We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Queens in December, as our office party is held at the town hall. We upgraded to a QClub room (we usually do now when staying there) as it was also our anniversary weekend. The staff are excellent, rooms are stunningand very clean, we had a lovely view over leeds from our balcony, and had a couple of drinks from the well stocked bar before our party. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mark B

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, delighted that once again you had a wonderful stay in QClub and very much look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was lovely, it was nice to stay somewhere that has character and charm. Room was big and airy, bed was enormous and really comfy. The only moan I have is after spending the day shopping we returned to the room to have a rest before going to a show, the room hadn't been cleaned (which wasn't a problem) but we put the do not disturb sign on the door, approx half an hour later there was a knock on the door, it was the chamber maid asking if we had put the do not disturb sign on the door my mistake! Or did we really not want to be disturbed! She then insisted she cleans the room so we had to go down and sit I reception for half an hour! Would use the hotel again but would make sure we don't need a rest in the afternoon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Alison R

Thank you for taking the time to post your construcitve review, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan and will certainly address the comments made with our Head Housekeeper. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Queen's is a former Railway hotel, and is joined on to Leeds mainline railway station.
It's an impressive looking building, and the lobby is impressive too.

I wasn't that impressed with the check-in experience, and my request for a double bed was met with a "couldn't care less" refusal.

The rooms are a decent size, but feel a little dated.

Breakfast was ok, but I've definitely had better.

The prices in the bar were eye-wateringly expensive.

Overall, this is an ok hotel that could do so much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Travelling_Scot_10

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, I was sorry to read that you found some aspects of your stay displeasing and will certainly look into the comments made.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for one night, but wished it could have been more. On arrival, this elegant building appears what it is, a stylish hotel. Situated adjacent to Leeds mainline railway station, and only a few minutes walk into the city centre, it is an ideal venue for a visit to this city. We were greeted by very friendly helpful staff and this remained a common theme throughout our stay. The room was clean, comfortable, well equipped and nicely decorated. The bar was comfortable and nicely decorated, and the only criticism was, no draft cider. Breakfast was plentiful, well served and presented with great choice. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking city square, the other side is the railway !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveH61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear SteveH61_12

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was very pleased to read that you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for one night. We loved it so much we wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately the hotel was booked. The room was huge and had everything. The staff were so helpful and the great shops were literally on the door step. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a twin room on fifth floor excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Tricia31

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful time and I'm sorry that we weren't able to accommodate you for a little longer, next time?

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently stayed for one night following a concert at the First Direct Arena. From the minute we checked in to our car being brought to the front of the hotel on our departure the staff were all friendly, courteous and welcoming. We were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost and the room was excellent. Very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean bathroom.
The staff were interested in us and they always had a friendly smile. We couldn't have been treated any better if we had owned the hotel! We would return again tomorrow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kay O

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was very surprised at how nice the hotel was with all its art deco etc. Too many times I have stayed in bland 'contemporary' hotels, so being at The Queens was a nice change.
Arrived at the hotel at about 4:45pm on 25th June and the lady who checked us in was very efficient but also friendly. My room was on the third floor via an old brass and mirrors lift from a bygone age - but which worked perfectly well. My room, although not huge, was clean and fully equipped and had a great bed, TV, iron and ironing board, room safe, A/C, tea/coffee making facilities, room service, and a nice en-suite with amenities. The location of the hotel was perfect - right by the train station and easy walking distance to the downtown shopping/restaurant area. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again if I visit Leeds in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear echomania

Thank you for your lovely review, delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and very much hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,157 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing