We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Conveniently situated - just around the corner from the train station and within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast looked nice although I didn't taste it - I settled for porridge which was very nice. Hotel staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review of The Queens! The team at the Hotel works hard to ensure all of our guests have a great stay and I am very pleased you have acknowledged all of their efforts. Positive feedback is such a great source of motivation – thank you!

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    1,072
    411
    158
    92
See reviews for
300
1,195
182
889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Excellent location especially when travelling by train as its about 2 mins walk from train station. Booked a superior room and it was beautiful, fridge, hairdryer and iron and ironing board in room. Nice decor and comfy bed, no noise in hotel even though it was a Saturday night. Went down to breakfast at 8.30am no queues or problem getting a table, good breakfast with plenty of choice. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_romany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review of The Queens! Our iconic Hotel has a great location and accessibility that can't get much better. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that, following your experience, would happily recommend The Queens to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Ideally located next to the train station and centre of leeds. A very impressive building and walking inside is like going back to the 30's with its art deco interior. The reception area and lift especially is very cool as is the bar/lounge & fantastic cocktails too! Rooms nice only problem was our shower curtain was a tad mouldy and was stinking the room out a wee bit and this is only why we give 4 stars not 5. We never ate here as lots of fine local restaurants other side of square inc a great fish place. Breakfast perfectly fine for a buffet! Look forward to going back!

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for your review of The Queens. I am delighted our iconic Hotel provided an enjoyable experience and am pleased you appreciated the art deco style. I have noted your comment with regards to housekeeping and can assure you that this will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed on tope floor "Q club "
Great rooms and service
Rooms finnish fantastic had a relaxing stay in a city centre
Breakfast was excellent even thoigh it was busy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
I am thrilled with your review and particularly like the caption! I am naturally pleased you have enjoyed our fantastic QClub at Leeds most iconic Hotel. Life at the top indeed can't get much better than this. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After staying in one of theQ Hotels earlier this year, we decided to try the Queens. Once we had negotiated our way round the City centre road we arrived and pulled into the slip road, instantly the Concierge was there to unload the car & take it to the secure underground car park. At £11.95 per night at weekends this represents value for money compared with other longstay car parks in the area.

Every member of staff greeted us with a smile & nothing too much trouble. The room we had was compact and functional, the breakfast experience was delightful, staff constantly topping up the trays with fine hot food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear ijplatt

Many thanks for your review of The Queens. I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as a result would be happy to recommend our hotel to others. We very much hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a great one night stay at the Queens. I booked a special 'shopping' break through the Q Hotels website which included a free glass of champagne and £30 of high street vouchers. A perfect deal for my Mum and I and the start of our Christmas shopping.I can't fault the hotel, we were upgraded to a superior twin, and the service was fantastic. Special mention to the two concierge who helped with our numerous bags and gave us lots of advice. We look forward to returning for a similar break next year.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear rachelmh

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your shopping break at the hotel and have been able to use our excellent location as a base for visiting the city and taking the opportunity to enjoy some really good retail therapy. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our Concierge team too, they will be a great source of motivation to them.

Do visit us again soon, after all, the 'Sales' are just around the corner.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morpeth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

a really nice hotel with a touch of class by having a concierge, lovely breakfast, especially the porridge, ideal location for the train station and all the city has to offer, nice walk along leeds to liverpool canal, really liked the armouries and city museum all within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for high floor, as city traffic flows all night and the noise would be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear ann c

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing