We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money friendly helpfull staff .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Was worried after reading other reviews... altho quite a way from leeds centre we had all we needed. A short work via the subway and we had a large tesco and other shops for supplies.. the reception is nice the staff friendly and helpfull we had trouble with the key card but was resolved quickly .. the room was a lil dated but has all you expect but was cold the radiator never came on but we managed... the buffet breakfast was well worth it and plenty to choose.. all in all a pleasant stay thanks ..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Food - good variety and quality. Coffee - the usual hotel bitter taste.
Room =- clean, comfy no problems other than the heating going off ,but this was fixed
Entertainment - not my choice i.e. Bingo ,Quiz, Cabaret singer but most residents enjoyed it.
Had a very good stay here. Would go again.
I would have liked the bar to have stayed open later and the whisky measure doubled.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here last week with work, only paid £30, hotel and especially the bedrooms is very dated but overall very clean and tidy and would stay again. Friendly staff at the reception and helped out with a smile.

Room Tip: Top floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on sat 2nd nov with 4 other friends, we booked a 3&2 bed but they were on opposite ends of hotel we asked for closer rooms but told they were fully booked so couldn't move closer, on arrival we weren't overly impressed, the hotel is dated and a little shabby and the carpets could do with a deep clean but we booked cheap so didn't expect too much just a clean room with a decent bed to sleep and that's what we got, we were going to eat dinner in the hotel as the prices were cheap but restaurant didn't open until 6.30 so we ventured into the city centre as we thought that was late so after returning and getting ready for girls night out we met the 2 guys on the desk called Dom & James they booked us a cab, were very friendly gave us suggestions on where to go etc, lovely lads when we returned early hours they were friendly again, we decided to sit in the lobby area and carry on chatting since our rooms were so far apart, we met a lot of people who were there for a party weekend like us, the atmosphere was friendly, some people were clearly mental or too drunk but Dom&JAmes had everything under control, the fire alarms were going off all night but as we decided not to sleep we found it amusing I wouldn't recommend this hotel to family's or business stop overs, it's the most random funniest place I've ever stayed it's now referred to by me and my friends as the party hotel! Had a great time and would definitely stay again! We had breakfast included and it was lovely, fresh and lots of variety, a cheap clean basic hotel ideal for party people but not families

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hi we stayed at your hotel on Friday and Saturday
On the Friday everything was fine Saturday and Sunday morning was a real nightmare from hell.
First of all arriving back at the hotel at about 1.30am on the Sunday morning after working all day at a music festival we was told by the night staff that we could not by any drinks from the bar and have them charged to are room,
We chose this hotel as the website stated that room service was avable 24 hours and could buy drinks on a card
So we went back to are room in bad moods
Then the nightmare began
Doors slamming all night,people running up and down the hotel shouting and screaming coming from rooms on our floor and above,
This went on and on all night.
At one point I got up to go to reception to complain but due to having medical equipment attached to me I fell in my room tripping over the lead attached to myself ripping the equipment out of my leg to much pain needing me to go back into hospital for it to be refitted.
I am disabled and on crushes,
Now after sleeping less then a hour at about 6.30 am the fire alarms then was set off,
My partner knocked a whole glass off water all over his bed in shock of the alarms going off.
We got dressed and went out of the room to find everyone in the corridor not knowing what to do no point did staff members make any attempt to tell anyone what todo
We headed to reseption to find more guests looking lost and confused with staff really not knowing what was going on.
This went on for nearly a hour with staff running about trying to reset the fire panel
After all had been reset we headed back to our room my partner was so tired he slept on the floor due to the glass of water over his bed.
We was so angry and tired we could not talk to the staff.
So at 11.00 am after all that happened in the night we left our room and headed to the bar area
Thinking we will have coffee and some lunch at the hotel before heading back to birmingham on a 3 hour coach journey
Poster all round reception stated that the hotel did a carvery from 12.30 till 2pm so we waited
At 12.45 I looked into the restaurant area to see if the cavery was ready to see no food at all.
So I asked at reception to be told that they only did it if they have bookings.
Now no poster states it has to be booked at all
So after no sleep and food we left your hotel vowing never to return,
We are greatly upset over the whole thing and find it really trouble some that a hotel can be like this
The hotel corridors are so dirty it's unreal aswell and the staff seem to love leaving the fire doors open in the freezing cold meaning the heater in your room are unless,our room was so cold when staff arrived in the morning it was a joke

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First it is cheap. It looks cheap, the greeting was what you paid for, the hallways are dirty, the room is dirty, everything is shabby, battered and old. My entire corridor had an awful smell. I looked at the food but it looked so bad I had to leave with out eating it. Sleep was non existent on a smelly bed in very old uncomfortable bedding. But when you pay so little what can you expect? Well you could expect the cleaners to do their job! With the low price I can excuse the old shabbiness and the lack of service - but I cant excuse the place being dirty.

Room Tip: Get one some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived at back of 8 and by accident, not planned . Having spent a frustrating day traveling from Scotland. Usual traffic and hold ups!
On arriving we were met by a very pleasant receptionist Ian, who went out of his way to accommodate us !
Managed to get a lovely meal as well, thanks to the chef and his patience !
This was in spite of hotel being busy with coach tours. So the staff input and effort was very much appreciated.
The room was clean, warm and practical. Even though the decor was tired and in need of some painting. The value for money was brilliant at £50 ( 2x £25). For bed and breakfast.

Great sleep, quiet night, no disturbances and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the receptionist ,Ian, and look at the room first. Ask for quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franktenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Colton
4.6 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#72 of 87 in Leeds
104 reviews
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Address: Millgreen View, Ring Road, Leeds LS14 5QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £33 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from Leeds City Centre, the Britannia Leeds was built around a 19th-century windmill and is in the perfect location for visiting this bustling Yorkshire city. With easy access from the M1/A1, just a few miles from Leeds United Football Club and conveniently located for Leeds Bradford Airport, this hotel in Leeds is located in the ideal spot for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing