We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Leeds Parkway
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Park Plaza Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
256
333
243
118
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
333
243
118
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden acre parkbalcony overlookingan early morning flightsteam roomplenty of free parkingwedding venueleisure facilitiestrouser pressovernight stayone night stayself servicebuffet styleweekend breakotleydiscowoodlandiron
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel over the past 7 years. Previously, for the first two stays, the Hotel was part of the Ramada chain and now it is part of the Accor/Mercure group. In truth not much has changed.

We stayed on the weekend just after New Year, and were given a good rate for
bed and breakfast.

On arrival, you fill find ample car parking. The check in process was efficient and professional. We were given a studio room at first but on visiting it we found that a badly fitted window meant that the strong wind outside was loudly whistling into the room. We were moved without fuss to another room ( No 123).

Although a little smaller than the studio room, it did have a bath which the former did not. It had a little balcony and faced onto the grass area towards the health club. This would have been pleasant in warmer weather conditions.

The room was adequately equipped with hairdryer; ironing board and iron, tea/coffee making facilities; flatscreen TV and storage facilities. the workings for the TV via the remote is a bit fiddly and long winded.

One chair was provided - a second could not be fitted into the room given its size - and the radiator worked fine. The cleanliness of the room was also satisfactory.

We were to find that the bed was not the most comfortable and we missed out on a good nights sleep on both nights we stayed.

The location of the hotel is good. It is immediately adjacent to the Golden Acre park which is itself worth a stroll around. It also has a bus stop immediately outside and the X84 service can quickly take you to either Leeds one way or the market towns of Otley or Ikley the other. ( £3.90 return).

I used the health club facilities attached to the hotel and they were okay. Towels were provided and the locker required a £1 deposit (refundable). The swimming pool is not the largest but adequate. A separate children's pool is attached. A whirlpool is also available with a clear notice emphasising that it is a whirlpool and not a Jacuzzi and therefore the water is NOT hot!! The gym is fairly well equipped. The sauna is not mixed and instead there is one located within both the respective changing rooms. The single steam room is mixed but unfortunately this was out of order and apparently had been so for several weeks.

Breakfast was the buffet style affair and served everything you would expect for an English breakfast. Non mainstream dishes such as Eggs Benedict or kippers could be made to order. Our only complaint was that some of the cutlery items, particularly cups, were not the cleanest, in fact dirty from previous use, and had to be changed.

We were looking to eat in the hotel on the second night but really this was not an option. A very restricted bar food menu option was available but there was confusion as to whether a fixed two course option was also available. So we were initially disappointed that we would need to travel out for our evening meal.

We ate at a nice little Italian restaurant (Divino's) in the nearby village of Adel. There we noticed that this had been the choice of at least two other couples from the hotel.

On returning to the hotel bar area it lacked both atmosphere and customers. A large (real effect) gas effect gave it a warm and cosy feel but the expensive bar prices ( £4 for a pint of lager) perhaps was off putting to some. Even the large screen TV had some sound technical problems.

All in all we had no major complaints about this hotel. For the price we paid it represented value for money. It is a good base for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Jamie 077

Many thanks for your detailed review of the hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you had a nice comfortable stay.
The issues you have raised are being dealt with.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is brilliant! All of the staff we met were approachable and more than happy to help with any query or question. The facilities were great too! Unfortunately we did not have time to use the swimming pool but, on our first night we went for a look, again staff were welcoming and more than happy for us to have a look. We had breakfast included in the total price which was a very pleasant experience. There were a variety of choices which we enjoyed in a relaxed environment. Housekeeping should also be praised. We chose not to have our room serviced, despite this a small hamper of fresh towels and refills for the tea tray were left outside the room for if we needed them.My only grumble is the condition of the fixture and fittings of the bedroom. The room itself was in a good condition but there were small things which could be developed. Some light bulbs were not working, light fixtures were exposed, the chair was nearly falling apart and the shower had large lime scale build up. However, despite this with the quality of the food, cleanliness of the room,facilities and how friendly the staff were, this certainly wouldn't put me off returning to this hotel and I still believe it was excellent value for money!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a renovated room. Judging by the previous reviews which talk about features we didn't have, it sounds as though we were not in the most modern of rooms available.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Hayley R

Many Thanks for your kind comments. I have shared your comments with the team.
We are addressing the conditional issues of the bedroom that you raised, and will be continuing our refurbishment program in 2014. All the best.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This lovely hotel is in beautiful surroundings about 10 minutes drive from Leeds centre and only 6 minutes drive from Leeds/Bradford airport, so convenient for both travel, shopping and sightseeing.
The menu is varied and the food is really good. The spa and swimming facilities were excellent. Each room has a small terrace.
We were allocated a twin room, which, unfortunately, was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.Having said that, the duty receptionist was very apologetic and we were offered another room immediately, proving the staff were efficient and really pleasant about a potentially less than perfect situation.
Over all, I would not hesitate to book there again and will do in the near future!
Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 216 can be quite noisy intermittently from a housed unit close-by.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnDaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear LynnDaveW

Many thanks for your kind comments. I am extremely pleased you had a lovely stay at the hotel.

All the best for 2014, and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went to the Mercure Leeds Parkway Hotel for New Years Eve as group of 6 people. The trip started fantastically with friendly and efficient reception staff to check us in. The room, whilst quite dated, was spacious and very clean. The water in the bathroom provided a lovely hot bath and shower to relax in.

The bar area is a comfortable place to have a relaxing drink before dinner.

I did not expect much from the food as we knew they were serving many people however we all agreed the food was fantastic and the service brilliant. This then continued with an extensive breakfast menu.

Overall I would say it was amazing value for money with great food and wonderful service from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Fran661

Many Thanks for your lovely comments.

I have passed these comments onto the team, and the Chef was extremely happy to hear them.
All the best for 2104, look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The room was pretty good here and the bed was huge!!!! The building is very old and you can see how they are slowly renovating. Some parts of the room look old but everything was in working order. Apart from the radiator which didn't cool down when it was turned down. That wasn't a big issue though.
My biggest complaint is the pillows....they are very hard!
The hotel was extremely busy when we stayed there due to coach parties and you could see that this affected the breakfast buffet and eating area.
I would stay here again. The staff were very friendly. You can cut through to the park behind the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Iliveforholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Iliveforholidays88

Many thanks for your review, and your kind comments.

As you rightly pointed out we are gradually refurbishing various parts of the hotel, and have more plans to do so in 2014. We have also addressed the two issues you raised.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews