We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy!”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location in central Leeds, near lots of bars and restaurants. However that's also it downside, as the noise coming from the bars/clubs kept me awake until the early hours. I guess it's the price you pay for being in town.

The hotel itself is clean, with reasonable size rooms. The bar/restaurant and entrance have recently undergone refurbishment and are modern in look and feel. The rooms could do with the same. And there are 2 car parks nearby, for which the hotel has a special rate.

When you check in, you're given a complimentary glass of wine, which is a nice touch. The best part is the staff are very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat there for dinner, but had breakfast, which was okay but not great.

All in all, I would stay again, as the £65 room rate makes it easier to put up with the noise, as well as the location making it easier for getting around the next day.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room that is sound proofed from the bars and clubs music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    496
    244
    120
    53
See reviews for
108
428
125
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Perfectly good hotel in almost every way except that the noise from outside (especially from the many nearby bars) was excessive and carried on all night (there were still people drinking in the street at 4am). It made sleep impossible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Leeds as a city is very vibrant and lively at weekends and the clientele of the majority of hotels are people who are here to enjoy the night life. The hotels location is seen as ideal for some and not others, being in the heart of Leeds.

The Hotel boasts a City Centre location and as such outside noise, on occasions, can cause disturbance. I am sorry that this was your experience and had we been aware we would have done out upmost to re-locate you to an alternative part of the Hotel.

Outside noise is out of the hotels control and we report this to EHO, as they are responsible for ensuring that noise levels are kept to a minimum so as to not cause a disturbance and I apologise that this was your experience.

I am sorry that this marred what was outside of this an enjoyable experience with us. For any future reservation please contact the hotel directly and we will ensure a bedroom in our inner courtyard which I am sure you will ensure an excellent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived in to reception via the bar which was lovely and almost brand new. We thought the hotel had recently undergone a full refurb so didnt check reviews and booked last minute on laterooms. Apparently it was only the bar/restaurant that had been refurbed and everything went downhill from there;

We got out of the lift on to the landing and thought we'd stepped out in to a £20pn Blackpool B&B. Wall paper was ripped, suitcase scrape lines to the wallpaper lined the corridors, carpets were frayed and lifting around all skirting boards and looked completely worn. The decor hasnt been touched for 20 years, bathrooms were grotty and had mould growing in the grouting. The toilet seat was chipped and the bath was stained horrendously. Bedrooms had an awful damp and foist smell and decor inside the room was extremely dated too. We didnt want to touch anything. The price of the rooms are £129 p/n !!!

The only saving grace was the reception staff who were extremely apologetic and agreed to provide a full refund so we could check in to Malmaison.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kvw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Firstly I would like to stress that all feedback received by our guests both positive and negative is evaluated and used as a key tool in maintaining and improving our product.

It is very unfortunate however that third party review sites such as Trip Advisor provide a platform where reviews can be freely made without restriction and without a system in place to validate the accuracy or in some cases the validity of customer responses. It’s also unfortunate that it is human nature to more freely leave feedback following a negative experience, we always welcome fair minded and honest criticism but sadly this is not always the case.

The Cosmopolitan is a 3 star rated hotel and despite of the inclusion of some inaccurate and overstated reviews Trip Advisor currently gives the hotel a rating of 3.5 stars, this clearly indicates that the business is providing a service higher than the expected standard. We regularly receive ratings of 4 and 5 stars and the location, staff and facilities are widely praised.

I would like to point out that the rate of £129 you specify, is I assume the rate paid at the Malmaison Hotel and not at our hotel. Malmaison do charge premium rates due to the reputation of the ‘boutique’ hotel brand and this is again down to customer expectations that this is indeed value. We try and offer good value for money and meet guest expectations, sadly we were unable to meet your personal expectations.

The majority of the hotels King size and Double bedded rooms have now received total refurbishment, this is an ongoing process and it is unfortunate that we were unable to upgrade or re-allocate your room after arrival as the hotel was fully booked. An indication perhaps that our hotel isn’t as you have described in your own review.

Although a full refund was issued, it is unfortunate that you still felt it necessary to write such a negative review on Trip Advisor. I have contacted you directly and it is disappointing that you have not responded to my message and not allowed us the opportunity to restore your faith in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recentley (11 / 12th July) enjoyed a weekend shopping in Leeds with the Wife, we stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Leeds. One of the best things about this hotel is its location, a short 5 minute walk brings you to Boar Lane, home of the Trinity Shopping centre, close enough to bring our shopping back to the hotel before going back out for food and drink with the many bars and restaurants also on the doorstep. The hotel bar was also very friendly with many guests having a nightcap. The reception staff were very helpful and gave us some tips on getting around. Really enjoyed our stay and will probably use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Park in the Q park (5 mins walk from hotel) , the hotel give a discount on parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooliekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here on a Saturday after spending the Friday night not very nice night in another Hotel just outside of Alton Towers, we arrived a little early but were able to check in, the staff were very helpful and answered all our questions. The room was lovely & clean. We had read some reviews complaining about noise but we didn't hear anything significant that you wouldn't expect when staying in a big city like Leeds. If noise is a problem for you I would recommend staying somewhere outside of the city center but for us the location was perfect and would recommend this hotel & stay again if I am ever in Leeds again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good downtown location in a buzzy part of Leeds close to nightclubs. Hotel was good value and staff friendly and helpful. My room was upgraded and was acceptable for a short stay, if I was being critical the room could do with a paint job but other than that was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a meeting the next day- comfortable hotel with good customer service care- a glass of nice wine on arrival was a nice touch, room very good, clean and with all the extras- would definitely stay here again as location right in the middle of Leeds

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank skibeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
The New Ellington
#12 of 87 in Leeds
802 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing