We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire Weekend break”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After staying in one of theQ Hotels earlier this year, we decided to try the Queens. Once we had negotiated our way round the City centre road we arrived and pulled into the slip road, instantly the Concierge was there to unload the car & take it to the secure underground car park. At £11.95 per night at weekends this represents value for money compared with other longstay car parks in the area.

Every member of staff greeted us with a smile & nothing too much trouble. The room we had was compact and functional, the breakfast experience was delightful, staff constantly topping up the trays with fine hot food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear ijplatt

Many thanks for your review of The Queens. I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as a result would be happy to recommend our hotel to others. We very much hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,803 - 2,809 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a great one night stay at the Queens. I booked a special 'shopping' break through the Q Hotels website which included a free glass of champagne and £30 of high street vouchers. A perfect deal for my Mum and I and the start of our Christmas shopping.I can't fault the hotel, we were upgraded to a superior twin, and the service was fantastic. Special mention to the two concierge who helped with our numerous bags and gave us lots of advice. We look forward to returning for a similar break next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear rachelmh

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your shopping break at the hotel and have been able to use our excellent location as a base for visiting the city and taking the opportunity to enjoy some really good retail therapy. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our Concierge team too, they will be a great source of motivation to them.

Do visit us again soon, after all, the 'Sales' are just around the corner.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

a really nice hotel with a touch of class by having a concierge, lovely breakfast, especially the porridge, ideal location for the train station and all the city has to offer, nice walk along leeds to liverpool canal, really liked the armouries and city museum all within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for high floor, as city traffic flows all night and the noise would be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear ann c

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed here for 1 night and got a free upgrade to a suite so impressed straight away!
Loved the valet parking and felt very special!
For value for money cant go wrong and the location is excellant

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear fieldhouse

Many thanks for your kind review of our hotel, I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and are happy to share this with the wider travelling community. We do hope to welcome you back as our guest very soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The purpose for the visit to the hotel was to stay overnight accompanying my partner on a business trip. Loved the central Leeds location and less than 5 minute walk from the train station.

The hotel has the right balance between old and new. I loved the old fashioned style lifts and the grand entrance to the hotel. It certainly felt like I was stepping back in time but then the balance of modern decor in the bedrooms brought the hotel to the present. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a modern hotel but wants the charms of the grand hotel which have been carefully and tastefully preserved.

Fantastic service from all members of staff. Particularly loved the concierge gentleman who I particular felt welcomed by. The weather was raining heavily and the concierge provided an umbrella so that I would not get wet whilst walking to the restaurant my partner and I was heading to. The gentleman was very customer service focused and he was really friendly.

No complaints as to the cleanliness of the rooms, hotel or bathroom. Would most certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upopmybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear upopmybubble

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Queens. I am pleased you had a wonderful experience at our hotel where we aim and work hard to deliver a personal level of service and positive comments, such as yours, are a great motivator for the team and look forward to seen you again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The first thing you will notice about the Queens is the location. It is at city centre and is surrounded by some grand architecture and beautiful views. The Queens looks like you are stepping back into history a little bit with its grand old world charm. The staff during our 6 day stay were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The concierge was accommodating to our requests and aided us in search for some great restaurants and sights to see. The rooms although updated still showed some of the old charm. The rooms did lack a few amenities like a good hairdryer and face clothes (not sure why) although they provided us with lots of towels. The back of the Queens backs onto the train station (although you can't hear it) which makes it a great hub if you want to see more of the country. We booked our accommodations through expedia at a great rate about a month ahead of our trip. Overall we would rate this hotel a 3.5 out of five with the charm and hospitality a 4.5.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing Park Row - great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear thirstyforknowledge

I was absolutely delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel and as you say, perfectly located for visiting the city and enjoying what Leeds has to offer. I was happy to read too that our team looked after you well and were welcoming and friendly.

Please do visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Could not be closer to the railway station and close to some excellent bars and restaurants. Also right next to the shoppiong district (if you really need to).

All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. Thanks to the two lovely ladies who spent time giving me directions in the morning.

Room was fine. Bed seemed a little small (a "double" rather than a "king") and the pillows were a bit on the hard side for my preference.

Did not have dinner at the hotel but (buffet) breakfast was spot on.

Would certainly return and you should give it a go if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Who spends time in their hotel room????
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,104 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing