We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

A week working in Leeds ruined by this atrocious hotel. Paper thin walls in the refurbished section means I couldn't sleep as a result of the nightly bingo sessions and Elvis Tribute in the bar, no windows no ventilation in my room, ripped sheets, smelling drains in the bathroom, clearly other guests smoking in their rooms, no smoke alarms? Made more worrying as fire extinguishers missing from . Food very poor as they are geared up for bus tours not business travellers.

The room cost over £50 per night so certainly not value for money,

Didn't think places like this still existed!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    176
    191
    129
    176
See reviews for
109
258
55
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

we booked this hotel through booking.com as leeds was busy this was the best hotel we could find, on arrival everything seemed fine until I walked in the bathroom and found finger nails and hairs in the sink, every tap had water stains on, the tiles had stains on them, the floor was dirty, this bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned properly in weeks and that is not acceptable for anyone, the next morning we were woken up at 8.45 by the maids standing outside our door talking for ages and than at 9 o clock a maid just walked into our room without knocking, I would certainly not stay at this hotel or reccomend anyone else to

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying in the city and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed with National Holidays. Can't fault the hotel or amenities. We were told that some rooms had been recently refurbished but ours wasn't; however, we were more than pleased. We had a nice comfy bed, good shower, good sized room. The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice for both breakfast and the evening meal. It was my birthday

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Was worried after reading other reviews... altho quite a way from leeds centre we had all we needed. A short work via the subway and we had a large tesco and other shops for supplies.. the reception is nice the staff friendly and helpfull we had trouble with the key card but was resolved quickly .. the room was a lil dated but has all you expect but was cold the radiator never came on but we managed... the buffet breakfast was well worth it and plenty to choose.. all in all a pleasant stay thanks ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Food - good variety and quality. Coffee - the usual hotel bitter taste.
Room =- clean, comfy no problems other than the heating going off ,but this was fixed
Entertainment - not my choice i.e. Bingo ,Quiz, Cabaret singer but most residents enjoyed it.
Had a very good stay here. Would go again.
I would have liked the bar to have stayed open later and the whisky measure doubled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here last week with work, only paid £30, hotel and especially the bedrooms is very dated but overall very clean and tidy and would stay again. Friendly staff at the reception and helped out with a smile.

Room Tip: Top floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on sat 2nd nov with 4 other friends, we booked a 3&2 bed but they were on opposite ends of hotel we asked for closer rooms but told they were fully booked so couldn't move closer, on arrival we weren't overly impressed, the hotel is dated and a little shabby and the carpets could do with a deep clean but we booked cheap so didn't expect too much just a clean room with a decent bed to sleep and that's what we got, we were going to eat dinner in the hotel as the prices were cheap but restaurant didn't open until 6.30 so we ventured into the city centre as we thought that was late so after returning and getting ready for girls night out we met the 2 guys on the desk called Dom & James they booked us a cab, were very friendly gave us suggestions on where to go etc, lovely lads when we returned early hours they were friendly again, we decided to sit in the lobby area and carry on chatting since our rooms were so far apart, we met a lot of people who were there for a party weekend like us, the atmosphere was friendly, some people were clearly mental or too drunk but Dom&JAmes had everything under control, the fire alarms were going off all night but as we decided not to sleep we found it amusing I wouldn't recommend this hotel to family's or business stop overs, it's the most random funniest place I've ever stayed it's now referred to by me and my friends as the party hotel! Had a great time and would definitely stay again! We had breakfast included and it was lovely, fresh and lots of variety, a cheap clean basic hotel ideal for party people but not families

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
2.7 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#69 of 86 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Property: Britannia Leeds Hotel
Address: Millgreen View, Ring Road, Leeds LS13 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from Leeds City Centre, the Britannia Leeds was built around a 19th-century windmill and is in the perfect location for visiting this bustling Yorkshire city. With easy access from the M1/A1, just a few miles from Leeds United Football Club and conveniently located for Leeds Bradford Airport, this hotel in Leeds is located in the ideal spot for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing