We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My daughters paid for a junior suite as a present for my birthday following a concert date at the first direct arena. Lovely hotel if you want to re live the thirties. Concierge with top hat and tails, brass lifts and old fashioned hospitality. Great position for city centre breaks, lovely big bed and complimentary bath robe etc however really disappointed with the standard of the room. Unable to open the Windows which were rotten and needed replacing. Overlooked the back of the station, no outside space. The lower part of the bed was falling apart, dirt under the TV and cobwebs on Windows not to mention the 4 day out date milk in the fridge. At 122pounds per night they are having a laugh. Stayed at the Beechwood hotel at Roundhay last week for a third of the price which was amazing with a great garden for a third of the price. No contest. This hotel is living on past glories and I wouldn't even think about booking again, can't stand the smultzy4 American OTT staff attitude of insincere gratuitous claptrap!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking city square or you get a room watching the trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear christine r

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, I was very sorry that not everything went according to plan however pleased that you enjoyed the Art Deco surroundings and excellent central location in the city.

Please be assured that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service and will of course investigate the issues raised with our head housekeeper and maintenance teams and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope that this has not tainted your view of the hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    1,049
    409
    157
    90
See reviews for
295
1,169
178
875
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Recently spent a night at the Queens on a short break to see The Eagles at the Leeds Arena. We picked the hotel for its great location, interesting Art Deco interior and of course, valet parking in a city centre. We were greeted by the receptionist in a manner which suggested they were actually pleased to be welcoming us to the hotel and the concierge was equally warm and friendly. Our superior room was great; clean, tidy and comfortable. We had a brilliant night's sleep in a very quiet room which faced onto City Square. I must also mention the outstanding Art Deco bar where we managed to sink a few welcome beers on our return from the concert. All in all a great hotel experience in accommodation so much better than the usual sterile corporate rooms readily available elsewhere, made all the better by the hospitality of the brilliant staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowploughLincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear SnowploughLincolnUK

Thank you for posting such a lovely review, I was delighted to read that you found the team and hotel to be perfect for your needs. Lucky that you got to see The Eagles too, I heard they were amazing.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for a conference. Location is perfect, next to train station and a short walk to town. The room was huge but a bit dark and dreary. I had not one but two televisions! The decor was so dated it's back in fashion. Conference venue was very nice as was catering. I just feel the place could do with a facelift. Leeds on the other hand surprised me, very impressive city Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear CorkLanger

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us but I understand that the decor is not to everyone's tastes but most guests do enjoy our Art Deco heritage.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed one night here when going to a concert and was very pleased with the spacious room and helpful staff. Breakfast was included and we thought it very good value for money. The location was ideal for us being near to the train station and near to the city centre. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkenny0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear dkenny0310

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our excellent central location for exploring the city. I hope you have the chance to say with us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Not long back from a two night stay from the Queens in Leeds. I booked a superior room and got what I felt was just a standard room, maybe the difference in standard and superior is small but I definitely felt the cost of upgrading to superior was a waste of my money. The room itself was ok for what it was, TV could of done with a retune (I haven't seen a hotel with fuzzy TV reception in years...I thought these things didn't exist any more!), the shower was leaking but very powerful and it's a good job myself and my partner didn't want a bath as it was sized for someone around 5ft.

My major gripe with the stay and what has compelled me to write this review was the infernal noise coming from what must be a generator in the backside of the hotel. This thing sounded like an industrial tumble dryer and was on 90% of the time, some respite was had now and then but that soon passed. The weekend gone in Leeds was very warm and humid meaning you had to have the window open as the air conditioning didn't work properly. We luckily caught one of the service engineers who was attending to another room as the air-con was displaying an error when we first got in the room, however the air-con itself cannot be adjusted. It's either on low or high and no way to increase or decrease the temperature which is contradictory to what the instructions on the panel state.

Room service whilst expensive was on time and delicious, I recommend the English breakfast!

If you're in town for a party or a heavy sleeper then this hotel would do you fine, if you're looking for some quiet or a light sleeper then you may want to find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Conveniently located just two minutes walk from Leeds station. Can be noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear stuart m

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, I am sorry that not everything went according to plan and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our maintenance team. I would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard of quality or service and hope that we have the opportunity of restoring your faith some time in the near future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 in the Superior Double Room with balcony. Stayed for two nights and received a 40% discount, room was lovely, fridge had wine, beer, cans of pop and there was a lot of different teas coffees available in the room too. Fridge was restocked the second day. The bathroom was very modern, and the balcony had a great view. On the top floor you are part of the 'QClub' which means when the bar is open upstairs you are able to drink in there free of charge. For breakfast which was included in the price you could go downstairs for a full English, or just go the the bar and take a continental breakfast back to your room. Excellent location, only a minute walk from Leeds train station, staff very helpful. Would definitely return next time we were in Leeds.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the top floor so you can drink for free in the bar, would also recommend a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear rosiekay

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and that you were able to enjoy the luxurious QClub rooms and facilities.

Hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for one night while on a Conference trip with work. From the minute you walk in you cannot fail to be impressed. Its totally gorgeous and the room was spacious with sitting room and bedroom with flat screen tv in each. Lovely bathroom and plenty of tea and milk provided for a homely brew.
The bed was comfortable and the room was nice and quiet. I had a lovely breakfast and was grateful for the 6.30 start so that I could catch my train.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel could not be nearer to the train station. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Angela D

Thank you for your lovely review, I was very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and very much hope you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing