We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queens - Leeds
Nearby Hotels
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,492)
Filter reviews
3,492 results
Traveller rating
1,579
1,171
458
175
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,579
1,171
458
175
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoq clubtrain stationq hotelsvalet parkingcity squaretravelling by trainjunior suitelovely hotelcentral locationreception staffbreakfast was excellentstandard roomfull englishlovely roomstayed for one nighttea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
1,975 - 1,980 of 3,492 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Leeds - the reception staff and the porters are absolutely excellent - so kind, helpful and efficient. We stayed in a very comfortable and immaculately clean room with a view over the square and felt really a part of things. The location is perfect and many great restaurants are close by - we ate in Loch Fyne which was opposite.
Breakfast in the hotel was very good - We had omelettes made to order as well as plenty of fruit! Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the square.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth C

Thank you for once again for choosing to stay with us and delighted that once again you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and were able to use our superb location for exploring the city.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a day and night in Leeds with my husband, we have stayed in quite a few hotels in Leeds, but got a good deal on the Queens, room very good and clean. The hotel is situated next the railway station, excellent location. Breakfast poor for £15.00 the bacon was tasteless, and the eggs had been stood for ages, so of course were hard. Service was excellent though lovely lady in the dinning room, all the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear cazzy60

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was delighted to read that on the whole you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us recently. I will certainly address your comments with our Head Chef and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I do hope you have the opportunity of visiting us again soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the queens for 1 night at Easter bank holiday. Hotel looked very worn and should not have 4 star status. we started off in a room on the 4th floor and the air con was broken, we were moved to another room on the 4th floor and the air con in that room was also broken. we were then told that the whole of the 4th floor was affected and moved to a superior room on the 5th floor where the air con panel at least seemed to be working but we realised when the room wasn't getting any warmer and got a chair to put our hand in front of the panel that it was blowing out cold air- so at this point we could not be bothered to move again and simply turned the whole thing off. very noisy hotel (not from outside noise, but from within the hotel) due to the room doors constantly banging shut. the only saving grace about this hotel is it's central location and the fantastic staff - special mention to Laura on reception and david the concierge who was so friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear goldyb

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and would hope to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality. I will certainly address the comments raised with our onsite maintenance team to investigate.

On a more positive note, I was very happy to read that Laura and David offered you exemplary service, I am sure they will find your comments a great source of motivation.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again some time in the future, I would hope we are able to restore you faith.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel looks lovely from the outside and the reception area is very luxurious. It's let down by the rooms, which are small, tatty and dated. Our room overlooked the train station and was noisey. There are better hotels in Leeds for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_Sea_And_Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Love_Sea_And_Ski

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan and hope that we are given the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. I will certainly address your comments with our maintenance manager.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Because Queens are quite dogged about their stingy 3pm check-in time, it becomes somewhat chaotic once 15:00 actually arrives, concierge gets swamped & it just makes for a hectic experience.

Once in our room we appeared to have received an upgrade, poor view but a separate ‘living’ area with its own Sofa/furniture/TV/amenities. This was ideal & greatly appreciated, made for some nice time relaxing. The bathroom was spotlessly clean however I found the rooms do become very hot during the night… the Air-con seemingly wouldn’t kick in so we had to resort to opening the windows (which thankfully we could – I know you can’t on rooms facing the front of the hotel).

Hotel has a lot of character, the passage down into the station is very handy & the art-deco style is pleasant. All the staff are very polite throughout the hotel. I must say the lifts are archaic & getting one at busy times is somewhat of a trauma. Breakfast was of a good quality although it is somewhat crowded/chaotic at peak times.
Price permitting, I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Wearside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear krlsthjckl

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, unfortunatey as a very busy city centre hotel our rooms are generally booked and as such once our previous guests check out those rooms do need housekeeping maintenance which as you can imagine does take the allocated time with 215 bedrooms. We do endeavour to ensure our guests rooms are available from 3pm onwards, sooner where possible.
I will certainly address the comments made in relation to the air conditioning with our maintenance department and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I do hope that this experience has not tainted your view of the hotel, as you say there were many aspects of your stay which were very enjoyable. We look forward to having the opportunity to restore your faith and welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews