We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stay regularly. Friendly,efficient service; great food (evening meals and breakfasts a treat) and comfortable accommodation . Recommended without hesitation. Central location, close to railway station and shopping areas

Room Tip: Executive rooms very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I came to stay here on the night before a big audition and it most definitley exceeded my expectations!
I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff then when I found my room I opened the door to an extremely large room with a queen size bed AND a single bed. The modern stylish (and very clean) room also featured a 50inch HD 3D TV which was perfectly aligned so I could have a bath and watch it through the mirror. The bathroom was also very large and stylish with everything I could need, shampoo soap etc.
I went out to buy some things from sainsburys and the staff once again were very helpful and they pulled a map out for me and showed me exactly where we were, where the shops were and where I had to go the next day.

I would without a shadow of a doubt recommend this hotel, could not fault it :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Leeds to celebrate his birthday & i chose this hotel for its great location. Its very close to the train station & easy walking distance to some great bars. We were given a free glass of wine on arrival & a free upgrade without even asking! The room suited our needs, it was very basic in appearance but the bed was comfortable and the shower was great. We were able to buy toothpaste from the reception for £1 & the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I'd recommend it for a quick stop-over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jehopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the night as we fancied a short break in Leeds. Central location to railway station, shops, bars etc. Good value for money and we received free room upgrade and complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Nice comfortable rooms, decent shower, friendly staff. The breakfast was a bit lack-lustre but filled our bellies. Would happily stay there again as it ticked most of the boxes.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank seanrobbo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

just an overnight stay. mid week. celebrating our wedding anniversary. central location. within easy walking distance of the station and armories. very welcoming staff upon arrival, extremely helpful and knowledgable with the hotel amenities. room was more than adequate, kingside bed was very comfortable, room very clean with nice sized bathroom. shower was one of the best power showers I've experienced in a hotel and perhaps I did spend abit too long in there. the in ceiling fan was abit too noisey but chose not to use it because of it. only little niggle I had was the breakfast. adequate but could be better. food having been left in containers under hot lamps for abit too long. I do know that perhaps if we had been there a little earlier it perhaps would have been ok....but I still don't like to slice my scrambled eggs. no hotel can help their other customers who don't understand breakfast etiquette. don't push in when other customers are still selecting their breakfast items from the hot buffet, especially when they would like to go back and choose something else that they have missed. grrrrrr!

Room Tip: comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I'd have never stayed here had any of the other hotels I normally stay at in Leeds were free, but it seems that this week is particularly busy in Leeds for some reason. Not sure why. Offered a glass of wine on arrival, which was a nice touch, but I suspect that this is down to the fact that the rooms and the accommodation generally is, well, not great.

In the interests of balance, here's some positives first:

- very close to the city centre (which has a downside - noise)
- LGBT friendly (to the extent that Leeds has a gay quarter, this is slap bang in the middle of it. I'm not.)
- err ...

So, here's some negatives:

- room key isn't a card, it's a key with an oversized key fob: sounds like a small thing but it's a sign that the hotel is stuck in the 80s
- very close to a railway line ( = very noisy)
- my room (#314) was uncomfortably warm - hence the fan constantly running
- bathroom looks like it was last updated in the 19thC.and the grout's pretty mouldy

In short, if you think of the room that Martin Sheen starts the film Apocalypse Now in... that's it. But in Leeds.

Room Tip: Simple. Don't stay here. Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We still operate a key system at the hotel, as do many hotels in Leeds which have not been built in recent times. The cost of implementing a card system is considerable and we are currently investing are resources into bedroom refurbishments.

The majority of the hotels King size and Double bedded rooms have now received a total refurbishment, this is an ongoing process. It is unfortunate that we were not made aware of your disappointment at the time as we would have happily tried to re-allocate your room had we have known although we are also typically fully booked on a regular basis.

I appreciate the positive comments you have made. The glass of wine we offer is because we appreciate that guests arriving with us are likely to have travelled some distance or had a full day at work. It is usually well received and I would hope shows that we recognise that the little touches mean so much to guests and reflects the importance we place on good customer service.

Our City Centre location, as with other Leeds hotels located centrally can be affected by noise although rail noise is not something that is often highlighted as we are located a few streets away from the main railway line. In the summer with the windows open though this could understandably be an issue which I apologise for.

Should you wish to stay again please contact the hotel directly and we will ensure a newly refurbished room is allocated which I am sure will meet your full expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just stayed a night at this place because it is one of the few hotels which cater for smokers in the city. Overall the place seemed to be reasonably well run, but our rooms were like saunas. Admittedly the weather was unusually hot, but there is no aircon and the windows could only be opened about a quarter of the way due to paint build up. There are ceiling fans which helped a little once I had worked out how to turn it on. The main problem was however that both rooms were righrt next to the railway line, and that there were night clubs playing loud dance music well into the small hours of the morning and this was a Monday night, so God knows what it's like at the weekend. So not a great place for a good night's sleep. I don't normally do this sort of thing but these people really need to get their act together and if customers don't complain they will continue to get away with 18th century accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan-2, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I am very sorry that we only have air conditioning in our public areas which does mean that in very hot weather the bedrooms may be a little warm.

It is simply not feasible to retro fit air conditioning into our bedrooms due to the age of the hotel. Typically many, but certainly not all, new build hotels have air conditioning fitted but very few hotels of character in Leeds actually have air conditioning. It is not down to the hotel not ‘getting its act together’ as such rather down to feasibility. I would add that air conditioning is only something called upon on a few days in a calendar year. All our rooms have room fans and we do have additional portable fans available should these be requested.

The windows do not open up fully due to health and safety legislation rather than paint build up and there is a stopper ensuring this. When windows are open, with our City Centre location, noise will be heard as it would be at home should the window be left open throughout the night.

I am very sorry that the weather conditions meant that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We do try and minimise heat by opening windows before arrival and closing blinds but in the recent heat wave this had little effect. I do hope that you will consider staying with us once again.

Please contact the Hotel directly and we will try and ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay which is what try and give all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,089 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#32 of 87 in Leeds
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 87 in Leeds
538 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
1,562 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £51 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing