We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queens - Leeds
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quebecs(Leeds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,456)
Filter reviews
3,456 results
Traveller rating
1,564
1,156
454
174
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,564
1,156
454
174
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoq clubtrain stationq hotelsvalet parkingcity squaretravelling by trainjunior suitelovely hotelcentral locationreception staffbreakfast was excellentstandard roomfull englishlovely roomstayed for one nighttea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,956 - 2,961 of 3,456 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The first thing you will notice about the Queens is the location. It is at city centre and is surrounded by some grand architecture and beautiful views. The Queens looks like you are stepping back into history a little bit with its grand old world charm. The staff during our 6 day stay were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The concierge was accommodating to our requests and aided us in search for some great restaurants and sights to see. The rooms although updated still showed some of the old charm. The rooms did lack a few amenities like a good hairdryer and face clothes (not sure why) although they provided us with lots of towels. The back of the Queens backs onto the train station (although you can't hear it) which makes it a great hub if you want to see more of the country. We booked our accommodations through expedia at a great rate about a month ahead of our trip. Overall we would rate this hotel a 3.5 out of five with the charm and hospitality a 4.5.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing Park Row - great view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear thirstyforknowledge

I was absolutely delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel and as you say, perfectly located for visiting the city and enjoying what Leeds has to offer. I was happy to read too that our team looked after you well and were welcoming and friendly.

Please do visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Could not be closer to the railway station and close to some excellent bars and restaurants. Also right next to the shoppiong district (if you really need to).

All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. Thanks to the two lovely ladies who spent time giving me directions in the morning.

Room was fine. Bed seemed a little small (a "double" rather than a "king") and the pillows were a bit on the hard side for my preference.

Did not have dinner at the hotel but (buffet) breakfast was spot on.

Would certainly return and you should give it a go if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Who spends time in their hotel room????
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed 27th to 29th on 8th floor. Exclusive lounge was an added bonus, room excellent very clean. All staff first class especially George. No complaints with breakfast all fresh and hot enough. Next time will probably try eating in the evening in the hotel restaurant, great location.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can well worth the extra
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worksdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Worksdirector

Many thanks for your review of The Queens. I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as a result would be happy to recommend our hotel to others. I will certainly pass on your thoughts too to George who I am sure will be delighted that he along with all the team at The Queens were able to make your stay pleasurable.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We chose the Queens for our Anniversary and wanted something different from the norm, basing our choice on the website and a friend's recommendation. The hotel was ideally situated on the main square close to shops and some lovely bars.
We found Staff to be friendly and helpful, especially those in the basement restaurant, reception and the car valets. We ate in the restaurant and food was very good, the choice of food for breakfast provision was excellent though the self-service gave it a canteen feel. Communal areas with their art deco styling were impressive though on reaching our room on the 5th floor we were very disappointed. There was nothing Art Deco about it, the decor was tired and uninspiring, with chipped tiling around the bath, greying enamel and an extensive mould under the rim of the loo that could be clearly seen when seated in the bath. The TV remote didnt work and tea and coffee making facilities were poor, with only four small cartons of milk and one individual pack of two biscuits. We had expected those little touches of comfort and luxury that we have come to expect from previous 4 star hotels we have stayed in, such as fluffy robes and slippers, pleasant decor, quality fixtures and bed linen and mini bar facilities - we felt that the room itself let the hotel down and was more on a par with a Holiday Inn or Travel Lodge.
As we were checking out the staff enquired about the stay and were most apologetic about our experience, explaining that most of the rooms have been redecorated and upgraded and that our room unfortunately was most likely on a floor that had yet to be done. It seemed we were just unlucky when rooms were allocated!
Our issues were taken on board by the hotel management and they have recently written to us offering a complimentary upgrade should we choose to stay again. We thought this was a nice gesture and have yet to decide whether to take this up.
Leeds is a great place to visit and there are lots of plusses about the Queens. I would advise anyone thinking of booking to ask questions beforehand about those aspects of staying in a hotel that are important to them.

Room Tip: Ask beforehand about the features/facilities you would expect to have in your room so you arent disappointed as we were. This hotel is a popular venue for stag and hen weekends - while we weren't disturbed at night a fellow guest commented that they had been. Ask for a room away from these groups. Request a room that has been refurbished/updated
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veiga2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Veiga2001

Further to our recent correspondence I would like to once again re-iterate that the hotel thanks you for your observations and takes them very seriously and welcomes all feedback. As it is through our guests commentary which allows us to rectify any issues we were previously unaware of.

As stated, I do hope to be able to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here a few times now on business. Rooms are always good and very stylish. The staff are attentive and the hotel has a decent restaurant in the basement. The room facing City Square have triple glazing and the street noise doesn't get through. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear MonkeyHartlepool

First of all many thanks for returning to our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased with your comments as it demonstrates that we are able to offer you comfort, peace and quiet and good old fashioned style. I do hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews