We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable city centre hotel”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here whilst on business recently.After some problems with my room,which were quickly addressed.( upgrade offered but declined as it was too much trouble to repack and move) everything was fine.The Staff were courteous and attentive and the food was good.I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloncek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Sloncek

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan initially however pleased that we were able to rectify the problem. I do hope you have a chance to stay with us again and very much look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have just come back from a two night stay at The Queens and I could not fault it. The staff throughout the hotel could not do enough and the whole experience was lovely. Thank you to all who made it a very memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Room 807 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillybob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear tillybob2

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and for sharing your thoughts and experiences with the wider travelling community. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at The Queens and will certainly pass on your kind words to the team.

I do hope you have chance to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A trip to the City Varieties necessitated a hotel in Leeds and the Queens came up with the best deal. Its very close to the station and very handy for the city centre. The check in was excellent with Abbey proving a very efficient receptionist combined withy knowledge of what's on in Leeds. The hotel retains most of its art deco styling and our room was more than adequate. Breakfast was the usual buffet style with all the required ingredients, but the menu offered extras of cooked to order poached and boiled eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and a champagne breakfast. The downside was that the poached eggs arrived look warm and the toast cool, but both cooked perfectly. We had drinks in the bar and paid for the privilege as my cask beer was expensive at £4.50 per pint and a basic rose wine at £23.95 is way over the top, but the beer was in excellent condition and you get to consume it in the art deco surroundings. Would I stay here again, yes if the price was right.

Room Tip: If you do order the poached eggs for breakfast, keep reminding the waiting staff that you have done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Malcybabe

Thank you for your lovely review, I was very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us here at The Queens. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Abbey as I am sure she will see them as a great source of motivation. Thank you too for your feedback regarding breakfast, I will discuss the issue raised with our executive chef.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break in Leeds. Had a fantastic time and the hotel was fabulous. From the minute we arrived and they whisked the car away, the service was excellent. All the staff where very friendly. The room was lovely, spacious and clean and the breakfast was excellent.
Special thank you to the bar staff for kindly making me hot water and lemon drinks for my sore throat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magwillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Magwillz

Thank you for your recent review, we were very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This beautiful Art Deco hotel deserves all the positive comments it has received on TripAdvisor. Centrally located for a weekend break. It's fantastic location next to the train station allows for that instant stretching and relaxation after a long train journey. I will be going back . Thank you to the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear BrightonFlorence

Thank you for your lovely review, I was thrilled to read you had a wonderful stay with us recently and very much hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Me and my partner came to visit Leeds for few nights and the Queens was recommended to us by a close friend. Upon check in we were excited to here we had been complimentary upgraded to the Qclub floor.
The receptionists even went out of his way to take us up to the room and show us the benefits of staying up there. The room was very nicely decorated and very spacious could not fault it!
The location is great right next to the Trinity Center which was a big wow factor for us.
Finally a big thanks to all the staff at the queens who are all fantastic, very polite and friendly this really made it a special occasion for us especially John who really looked after us and recommended some very nice restaurants and bars. Well done Queens.

Room Tip: Qclub floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariaseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear mariaseddon

Thank you for posting your review, I was thrilled to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and an upgrade to QClub too; what a treat.

I do hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon, we can't obviously guarantee the same room though!

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We cannot thank The Queens Hotel enough for an excellent stress free weekend break, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The Art Deco features are what originally drew us to the hotel and are well worth a look if you like the period but a bonus was the excellent service provided by the very helpful and cheerful staff.
The only problem we encountered was when the heating/air conditioning broke in our room on the first night of our 2 night stay. We informed the reception staff who immediately upgraded us to a QClub executive room at no additional cost. The extra luxuries in the QClub would have been worth the extra charge but getting it for no additional charge was great.
I have seen other reviews mention that the restaurant is not always open but to be honest, sitting in the bar area for a lovely meal really isn't a problem and is understandable plus a better atmosphere when the restaurant is very quiet.
So, a big thank you for making the Anniversary special and a special thanks to the reception staff who sorted us out on the Saturday night with no fuss.

Room Tip: Think about the QClub if it's a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear lynda d

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay and thank you for choosing the hotel to help celebrate such a momentous occasion, I was thoroughly delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Pleased that you enjoyed your Art Deco surroundings and found the team to be helpful and cheerful, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them as I am sure they will find them a great source of motivation.

I will instruct the maintenance team to investigate the issues with the AC and thank you for bringing it to our attention, pleased that we were able to offer you some recompense for the inconvenience however.

I do hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Kindest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,105 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £72 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing