We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not complain.... great base to explore”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed over on Saturday 24th October, Superior Room half price through last minute.
Room was good size, with great view looking out over the city / front. Being on the front, and also close to the lift, we thought we may hear alot of noise from a) outside and b) people going to and from the lift, but when we woke up it was 9.30am!!! and we had not heard anyone (although the 3 bottles of wine the previous night probably helped that). My only issue with the room was that it was on the cold side and the heating did not appear to push the heat out well, but as we were only there for one night and out for most of the time it did not bother us. Room was very clean and tidy. Room Service also swapped the compliementary wine from red to white with no hassle.
Just before we got into Leeds we phoned the hotel to say we were early. We were told that our room was ready at 12 noon, so it meant we did not have to wait around til 3ish. Upon arrival we pulled up outside the hotel and handed our keys in a at Reception who parked my car. £12 for 24 hours parking was great value. Reception were great too and we we were in our room within 5 mins.
We did not eat at the hotel so could not comment. Overal though, for what we paid, full marks goes to The Queens!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice veiw when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donbeech2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Dear Donbeech2904

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,866 - 2,872 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

I arrived late one Thursday evening & was delighted to see a "home from home" section on the room service menu. I ordered a cheese and ham omelette which arrived within 25 minutes. It was exactly what I needed & was well made & well presented with salad & chips. A refreshing change to see some relatively plain items on the menu (as that's sometimes exactly what travellers want)!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NixEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Queens on our wedding night having had our reception at a venue just outside leeds. The hotel, its reception staff and online staff could not have been better. I was allowed to check in early and leave our overnight bags in the room and use the valet parking.

We were also allocated a junior suite that was beautiful (only paid the standard double rate) which was such a nice touch.

We will deffinately stay there again.

Great experience

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTBFFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The room was super, I couldn't have asked for anything better. The breakfast bar was good, especially after I discovered the porridge, which was lucious. The scrambled eggs were a bit soggy and since I don't eat pork I cannot comment on the bacon or sausage, except to say there were a lot of people eating it. I also had dinner and I would say it was very good. The temperatures were correct. There were only 2 things that I wasn't real keen on, the salad had too many bitter greens and the rib steak was very fatty. Now I know that rib eye steak can be fatty so that is why I am giving the food a very good. The staff service was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It is ideally located for me because it is right next door, literally, to the train station. And I had a wonderful view of the city centre. Great, great, great hotel.

Room Tip: I was in room 730 and had a wonderful view of the city centre. Only one time did I hear anyone in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Debra1951

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing that you had a superb stay at the hotel. Delighted that you were able to sample our Porridge station, a perfect start for these cold mornings we’re sadly now experiencing. We very much look forward to welcoming you as our guest very soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The hotel was very very nice, staff helpful and friendly, room very clean and big everything you would need for your stay, food was very good, things are a little expensive there but worth it i would be more than happy to stay there again pamper yourself and go for a weekend you will love it

Room Tip: we were in room 227 the view from the window was not good but the room itself was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear David W

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

its a real shame i cant give a better review. The Queens is clearly an art deco gem. but attempts to restore her have clearly missed the mark. The rooms are average and chain like, although comfortable and clean enough. liveried staff were polite, although the reception girl was less impressive. Great location if travelling by train.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSTLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear PSTLK

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I too am sorry that we were not able to offer you the chance to post a more favourable review. I can assure you that a considerable amount of investment was made to restore the hotel and as you can imagine it is an ongoing project and one which is readily undertaken on a regular basis, which is nothing less than this magnificent building deserves.

I am pleased however that you found the location and the majority of the staff to be polite and welcoming.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Having visited Leeds previously, i was aware of the location and position of The Queens. I am a huge fan of Q hotels, who now run this hotel. As indicated - its position cannot be bettered.. adjacent to the train staion if you arrive by train - it even has access direct from the station concourse. It's also a stones throw from the centre of Leeds for shopping etc.
We were there for just the 2 nights. I found the staff friendly and helpful. Lets be clear - this is not a new hotel, and there are places were it does indeed seem a little tired, but I think this is part of its appeal. The room we were allocated was a little small -particularly the bathroom - but was spotlessley clean. Whilst walking along the corridor though, I did happen to notice that another room was being serviced, which did appear to be significantly more spacious than ours so maybe we were just allocated a smaller room, because we were on a specific "deal" for a 2 night break? Dunno. Nice fittings/ lighting in the room tho. Flat screen tv, tea & coffee facilities.
We had breakfast as part of the package ..excellent. Great choice of hot/cold food, and a lovely art deco setting.
Overall - a very nice hotel, well maintained and with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel.w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Mel.w

Thank you for taking the time to post such a concise review of the hotel. I am delighted that as a fan of QHotels you were not disappointed with The Queens and thank you for your continued support.

Delighted that you found the location, cleanliness, friendliness of the team and food to be enjoyable, in response to your comment relating to the room I can assure you that all your allocation would not have reflected the price paid more that the room you viewed whilst walking along the corridor was most likely a suite.

I do hope that you visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,157 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing