We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to tour from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place to tour from”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Well my wife and I have just had a lovely four days touring round Yorkshire from your great hotel. The staff were there for you all the time,and the food which was self service was outstanding,so thank you all at the Britannia Leeds north.

Room Tip: Well we stayed in room 56 on the ground floor and all was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    176
    191
    129
    176
See reviews for
109
257
55
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On arrival we were greeted with a very unclean, dull reception area. When we were eventually checked in, the receptionist sent us the wrong way to our rooms. We had booked 2 rooms for one night. One room was located in the older side of the hotel which can only be described as the dungeons. The corridor leading to the room had never seen a Hoover, the lighting was very dull and it smelt like an ash tray. As you can imagine for non smokers this was very unpleasant. The room was very tired and in need of a complete revamp. The bathroom was unclean and uninviting and the lamps in the room did not work. The other room we had booked was in the newer side of the hotel. The room was brighter and didn't smell of smoke however it could have been a lot cleaner and to be honest I didn't like the fact that my 14 month old daughter would be staying in it. On booking we had requested for our two rooms to be together however when we asked at reception we were told that we were not allowed to be moved. This was very disappointing as we had heard that another party had been moved. The following morning breakfast was served on a side plate and the bar and dining area was like something out of faulty towers! We raised our concerns with the duty manager who seemed to agree with everything we said and we were given an email address to complain to Britannia direct. I would not recommend this hotel at all even if you do get a good rate!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying in the city and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Grimsby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel overnight with a coach party. Our room was classed as a smoking room so the smell on entering our corridor was unpleasant.I didn't think smoking was allowed indoors any more! We were only staying for one night so opened the window and decided to put up with it. My friend asked for a clean pillowcase as hers was soiled. It didn't arrive! Other members in our group were shown to rooms which had not been cleaned or prepared. The corridors were in need of a good dust and clean. However the staff were very friendly and to our group of four ladies very accommodating . When the desserts ran out(probably due to the greed of some of our group) we were offered ice cream which we declined. We asked if cheese and biscuits were an option and yes it was. The chef and his staff were very kind. I think the hotel needs a long overdue makeover.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke,make sure that you're not accommodated in the smoking area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First thought; it looks nice and inviting.
But payment must be made before the hotel key given and if it wasn’t the case, the following morning I would not have paid the going rate for the room! I stayed in room 234; the room light flickered, the room was basic, it was nothing special. Staff were not very customer focused; no real empathy from either. I was told meals started from 7pm and at 7:45 I went to the restaurant to be told that I had to buy food from the bar because my name wasn’t down for a meal, a bit rude, so I ate a meal from the bar. Breakfast was fine, a little over priced maybe, again it wasn’t about me wanting breakfast it was about taking payment for the breakfast! The hotel chain really does need to change its focus on the customer and not the money, seriously bad!

I would not recommend this hotel based on my own experiences, the lighting in the room should not had flickered, the staff should show some kind of empathy and not force smiles and just want to take your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dageeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying in the city and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Up for the Test stayed here Saturday 28th June with six friends. Had booked three twin rooms and a double ended up with one twin and three doubles. Staffs excuse..... the booking website and their own website are incompatible so they get this sort of thing 'all the time' Mmmmmmmm. The place has had a makeover so it's clean and presentable but the bed in our room was shoehorned into it. No hot water in an evening so if you like cold showers this is the place for you. The room was unbearably hot, no air conditioning and what appeared to be the boiler next door kicked on and off all night so sleeping was a hit and miss affair.. Sunday morning ordered three coffees from the bar it took two staff to make and serve same. Hopeless. Glad to leave. the only thing I can say positively about it is it was a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Best tip: Avoid it find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewPenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently visited this hotel for work and with some trepidation after reading other reviews!

This hotel does exactly that it says on e tin, provides a no frills bed for the night with a reasonably decent and plentiful breakfast with no dramas.

I also ate in the hotel on both nits on my stay, the first at the bar, the second in the restaurant. The food was superb, it was never going to be Michelin starred but was tasty and again plentiful.

The room was a good size (twin) and clean as was the en suite.

Staff were polite and helpful throughout, despite it being exceptionally busy.

Overall, considering the price I'd recommend this hotel to others who want somewhere comfortable to spend a night or two without paying a premium for services they might not use.

Room Tip: The closer you are to reception and the restaurant, the more chance of getting wifi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A shame really as the Hotel seemed decent enough however Reception handed a keycard to a bloke who just asked for a key to a particular room number. Just so happened to be the room I was staying in. Thankfully for me he had woken me up when he tried (quite forcefully) to get in before he asked for a keycard to my room (turns out he had made a mistake about which room he was staying in). When I went to the door I didn't see anyone so called reception to tell them someone had tried getting in , it was then that they said they had handed a key to someone who had asked for a key to room xxx (no checking his name or any other details!).
They then said they would cancel the keycard they had given him, I put the door chain on anyway, just before he opend the door, and finding the chain on promptly started trying to undo it from outside! till a member of staff appeared and told him he was at the wrong room.
It gets even better because when I went to speak to the Duty Manager I found that I couldn't get back in my room beacuse they had actually cancelled my keycard (whcih explains how he was able to open the door!).
Now although I never leave valuables in my hotel room there were plenty of things he couod have lifted if he was inclined, and if there had been a single woman staying I dread to think what they consequences could have been.
Although the staff were friendly enough and facilities were fine for the price they clearly don't care about customer safety!
Stear Clear if you have any other option in Leeds.

Room Tip: Find a Hotel where they don't just hand out keys to anyone who asked for a key to a room xxx wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnydbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
2.7 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#69 of 86 in Leeds
98 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Property: Britannia Leeds Hotel
Address: Millgreen View, Ring Road, Leeds LS13 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from Leeds City Centre, the Britannia Leeds was built around a 19th-century windmill and is in the perfect location for visiting this bustling Yorkshire city. With easy access from the M1/A1, just a few miles from Leeds United Football Club and conveniently located for Leeds Bradford Airport, this hotel in Leeds is located in the ideal spot for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing