We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AM Kitchen and Bar

AM Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #194 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time here. Beautiful decor, nice friendly atmosphere, very busy but staff very attentive. Food very good although the onion bhaji starter that I had was VERY HOT! Would recommend to others

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tets50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear tets50
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am happy you had a lovely time on your recent visit to "AM". Both myself and the staff hope to see you back at the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    126
    50
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food & outstanding service”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Don't usually write reviews on trip advisor, but was blown away by fantastic service & food at this hidden gem in Leeds tonight. Complimentary poppadoms & pickle tray was served as we choose our drinks & curries. Our waiter Rofiq was fantastic, when we ordered we were asked if we liked our curries mild, medium or hot. My sister asked how the chicken tikka massala came & he said how did she like it? She said she liked it extra mild & creamy & that was exactly as it came! Best curry she ever had! The food was amazing, generous portions, especially the starters! Prices very reasonable considering quality of the food & city centre location. Service was attentive, but also left us alone to enjoy our food. Rofiq made us laugh, cracking jokes & nothing was too much trouble. If I was being really picky, I'd say the nan breads were a bit on small side, some of the men in our group ate a whole 1 each & didn't like that they were very thin. But I liked the thin, crispy nan's, rather than heavy & doughy ones you get some places. Overall highly recommend it, our new favourite indian, we'll be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie121982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Melanie121982
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am thrilled that your evening was amazing at "AM", I will pass your kind comments onto the staff and especially Rofiq your waiter. We look forward in seeing you back at your favourite Indian in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellant food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After returning again, we were not disappointed, the food excellent and service very efficient.
The food is always of a high standard and served hot, any requests for additional items are dealt with straight away.
The décor is pleasing and creates a nice atmosphere.
Will be returning and recommend to others, give it a try if you are in Leeds!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Joseph H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am glad to read that on your return visit to "AM" you were not disappointed and the food was excellent. Both myself and the staff look forward in seeing you back at the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ate here over the weekend 8-9th Aug 2014 .The restaurant setting itself is very pleasant in a lovely old building .

We received popadoms and pickles on being seated.. the pickles tray being actually devoid of any actual pickles ,but complimentary anyhow .


We decided to go straight to mains along with a large cobra at £4.95 and a small peroni £2.95 , didnt ask for table water ,non was offered.On eating in a new (to us) restaurant our habit is to order from the old traditional style curries , before venturing onto the chefs specials etc.The main reason for this is that if the chef cant master the old school simple stuff then your wasting time and money on the specials..To this end we ordered Chicken Vindaloo , Rogan @£8.55 each, plain pilau , plain nan and keema nan... simple stuff.
The food arrived fairly quickly and was hot.Ordering vindaloo is a minefield , many places simply decide that if you want it hot , not to bother with cooking a quality curry and chuck in a huge amount of chilli powder , give it 5 mins and serve it .
Unfortunately AM do exactly this .non of the fresh ginger , garlic , fresh chillies or coriander was apparent,. the result being a stodgy lump of fairly dry chicken in a chilli paste.No sauce was present ..flavourless except for heat.The rogan was on the bland side ,the rice a strange unappealing brown colour , and the nan breads on the small side but passable..
Now food has to be appalling for me to return it , (and this was just a poor offering),, so i didnt and worked my way through it , but it was poorly executed and disappointing.I mentioned the lack of sauce in the meals and the waiter said .. ask for it "saucy" next time The menu describes it being in a rich masala sauce... not a dry fried dish with absolutely no sauce whatsoever.
.At £8.55 a main its pricey for what it is, and there is better to be had for less within a few hundred yards .. Maybe the chef was having an off day?, maybe making vindaloo insults his culinary prowess ?.. if so remove it from the menu.

A lazy effort from the kitchen without a doubt.

Not terrible but far from good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEnALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear STEVEnALI
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen and Bar, I am sorry to read your disappointing review, at "AM" we aim to satisfy all our customers. Please contact Jackie or Tahir at the restaurant on telephone number 0113 242 2626.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This was recommended by a friend-I can totally agree.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Met our friends in Bar 1817 on Boar Lane, nice bar not been in before, but it has an entrance to AM Kitchen too.
Hadn't booked but if you can get there before 7pm, we arrived at 6.45pm,and had a table, but after 7 it did fill up quite quickly.
The ambiance, the decor, etc is spot on, I remember it as Dysons Jewellers a long time ago, and they have kept most of the interior, and the feel of the place.
Drinks were average priced for centre of Leeds, bottles beer £4.90.
Starters were very good, lamb chops, mm.... Especially.
Mains and side dishes were good too, in fact it all was fab. With it being our 1st time there, we ordered mild to medium, and it was a little too mild, next time may go with the strength of the dish.
Overall will be visiting AM Kitchen again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmKitchen A, Manager at AM Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear YorkshireLass2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for AM Kitchen & Bar, I am glad you had a fab meal on your recent 1st visit to "AM" Both myself and the staff look forward in seeing you back at the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AM Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to AM Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing