We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely art deco hotel”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely art deco hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed last night, next door to the train station, a warm friendly welcome by the consierge and front counter staff. First time in this proper hoel, room was very nice, would stop here again. It is very close to the main shopping centre and only 5/6 minutes walk to our favourite Italian, Bibis.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building on the 7th floor, we had a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear JaguarJill

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very pleased to read that you found our excellent central location perfect for exploring the City. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regarsd

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    1,078
    417
    158
    95
See reviews for
302
1,208
183
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I got to the hotel early but my room was ready
My room was clean and bathroom also very clean
I gave the hotel 4 stars because I found the bed bit to hard for me
I found all the staff very nice and helpful
If you are going to Leeds I can recommend this hotel but bare in mind the mattress is very firm

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teadrinkergooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear teadrinkergooner

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. Delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel from the 18th -20th April for my boyfriends birthday, and when we checked in and we told them it was his birthday they upgraded him to a superior room which was very nice. We were then unpacking and a gentleman brought him a birthday card from the hotel which was a very nice touch. The breakfasts were very nice and the location of the hotel was great. Very friendly and helpful staff when we checked out kept our bags safe until we caught the train. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 224 and looked out over the square which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Tracy2565

Firstly, thank you for choosing The Queens to help celebrate your boyfriend's birthday, delighted that the team were able to make your stay extra special and very much hope to be able to welcome you back some time soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Breakfast was very good with prompt service, dinner wasn't bad either, albeit the prix fixe menu is pretty short. Only one small gripe: the wine list is 'ambitiously' priced - starting at around £17 for wine that would be £6.50 in a supermarket. Whilst one could write this off as standard restaurant practice, we went to an excellent restauarant in the city where wine was at least 25% cheaper.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Beatrice D

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was very pleased that on the whole you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here in March for one night, room was very nice, clean and impressive bathroom.
Good location, right next to the train station but didn't hear any noise from here.
Would stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Rachel K

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel perfectly located for exploring the city. I do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed for two nights over a weekend. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and the gentleman who parked our car extremely helpful! Our room was nice with a great bathroom however it was much smaller than some of the other rooms we have stayed in on q club floor - disappointing as our stay was for two nights.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very attentive. We would return as long as we weren't given a small room again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear SamanthaScunthorpe

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the wider travelling community and very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I do hope you have chance to visit us soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum as her mothers day trip away to see the Yorkshire moors, after a fantastic but tiring day exploring the north Yorkshire moors it was lovely to get back to the Queens hotel. The beds were exceptionally soft and comfortable with ample pillows to make ourselves at home. Shower and bathroom facilities were lovely and the room of exceptional size for a standard twin. The only down point for myself was that the television could not change input settings and hence i was not able to plug in my iPad in order to watch a movie, however this is such a minor grievance its hardly notable. Other than that the room was very well cleaned and the staff were amazingly helpful offering their assistance at every turn. The ability to leave our bags with the concierge for free also helped a lot as to did the proximity of Leeds railway station.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Peter S

Firstly, thank you for choosing The Queens to help celebrate Mother's Day, very pleased to read that you both had a lovley stay with us. I do hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,989 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing