We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned Style”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Style”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here a few times now on business. Rooms are always good and very stylish. The staff are attentive and the hotel has a decent restaurant in the basement. The room facing City Square have triple glazing and the street noise doesn't get through. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear MonkeyHartlepool

First of all many thanks for returning to our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased with your comments as it demonstrates that we are able to offer you comfort, peace and quiet and good old fashioned style. I do hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    1,079
    417
    158
    95
See reviews for
302
1,210
183
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the Queens on 27th to 29th october 2011 , we upgraded to the Q club and found the rooms excellent, quiet and the service was excellent, will have no hesitation in stopping here again, the staff are so friendly, it is handy for the station and the shops.

Room Tip: Q club is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Paul T

Thrilled you had such a wonderful stay at The Queens and that you treated yourself to Life at The Top, QClub really is a treat isn’t it. On behalf of myself and the team we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Check in was smooth, we were early but could leave luggage with concierge. Room on 8th floor looked newly refurbished with very comfy bed and the access to the exec lounge was well worth it. We had a few drinks and nibbles before heading out and enjoyed the continental breakfast the next morning which I can imagine was much more relaxed than in the main restaurant. Location is key for this hotel, attached the the train station and only minutes walk from where you want to be. Definitely would come back! Free wifi as well...

Room Tip: Upgrade to the exec level on the 8th floor, drinks and nibbles in the evening and separate breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Diskokugel1978

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, as you say the location couldn’t be better for making full use of the amenities which Leeds has to offer. Glad too that you were able to sample QClub, Leeds only exclusive executive floor. Look forward to welcoming you back as our guest

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a night at the Grand in Leeds which is on the Station approach. Check in staff very friendly and room 7xx had an excelennt view over the city looking north.
Very comfy large bed with full facilities in my room. Bathroom and bath spotlessly clean.
Excellent value for money at £65 room only, but loads of cafes near by for food.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear njd47559

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

this hotel has a superb location right in the city centre,literally 200 yards from the railway station.huge and imposing building which inside was very art deco,we stayed for two nights in a superior room[still reasonable rate]which had an absolutely huge bed was roomy and had nice art-deco features,good sized bathroom was spotless.there was no noise whatsoever from hotel or guests but i personally found the traffic noise slightly intrusive as i am a light sleeper.only slight criticism was tatty net curtains,the staff seemed friendly and helpfull.we used the bar once which we found lacking in atmosphere it would be much better with some low background music to match the setting ie. light jazz.overall though would definitely recommend for a city break

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey66woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear mikey66woo

Many thanks for your review of The Queens. I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as a result would be happy to recommend our hotel to others. I am particularly pleased that you have written a very balanced and comprehensive review and take all comments made on board.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I booked this through Expedia and it was £67 for a standard double room. On the whole it was great value and I'd recommend staying here.

The good:

If there's a better located city centre hotel in the U.K that's of the same standard or higher then I'd love to know what it is. You've got the train station next to it, alot of bars and clubs on your doorstep and all of those fantastic shops a five minutes or so walk away. No need for taxis here if you're only ever in the centre.

Loved the Art Deco features. It just added to the experience - imposing in a grand way but very unique.

I had such a wonderful view from the fifth floor of and of other parts of the city centre. It really does make a difference.

There's superb customer service at The Queens, especially when I checked out late morning one Saturday in the middle of August. The lady on reception was so warm and professional and I noticed the same when I was waiting behind a couple who were also being checked out by this member of staff. I don't know her name but she was about late 30's, blonde, local. A terrific asset to this hotel.

I was a bit nervous of getting a good nights sleep here as I read that lots of hen and stag parties stay here but I slept like a log and the bed was very comfy.

The bad:

I know from reading previous reviews that some people have been put off by the net curtains, and when I first arrived in the hotel yes I noticed they looked faded. It was a bit off-putting. I think the manager replied to some of these reviews and said that they're deliberately champagne colour. I think better to avoid confusion and replace them with new white ones, though perhaps this is in the air anyway.

My inside window ledge was dirty, but everything else was clean. Surprisingly disappointing and it's the reason why I can't give the hotel a 5* rating.

Bathroom was small (see one of my pictures), but OK I suppose for one person.

I didn't eat here as I was on a budget so ate at cafes elsewhere however I think that £9.95 is reasonably priced for a breakfast buffet for a 4* hotel (but still I couldn't stretch to it - next time!).

Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Globalcitizen_1975

Many thanks for your review of The Queens. I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as a result would be happy to recommend our hotel to others. I am particularly pleased that you have written a very balanced and comprehensive review. I have noted your comment regarding the window and I am glad you have pointed this out, I will certainly discuss this with our housekeeping team.

Please do visit us again soon where I hope we can achieve that 5* rating.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Have stayed here before and have been positive about it . Central location , fair value and friendly staff. Not so positive this time around. Parts of the hotel are very tired including our room on the 5th floor.
Sunday checkout was a bit of a scrum and it took 40 minutes to retrieve our car through the hotel's car parking service due to our ticket becoming lost and so we were late getting away.
Will think twice about re- booking and will probably try other places. A shame because the Queen's has some good things about it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,078 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing