We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“absolutely fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I usually stay in the Marriott but thought my parents would prefer Queens as it has a more traditional feel to it, especially the bar. They agreed and didn't really like the Marriott bar.
It was all good - the concierge and reception were v helpful - I printed off my boarding cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydays332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear blobby33

Thank you for posting your review, I was very pleased to read that your parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay and will certainly pass on your kind words to the team.

I do hope they will visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    1,049
    409
    157
    90
See reviews for
295
1,169
178
875
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

You would not class this hotel as Modern but what it does have is a nice blend between old and new.
The decor in the main part of the hotel and bars is charming. The bedrooms are well furnished, large , clean with a modern feel .
But what you do get at this hotel is First Class service from the moment you arrive with the valet parking and excellent reception staff.
The food is very good and is again matched by the friendly and attentive staff.
I stayed here for four days on buisness and would recommend it to anyone staying on business or leisure as its right in the centre of Leeds

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear NigelMedia

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts and recommendations with the wider travelling community. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

had a 2 night stay in superior room, heating set at 18c was far to cold set the thermo but didn't get warmer reported and was told it would be fixed, it was fixed not even on 2nd day so a cold room. no wifi reported this again told it would be fixed, not fixed again, so no wifi. very draughty from secondary double glazing rattling all night, had to battle through dozens of smokers blocking the enhance to get in the hotel the amount of tabs on the floor was disgusting. breakfast was a shambles. had to queue like at a pizza hut for 15 mins before we got seated, we were told that because everyone came down late that morning there was a problem., the dining room was half empty yet we were not allowed to go to a table. then the beans ran out the eggs ran out, the hash browns ran out, asked for tea, was 20 mins still not come the waitress forgot us., very few staff in dining room., big queue still waiting to be seated after we got a table. an utter shambles.
we had a front room overlooking the square very noisy well into the early hours with traffic noise.
so all in all a pretty poor stay for my £200. at this price i expected better as this was our once a year visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tb1967T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tb1967T

I am so sorry that you had a very disappointing stay with us recently and at this stage can only offer you my sincere apologies and assurances that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service. I would like you to contact me personally when next staying in Leeds and I will certainly do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

just got home from my stay at the queens . Great hotel lovely helpful staff and wow what a bed queen size and the best ive ever slept in it was so cozy . The only negative thing was we had to vacate the room for about 45 mins when fire alarm went off and fire brigade came but all staff very helpful . Ive booked again already plenty to do in leeds its great place

Room Tip: room 536 great bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear anthony t

Thank you for posting your review, delighted that you had a very comfortable stay with us, apologies that you were disturbed slightly.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauriac, France
Level Contributor
361 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lovely old fashion style and art deco decoration. Proper concierge and reception area with helpful people. The bedroom was good and quite quiet despite being city centre. The staff were very helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel (Gary Linaker was also having breakfast there!). Very central fro the shops, rail station etc. We got a superb deal on booking.com - 70 quid instead of 200 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear NickinCantal

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and Art Deco surroundings. Breakfasting with the stars too!

Do visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

First the good bits, this is an old style grand hotel with an Art Deco interior, the reception and concierge staff make you welcome.The location is very central and part of the railway station complex (with no noise whatsoever from the station). The free Wi-Fi worked well. I had a large room on the 7th floor with a separate sitting room. The décor was a little tired but the room represented good value for money and this is where the review slides into the major negative.
The room was way too hot, it was ok when I checked in, but by the time I had gone out for dinner and got ready for bed it must have been over 30C. There were signs on the secondary double glazed warning not open the windows. The air conditioning controls had no effect and so I spent a not very restful night sleeping on top of the bed. Breakfast was of a reasonable standard and the dining room way cooler than my bedroom. When I check out I handed in a maintenance feed back form I was told that the heat level for the particular group of bedrooms was set centrally. Mostly I stay in hotels for business trips and having had a lousy nights sleep at this hotel it will be a while before I risk the Queens Hotel in Leeds

Room Tip: My first tip might be to try another hotel but assuming that my experience was not typical I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Bill089

Thank you for posting your comprehensive and constructive review of your stay. I was pleased that on the whol you had an enjoyable time with us however I must apologise for the frustrations caused with the A/C system in your room. Please be assured that every effort is being made to rectify the situation and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith and welcoming you back to the hotel some time in the future.

Once again, many apologies

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel. Positioned in Leeds city centre a perfect base to explore the nightlife and shopping capital of the north.
Our room was clean and comfortable. All the staff in the hotel were professional and friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gibsonsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear gibsonsheila

Thank you for posting your review and for recommending The Queens to the wider travelling community. I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing