We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Overall fab hotel, staff really helpful & happy to change our room. Lovely clean rooms, large bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Great location so no taxi's needed to get to bars etc. Bar expensive for drinks however nice to start off your night! Defo recommend & will be staying again, hopefully sample breakfast next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank peleTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear peleTyne_Wear

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and recommending The Queens to others. I do hope we have the opportuntiy to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    1,032
    406
    152
    88
See reviews for
291
1,146
177
860
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Second visit with my wife the place oozes quality and class Art Deco style amazing rooms extremely comfortable staff welcoming and helpful. View from the room at the front of the hotel overlooking the square lovely. Try it you will like it.Much better than the new style hotel in the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear richard l

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Queens, pleased that once again you had a wonderful time wtih us. Thank you too for recommending us to the wider travelling community. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I chose the Queens based mainly on location, which you cannot fault. You could not be more central, within walking distance of a huge variety of restaurants.
A traditional hotel, the Queens has an Art Deco charm, with a high level of service. The rooms are a decent size, although my bathroom was very small. Good breakfast and reasonable valet parking, cheaper than the multi-story round the corner.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MaseKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear MaseKid

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was delighted to read that you found uor wonderful central location perfect for exploring the city. I do hop you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived late at night. Check in was smooth, efficient and friendly. Had a room at the front of the hotel which I thought would be great to look out over the main square, but not so. The noise from the main square filtered into the room, the glazing wasn't brilliant, consequently any noise, sirens etc, and there were a number, provided for a restless night. The room service menu was limited and expensive, even by hotel standards, and the bed was solid. I stay in Leeds frequently but not usually at this hotel, I only did so this time because of a meeting over the road for the hotel; I'd more likely give it a miss than use again, even if it meant a longer walk.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the building if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Anders B

Thank you for taking the time to post your construcitve review. I was sorry to learn that you were disturbed during your stay. It is rare that despite our central location in the city centre that we are subjected to noise within the rooms and as a general rule the secondary glazing does work well to reduce city noise levels and apologise that we failed on this occasion. I would like to assure you that this is certainly not the norm and would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Although the Queens is really well located and the reception etc do the art deco theme well the rooms are pretty poor.

Decor in the rooms is just old bed below average and bathroom cramped.

Breakfast was average.

I won't be going back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Keith B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan and will certainly look into the comments made with regard to the standard of your room. Please be assured this is certainly not out usual standard of quality and hope to have the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We traveled here by train to visit family and its location couldn't be improved. You don't even need to leave the station to get to the hotel. The staff at Reception were very welcoming as were the concierges and any other members of staff we had any dealings with......in fact they helped to make our stay more pleasurable. We were upgraded to a superior room which was a bonus and we really liked the room. We asked for a room with a window that opened which was what we got. The shower was very good and the beds were comfortable. We were HAPPY!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear D G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and found our excellent proximity to the train station perfect for your needs. Thank you too for your kind comments about the team, I will certainly pass them on as I am sure they will find them a great source of motivation.

We very much hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed one night for the Prince concert at the first direct arena,we traveled by train and the station couldn't be nearer and you are under cover right into the back of the hotel.We arrived a couple of hours early but were checked in straight away .The room was lovely,very quiet even for a friday night,the beds/pillows clean and very comfy.What earns this hotel an excellent rating for me are the staff, they are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, would definately stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyceySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear boyceySouthWales

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, only slightly jealous that it was for the Prince gig! Glad you had a wonderful time though and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#7 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing