We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I arranged a stay here for my 50th birthday for eight friends at short notice. The service we received was fantastic. I had been upgraded to a superior room as it was my birthday, but when we got to the rooms we had all been given double rooms rather than the twins we had requested. The reception staff happily changed us all to twin rooms and upgraded the whole party to superior rooms. The rooms were large and very comfortable. We ate at the grill restaurant on Friday night and the food and service were great, the bar area is also very pleasant to sit in. The breakfast was fantastic, although there was a short wait to sit down. The hotel is ideally placed for both shoping and easy access to the bar and restuarant area. I have stayed in many more modern hotels in Leeds but my stay at the Queens was the best I have had and I wil definately stay here the next time I go to leeds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMartin499515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear LMartin499515

A belated Happy Birthday.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queens, we are incredibly proud of the heritage of this magnificent hotel and it is great to read that our guests think that we have been able to maintain such a high standard.

I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon, as you say, location in the city centre is perfect for maybe a spot of Christmas shopping

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    1,049
    409
    157
    90
See reviews for
295
1,170
178
877
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Super room, very fair price.
Snacks in bar very good.
Staff first class throughout. Couldn't have been more helpful.
I would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for reviewing The Queens following your stay. I am pleased your experience was one of excellent value and that as a result you would not hesitate to recommend our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

the hotel decor was old and worn the bed needed a new mattress small old tv in room the room was dark and gloomy all the toilets in the public area the lides were broke, food took ages and vwasant worth the money didant taste nice .
we went for my friends 30th the hotel spoilet her birthday the room we stayed in was sp2 be a supperior room but was small only had a few channels no sky as was sp2 be and know slippers the room was verry small basic and in need of dooing up i will never be staying there agai we could of stayed at the hilton for the same prise as we payed for this room. the hotel was fulof people wearin football t-shirts and tracksuite bottoms.

Room Tip: go somewear else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmacheriebethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
I was disappointed with your review and sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel dates back to 1937 and its style reflects this period however with all the modern and up to date facilities nowadays available. I am sorry if things were not to your personal liking. Given the nature of your comments I am genuinely surprised you did not raise this at the time, April 2011, as the Hotel would have welcomed an opportunity to address your comments at this point. I am afraid that at this late stage I can only offer you my most sincere apologies.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Queens Hotel for a wedding and we loved it. By no means the best hotel in the area, but the fantastic service from the staff made this a very enjoyable stay. Nothing was too much for them and the reception held at the hotel was a fantastic do with good food and plenty of wine. The only down side was the net curtains in the rooms are in need a good wash although the rest of the room was very clean!!! A great place to stay if you want a good friendly hotel in the middle of the action....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDHNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable experience and that you have highlighted the service delivered by our team. It is our team that creates a positive difference compared to, say, some larger corporate Hotels available in the area. I have noted your comment regarding the curtains and can assure you these are cleaned on a rolling basis. I am sorry if the champagne colour led you to believe differently. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Leeds' most central hotel.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel really has character. It is beautifully decorated throughout in Art Deco style. It makes a refreshing change from the blandness of many modern hotels. The location is so convenient, with fabulous views over City Square from many of the rooms.
The staff were very helpful and attentive and made us feel special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire-Lass9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Yorkshire-Lass9222

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I'm in a long distance relationship and came up to Leeds to spend the weekend with my girlfriend for my birthday and decided to pay extra to stay in a QClub room. My train was cancelled then the replacement delayed, we arrived at the hotel a little irritated by the strenuous journey but were greeted by a warm receptionist who informed me that due to a cancellation she had given us a room with a private terrace which we cheered us up! The QClub is quite exquisite, you are greeted with chocolates as you exit the lift on the 8th floor, living the life indeed! Our room was very well furnished and comfortable with everything you'd need. We visited the QLounge but were too late for free alcohol so helped ourselves to biscuits and tea then looked out on the terrace. Breakfast is delicious! We had the option of a continental one in the QLounge or go downstairs for a full english, we went downstairs and the scrambled egg is to die for! The next day before going for a meal at Bibis we made sure we were on time for the free alcohol!! My girlfriend didn't enjoy much though as it was only really wine and beer on offer, she was hoping for some free cheap vodka as there were plenty of mixers on offer. Overall a great stay, would come back in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone looking for somewhere a bit special to stay in Leeds!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niyi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear NiyiA

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team who I am sure you will agree, are the true heart of our magnificent hotel and they will be pleased to know that they have succeeded in their efforts to make sure our guests have a truly special stay.

Glad too that you had the chance to experience our executive floor QClub where exclusivity and luxury is paramount and as you say, really is experiencing Life at the Top. Please do come back and visit us again soon, you will be a more than welcome guest.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed for just one night. Some confusion as to the booking at the front desk but the asian receptionist was able to sort out an upgraded room for a minimal price and all done with a friendly and professional demeanour.
I had stayed at this hotel some years ago and they have certainly upped their game since then.
Great, huge bed and wonderful shower.
Bit disappointed with the lounge/bar but the things that matter are very well done.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Walfie25

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Queens. I am sorry that you experienced initial confusion, however I am delighted to read that our team were able to rectify this with minimal inconvenience to yourself and that you were able to enjoy the highest levels of customer service and quality

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing