We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Art Deco Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Art Deco Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in several Q Hotels, each with their own style, The Queens is certainly unique. The Art Deco decoration, fixtures and fittings give you a sense of being in an Agatha Christie film with Poirot.

We stayed in a good sized room on the second floor which was both clean and comfortable and had one of the largest beds I think I have ever slept in!

The hotel is ideally placed to be able to walk (in a matter of minutes) to the shops, bars and city attractions. There is a tourist information centre just behind the hotel (in the station) which is useful for local travel information and local maps. There is plenty to do and see in Leeds.

Breakfast was very pleasant and providing a wide range of hot and cold food in a buffet style. Our only thought was that the bar area wasn't as relaxed as at other Q Hotel and the drinks seemed very expensive (I do realise that it is a city hotel but nonetheless).

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we booked to the moment we left. The car parking service is a must for staying in the city.

All in all a very pleasant stay so thank you to all at The Queens.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear MRB01

Delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us recently and were able to take the opportunity to enjoy our excellent location for exploring the city. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team who I am sure will see them as a great source of motivation.

I do hope you have the opportunity of staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    1,032
    406
    151
    88
See reviews for
291
1,146
177
859
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend on a one night city break visiting leeds for the first time. The first thing I can say about this hotel is the fantastic location, centre to the nightlife and buzz of the city we were impressed from arrival. The enterance hall is very grand and our car was parked almost imediatly by the concierge desk for a reasonable charge.

On check in despite being 3pm our room was not ready and we were told that they would check on the room and that it would be around 20 minutes. Not in any hurry we left our luggage and had a drink in the queens bar lounge where we experianced great service. The lady julie who checked us in however did tell us that she would arrange our luggage to be taken to the room, and that the keys would be brought round to us in the bar lounge: neither of these things happened, not a big problem but a slight let down on behalf of the receptionist and maybe miscomunication with the concierge desk.

The room itself we could not fault, had a great nights sleep. Cannot comment on the food as we didnt eat here but check out the Sunday morning was good, a special mention to Andrew who worked on the concierge desk who was extreemly helpful to us both with luggage, directions, providing a map and showing us to the car. Overall we both enjoyed our stay here and would recomend but would expect improvements in the front desk area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear MissViki

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very pleased that you were able to use our excellent location to explore the City. I was sorry to learn that you did not receive our usual standard of service and will certainly address your comments with our Front Of House Manager.

I do hope you have the opportunity of visiting us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Queens hotel for two nights for Valentines .The room was brilliant, cosy and very clean with a separate sitting area and a fridge.
The breakfast was excellent, fruit ,cereals, pastries, and cooked .
The main thing that stood out for us , the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
We have not stayed here before, but would definitely go back, and would recommend it

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear AngelinaHolmfirth

Many thanks for allowing us to help celebrate such a romantic weekend, I was so pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and will certainly pass on you kind thoughts to the team.

I hope to have the opportuity of welcoming you both back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding reception. Nothing was too much trouble and from entering the hotel, throughout the whole stay and during the actual wedding party every single member of staff could not have worked harder. I would particularly like to mention the two concierge's ANDY and DAVID who looked after me and made my stay so much easier. The whole Event Organising Team for their dedication to detail, professional and pleasant manor, the reception staff who greet you, at any time with a smile and really are there to help and even the cleaner on floor 7 who went out of her way to make sure I had everything I needed. I would HIGHLY recommend a stay here and certainly if you are planning a function, consider this a venue - you will NOT be dissappointed! As a professional events planner myself I was most impressed! WELL DONE to each and every one of you!

Room Tip: I do not think there are any 'bad' rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel8976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Hazel8976

I was thrilled to read you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay for such a joyous occasion. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team and in particular both David and Andy as I am sure they will love to hear that their hard work and dedication was appreciated.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have no problem with the hotel but unfortunately we did not get a great night sleep as the air conditioning was broken. When we entered the room it felt like we were a abroad with 30 degree temperatures. In actual fact it was 2 degrees outside. The windows stated a message 'do not open'. So we could not cool the room down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear ChrisD D

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan. I will certainly address the comments made with our maintenance team in order to ensure this problems you encountered are rectified.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of quality and would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this Great hotel. Fantastic location, staff very friendly and helpful! We arrived early to make the most of the day, our car was parked and we was registered for our room, bags were taken care of and we could then go off and enjoy our day, arriving back later to find our room was ready and our bags had already been taken up and put in our room. Staff couldn't do enough even tho it was a busy Saturday and valentines weekend. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Vickyle83

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Queens, delighted that once again you had a wonderful time. Really looking forward to welcoming you back once again.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Queens for one night and from the very outset it was a pleasure. Our flight arrived at 9 in the morning and when we got to the hotel we assumed we would have to wait till 3 to check in but they had seen our booking comment saying we were arriving early and our room was ready when we got there (with a complimentary upgrade to a superior room). All the staff were so friendly and efficient ( in particular the woman who checked us in and out) they couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spotless, the beds were comfy and the view was great. Would definitely reccomend to others and will 100% be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Just show up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Keith91

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was so pleased to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay from start to finish. Delighted too that the team were friendly and efficient and will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#7 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing