We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location, a mere 40m from the train station, and straddling the central shopping district of Leeds, is unparalleled. The staff are industrious and friendly. The room I found to be a tad on the small side, but it was immaculate and quiet. I paid £132 at fairly short notice, for a Saturday night, which I think is good value. Breakfast was also very good. Nothing held back, nice English breakfast with fruits and yoghurt, cereal, bread and pastries etc. If you want an omelet they will make one for you, fresh. All you could want really. Leeds is a lovely city, and this hotel is well placed to enhance your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the train station, towards the old post office. This can be done when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaarge1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Gaarge1984

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your thoughts, I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team as I am sure they will find them as a great source of motivation. Do visit our wonderful city again.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    1,078
    417
    158
    95
See reviews for
302
1,208
183
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards on Sea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was very impressed with this place...close to station, good value, lovely art deco single room, attentive warm staff. Room service is only £3.50...free wi-fi, food 24 hours.

The only minus is the food. I ordered a tagliatelle with asparagus and peas etc. When it arrived there was no asparagus (I especially wanted the asparagus) as the kitchen had run out of asparagus...however I had to discover this for myself. It was taken away, and I ordered a puy lentil dish with haloumi. When that arrived there was no haloumi! The waiter was very apologetic. I got a free drink on the house. When I went to pay they did not charge me for my initial drink either.

So I would definately go back here, but I do wonder about the kitchen staff. However, saying that the breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Liz C

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, delighted that on the whole you had a very enjoyable stay. Thank you however for your feedback with regard to your dining experience; I would like to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service and will certainly address your comments with our executive chef.

However I was pleased to read that the problems you encountered were dealt with efficiently and hope to have the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel and welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed 1 night at the queens with my daughter in November for her 14th birthday. We arrived on the train, literally walked out if the station turned right and then right again into the hotel foyer, checked in, no problems, very helpful staff. Our plan was to go shopping the next day and so I checked that I would be able to leave luggage past our check out time to which the response was "of course, and if you'd like to bring shopping back throughout the day that would be fine too."
This was pretty much the tone of every member of staff through the night/day we were with them. I'm honestly not used to saying "the staff made the hotel" in Britain, but they really did!
The hotel itself was clean and well loved if a little tired but well worth it given its location and price. We stayed in a standard double and had a lovely view out onto the front of the building onto the square in front of the hotel. The bedding was crisp and clean, bathroom fully stocked with all you'd need, the towels were lovely big and fluffy, tv worked easily, plenty of storage for longer stays than ours.
We went out in the evening to a restaurant (Bibis) and asked for directions at the reception where the receptionist went out of her way to be sure we were happy we knew where we were going.
Had a good nights sleep, nice shower and went down to breakfast .
Breakfast is served in the "Queens Grill". We were welcomed and seated by another lovely member of staff, we were asked what we'd like to drink (tea, coffee) and then shown where the various options for breakfast were. There was everything you'd expect to find at breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, toast, full English, cheeses, cold meat, juices etc).
We ate all we wanted and relaxed to let it settle all the while the staff were busy clearing your used plates, checking you had what you needed but not in an over bearing way.
We checked out which was very easy then spoke to the concierge about leaving our luggage which again was very easy and a pleasant experience. We did bring back 4 bags of shopping to leave in addition through the day, all of which was good naturedly received! We collected it at the end and the concierge showed us a quick way to the station through the hotel and off we went!
Fab staff!! Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWestmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear DWestmoreland

Thank you for your feedback; absolutely thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and a very happy 14th birthday to your daughter.

Delighted you enjoyed our central location and had time to do a bit of shopping, Trinity is a treat isn’t it, you’ll have to pop back for the January sales!

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay at The Queens Hotel. Staff very friendly and efficient, always happy to help.
Our room was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was rather small. Very good value for money, providing a lovely, fresh and varied breakfast. For a brilliant shopping weekend and a fantastic concert to boot, this hotel is well located to provide a prefect base to accommodate all your needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear michelle m

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Despite struggling around the ring road in Leeds due to poor signposting eventually got parked at the station car park (8pm-2pm next day £10, so cheaper than hotel parking). A very short walk of around 200 meters bought us to The Queens. First impressions were it looked a little drab and disappointing until you really looked at this beautiful hotel. So many original Art Deco features and the attention to detail makes this a little special. Rooms were more than adequate with the Art Deco theme continuing, view of the city square and it's huge Christmas tree was gorgeous, and the breakfast had everything you could want to see. But the staff were really lovely and went out of their way with really friendly help with the bonus of being able to keep our room till midday without extra charge, would definitely go back

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at weekends as there seemed to be lots of functions on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Heather G

Firstly, apologies for our one way system in Leeds, it can be a little confusing but glad you arrived safely in the end. Please thought that once you arrived you very much enjoyed your stay and your Art Deco surroundings and of course the City Square Christmas tree, it’s lovely isn’t it?

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

An otherwise very good rating must be reduced to an average due to the poor food that was provided at the hotel. The evening meal of battered fish looked impressive but was mainly just a large piece of batter. The breakfast the next morning was also poor for the price of £15.00.
The other negatives included only one working lift that meant you had to wait quite a while and that the staff seemed confused if the cost of our breakfast was included in the price of our stay.

The positives are the very friendly staff, particularly those serving the food, just a shame the food did not meet that standard. Rooms were very clean, a good size and had everything you could need. Plus the showers are powerful and a good height.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, right in the heart of Leeds and beside the station, with a taxi rank outside the front door. The style of the hotel is also very attractive and original - this is much better than staying in one of the major chain hotels were everything is the same.

I would stay here again and would advise others to do so - I would also suggest that if you do, you find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear McKitties

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I can only apologise at this late stage for the disappointing dining experience; I will certainly address your comments with our executive chef and thank you for highlighting your concerns. I am sorry too that you had difficulty with the lifts, you are correct on the day you mentioned we did experience a technical problem however can assure you that this has now been rectified.

Please be assured that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service and would hope that we have an opportunity of restoring your faith some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here with my sister for two nights and had a lovely time. We were in Leeds for a shopping trip and the hotel is very central to both shops and restaurants. The hotel is lovely inside with lots of nice features & the rooms more than adequate and even though our room was on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel we both slept extremely well. The heating wasn't working in the room but a call to reception & an oil filled radiator was delivered within 10 minutes which kept the room at just the right temperature. We had the afternoon tea when we arrived which was delicious but our tea & coffee were only lukewarm but when one of the staff came to see if we were ok & we mentioned it they couldn't have been more apologetic & offered us another straightaway but we already got a couple of glasses of wine from the bar so didn't want another hot drink. He apologised again & then came back 2 minutes later and offered us a glass of cava each which was a very nice touch. All the staff were brilliant at this hotel and all went out of their way to help whenever they could. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again when in Leeds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choosywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear choosywoman

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here and delighted that you had a lovely stay and had time for a spot of shopping and Afternoon Tea, what a treat. I was so pleased that the team looked after you both and very much look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,989 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing