We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved staying here”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here during the very busy Xmas period.

My room was very comfortable, clean and had everything I needed.
The view ( of the woodland area to the rear of the hotel ) from my room was very pleasant.

The hotel has character combined with very reasonable modern convenience.

The area where it scores top marks is the hotel staff. They are excellent. Friendly, helpful and eager to please. They did everything that they could to insure that their guests had a very happy stay.

The management team who were working over Xmas were certainly leading by example - Simon, Jay and Martin - constantly available, ever attentive, and anticipating needs before you realised you had them ........ really outstanding service.
This was echoed by their staff in the restaurant, and those servicing the rooms.

One of the managers Martin - seemed to be working 24/7 - his truthful explanation was
" I love my work ..... " . You don't hear that every day !

This welcoming hotel is a credit to Yorkshire hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Vivien W

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. In agreement with your comments, our staff are our most prized possession and I am delighted that once again they have excelled - I shall make sure everyone is made aware of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    313
    224
    101
    69
See reviews for
149
387
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here prior to Christmas on business as I had to spend a day in Leeds visiting some clients. The staff were very friendly and could not do more for me.
I was check in efficiently, and my room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I had the addition of a balcony over looking the central courtyard and gardens which was a lovely touch I was not expecting. I ordered room service which was delivered quickly and my food was piping hot and delicious. I would recommend this hotel to friends as well as staying again myself in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Simon S. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed what seems to be all aspects of your stay with us and I shall ensure that all of our staff are made aware of your comments. We look forward to looking after you again soon! Kind regards, Stewart Woodeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel over the past 7 years. Previously, for the first two stays, the Hotel was part of the Ramada chain and now it is part of the Accor/Mercure group. In truth not much has changed.

We stayed on the weekend just after New Year, and were given a good rate for
bed and breakfast.

On arrival, you fill find ample car parking. The check in process was efficient and professional. We were given a studio room at first but on visiting it we found that a badly fitted window meant that the strong wind outside was loudly whistling into the room. We were moved without fuss to another room ( No 123).

Although a little smaller than the studio room, it did have a bath which the former did not. It had a little balcony and faced onto the grass area towards the health club. This would have been pleasant in warmer weather conditions.

The room was adequately equipped with hairdryer; ironing board and iron, tea/coffee making facilities; flatscreen TV and storage facilities. the workings for the TV via the remote is a bit fiddly and long winded.

One chair was provided - a second could not be fitted into the room given its size - and the radiator worked fine. The cleanliness of the room was also satisfactory.

We were to find that the bed was not the most comfortable and we missed out on a good nights sleep on both nights we stayed.

The location of the hotel is good. It is immediately adjacent to the Golden Acre park which is itself worth a stroll around. It also has a bus stop immediately outside and the X84 service can quickly take you to either Leeds one way or the market towns of Otley or Ikley the other. ( £3.90 return).

I used the health club facilities attached to the hotel and they were okay. Towels were provided and the locker required a £1 deposit (refundable). The swimming pool is not the largest but adequate. A separate children's pool is attached. A whirlpool is also available with a clear notice emphasising that it is a whirlpool and not a Jacuzzi and therefore the water is NOT hot!! The gym is fairly well equipped. The sauna is not mixed and instead there is one located within both the respective changing rooms. The single steam room is mixed but unfortunately this was out of order and apparently had been so for several weeks.

Breakfast was the buffet style affair and served everything you would expect for an English breakfast. Non mainstream dishes such as Eggs Benedict or kippers could be made to order. Our only complaint was that some of the cutlery items, particularly cups, were not the cleanest, in fact dirty from previous use, and had to be changed.

We were looking to eat in the hotel on the second night but really this was not an option. A very restricted bar food menu option was available but there was confusion as to whether a fixed two course option was also available. So we were initially disappointed that we would need to travel out for our evening meal.

We ate at a nice little Italian restaurant (Divino's) in the nearby village of Adel. There we noticed that this had been the choice of at least two other couples from the hotel.

On returning to the hotel bar area it lacked both atmosphere and customers. A large (real effect) gas effect gave it a warm and cosy feel but the expensive bar prices ( £4 for a pint of lager) perhaps was off putting to some. Even the large screen TV had some sound technical problems.

All in all we had no major complaints about this hotel. For the price we paid it represented value for money. It is a good base for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Jamie 077

Many thanks for your detailed review of the hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you had a nice comfortable stay.
The issues you have raised are being dealt with.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is brilliant! All of the staff we met were approachable and more than happy to help with any query or question. The facilities were great too! Unfortunately we did not have time to use the swimming pool but, on our first night we went for a look, again staff were welcoming and more than happy for us to have a look. We had breakfast included in the total price which was a very pleasant experience. There were a variety of choices which we enjoyed in a relaxed environment. Housekeeping should also be praised. We chose not to have our room serviced, despite this a small hamper of fresh towels and refills for the tea tray were left outside the room for if we needed them.My only grumble is the condition of the fixture and fittings of the bedroom. The room itself was in a good condition but there were small things which could be developed. Some light bulbs were not working, light fixtures were exposed, the chair was nearly falling apart and the shower had large lime scale build up. However, despite this with the quality of the food, cleanliness of the room,facilities and how friendly the staff were, this certainly wouldn't put me off returning to this hotel and I still believe it was excellent value for money!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a renovated room. Judging by the previous reviews which talk about features we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Hayley R

Many Thanks for your kind comments. I have shared your comments with the team.
We are addressing the conditional issues of the bedroom that you raised, and will be continuing our refurbishment program in 2014. All the best.

Kind Regards
Simon Grace
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
9.2 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
769 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.1 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#36 of 87 in Leeds
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
20.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leeds Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leeds Parkway

Property: Mercure Leeds Parkway
Address: Otley Road, Leeds LS16 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Leeds Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in large mock-Tudor building on 2-1/2 acres next to Golden Acre Park & Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Leeds Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leeds Parkway Hotel Leeds
Ramada Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing