We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for a buzzing night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location for a buzzing night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel last weekend with a few friends. The hotel is in an excellent location with fantastic bars, restaurants and shopping literally on the doorstep. We found the hotel staff to be very warm and friendly. "Typical Yorkshire folk". The hotel was clean but a little pricey. Having said that I would definately recommend a stay here and will return again . The Fibre bar is a short walk away and worth a visit if you like lively bars. A cocktail in "The Alchemist" is a must have . We had a lovely meal in " The Botanist" which was very nice with excellent service and presentation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear donnyken

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was thrilled to read that you had a wonderul stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed our superb location to Leeds nightlife and all what it has to offer.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    1,049
    409
    157
    90
See reviews for
295
1,169
178
875
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mamhead
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

A quiet, comfortable large room was just what I needed having arrived late on the train from Exeter. I received a very friendly greeting, good service and can recommend the hotel for its convenience. The decor is a mimic Art Deco/1930s style which is fine but not bright. The room would have benefited from more overhead lights but this is often the case in hotels. The bed was comfortable and the desk reasonable size for work. If TV is of interest the system was antiquated and not linked into any smart networks - not an issue for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Derar Tanzey K

I was very pleased to read that we were able to offer you a very comfortable respite from your busy day and would hope your have the opportunity to stay with us again some time.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The Queens Hotel in Leeds is a pleasant enough hotel. The staff in particular are very friendly, polite and helpful.

It does feel like the hotel has slightly passed its prime though. The room was clean and well equipped with an iron and ironing board, a decent TV and tea / coffee facilities. However the bathroom felt tired.

Breakfast was alright with a good selection of food. Some if the hot food was a bit congealed but, in fairness, it wasn't very busy and turnover of good would have been slow. I did also observe staff changing food reasonably regularly.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for a business trip or city stopover.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BANL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear BANL

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. I will certainly look into the comments made and thank you again for highlighting the problems encountered.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the Queens Hotel over the weekend and we had a brilliant time, the hotel is in a great location especially if you are travelling by train and from the moment we arrived the staff could not be more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the customer service was excellent. I will be staying there again, soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear MSand72

Thank you for taking the time to post your reivew, I was extremely pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team.

I do hope you have the opportunity of staying with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Location great for everything, reception and concierge staff were very polite and attentive. Breakfast was of reasonable quality with comprehensive selection of foods and cereals.
The bar was a shambles. Head barman wore trousers three inches too long and that set the scene well. Staff had no idea what they were doing with orders constantly questioned or forgotton all together. Foul mouthed patrons were simply ignored, destroying the environment for all.
Had to follow up with reception to get bags moved to room and although addressed quickly once brought to their attention they had to be chased. Hairs in bath and some nasty stains on bedding were experienced by my daughter (seperate room). So some highs, but overall disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Denis M

Thank you for posting your constructive review, I was sorry that not everything went according to plan and would hope to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service. I will certainly address the comments made in relation to your room and the Queens Bar with the relevant heads of department who I am sure will investigate the issues raised with their teams and thank you very much for bringing it to my attention.

I was please to read however that you found our location perfect for your requirements and that our concierge team were very polite and attentive.

I do hope that this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel and would very much welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in The Queens.

Yours sincerely


Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great stay, the staff made this stay better- excellent customer service. Loved the valet parking - the concierge staff were very helpful and friendly. Location great for being near the shops!!!! Also walking distance to First direct arena. Great for locality to bars and places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear juliecol1

Thank you for your review, I was very pleased to read you had a wonderful stay with us and will certainly share your thoughts with the team.

I do hope we have the pleasure of your company some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a superior room for my husband's birthday, I emailed the manager earlier to confirm the booking and to mention that I would like our stay to be a mini honeymoon and if they were able to make it a little more special for us. David pulled out all stops, we were upgraded to a stunning suite on the top floor with our own roof terrace, the room was covered in rose petals and we were invited for complimentary drinks on top of all that. Besides the special treatement everything about the hotel was just stunning and spotlessly clean, we slept like babies in the amazing super comfy bed and were very sad to leave. We will always remember our stay and have the best memories, thank you very much - Mr and Mrs Khennas

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Beata K

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your plush surroundings and hope that we have the pleasure of your company some time in the future.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing