey will use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is in a central location, unfortuntately this is where the positive comments end. The room was dark and needed updating, so not that impressed initially, but the late night club noise was awful. I live on a main road, so I'm used to noise, but this was ridiculous; banging techno, shouting and heavy traffic until 6.00am. I can't believe that I paid £109 for the priviledge.

Room Tip: Don't chose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am sorry that your night was disturbed due to external noise outside the Hotels control.

Leeds as a city is very vibrant and lively at weekends and the clientele of the majority of hotels are people who are here to enjoy the night life. The hotels location is seen as ideal for some and not others, being in the heart of Leeds. We are located on the City Centre loop road and near the
City’s bars and restaurants and I am disappointed it was not to your liking.

The room you stayed in, although one of our older rooms has identical facilities to all of our rooms. We have just completed the full refurbishment of 17 rooms which is an on-going project throughout the Hotel.

Thank you for messaging me directly and I am sure that we will be able to impress on you our commitment to offering excellent customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday, room was small for a suite, a little disappointed needs up dating. Staff are lovely and helpful. I just think it's not value for money and lots of other hotels in the area offering a lot more. Breakfast is £11 and cafe next door is fab and does one for £5.50. I won't return now.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsaul1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

The hotel is not purpose built. One of the advantages we have over purpose built competitors is that all our rooms differ in size and this adds to the character of our product. I am sorry that the room you were allocated was not to your liking and that it wasn’t one of our refurbished or larger rooms.

Our rates reflect the market in Leeds and we offer a similar bedroom product to all our competitors and we typically have more in room facilities.

The cost of our breakfast is only £7.50 when booked in advance and this is always offered at this price on check in. Breakfast next door is a plated breakfast where as our breakfast is a help yourself buffet where you can eat as much as you like.

I do hope you will reconsider returning especially as you found the staff to be offering excellent customer service and we will make sure that on your next stay a larger refurbished room is allocated. Please contact Cindy in reservations to make a future booking.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

had asked for a non smoking room but got one smelling of stale smoke, window only opened 6 inches and trains rattled past every half hour or so, window looked out onto another hotel about 2 feet away, very disconcerting, room was tiny, dingy and uncomfortable, location somewhat seedy, would not stay there again

Room Tip: choose another hotel - the park plaza is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am very sorry that your room was not to your liking.

We always try and allocate non smoking rooms where requested. I am unable to trace your booking so can’t confirm which room you stayed in but had we have known at the time we would have happily offered an alternative room. We are now aware as a result of your feedback but sadly we can’t address your concerns after leaving. We do our upmost to ensure all guests enjoy their stay and hopefully return time and time again and I am sorry that you have left disappointed.

The hotel is located in central Leeds opposite the Malmaison Hotel and adjacent the Marriot hotel and 500 meters from the Trinity shopping centre. The area is certainly not seedy and I am sorry you felt this to be the case. Although there is a hotel opposite it is across a road from us and the railway line is a number of streets away and I am sorry that this added to your disappointment. Again we would have happily moved your room if we had known.

I do hope that you will re-consider and book with us once again. I assume a single room was booked on this occasion and I will upgrade your room to a double room complimentary as a gesture of goodwill for any future booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Have stayed at short notice at the Cosmopolitan twice in the past few months - generally when going out with friends in Leeds and wanted an easy base to get ready in and get back to; which I think at weekends it gets used a lot as by visitors to the city.
Rooms are a good size, clean and co-ordinated - decent bathrooms, plenty of hot water. Plus excellent wi-fi.
Best of all the staff, really helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about their city.
Only warning to travellers it's situated at the bottom of Briggate which has a number of bars and clubs, which can be noisy - so possibly not the choice for a quiet break; but perfect if you want to have some fun.

Room Tip: It still has smoking rooms - which is a rareity these days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing