We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed to be a nice traditional hotel.”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Seemed to be a nice traditional hotel.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stopped one night on business. What is it with UK hotels and them not providing toothbrushes or shavers?
Fortunately I took my own after discovering this at another hotel last week.
I think I had an Exec room that included breakfast.
Rooms were large. Usual TV programmes plus Sky news.
Shower located above bath but powerful and hot. Toiletries included shampoo and soap.
Coffee/tea making facilities. Nice coffee that went through a filter bag.
Complimentary water in a fridge for use.
Room quiet
Breakfast for buffet and had plenty of options
Car parking for one night was 15 pounds. They take the keys from you outside the hotel and have the car parked outside for you at a time you specify.
Plenty of eating places around the hotel should you want to eat outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woowoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Woowoo101

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at The Queens, I was very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope that you have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    1,094
    421
    159
    96
See reviews for
311
1,236
184
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend of the Tour de France. I had spread my options given the likely demand and potential (surprise) double booking that can go on at times like this and also booked rooms at the Radisson. Knowing that the radsisson was probably going to be better (but because I was there with a bunch of mates) I let them take by far the better hotel. The room was 50% more expensive thann the other and with a 'phone that wouldn't call room service / house keeping / concierge et. and a shower so hopeless I had to take a bath...this was not value for money. As we also booked a twin room it's hard to imagine why the beds are pushed together to make a double. As much as I like my mate, the thought of waking up facing him in the cold light of day was enough to make us have to rearrange the furniture in the room! Bizarre. Not a great selection o the TV (no Sky channels for example) and overall just a bit grubby. Anyway, after a day's cycling it was sufficient to put our head down. That's about it....

Room Tip: If you do go you might as well get a room overlooking City Square rather than the train station....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StueygHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear StueygHarpenden

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was extremely embarrased to read the nature of your complaint and at this late stage I can only offer you my sincere apologies. I will certainly address the comments raised with our maintenance manager and wouldl ike to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standard of quailty or service.

Thank you again for your valuable constructive criticism and hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, attentive staff! Fantastic central location, breakfast good, the only gripe is the Prom nights held here with rude drunk teenagers in the lobby - but dealt with fantastically by the staff. They could do with a pool but other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank splendid1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear splendid1_11

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, delighted to read that you found our excellent central location perfect for your needs. Apologies however for the behaviour of some of our guests, pleased.

I do hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for the Tour de France Grand Depart
The Good
1. Staff are charming
2. Got an upgrade to exec floor. Free breakfast in the executive lounge

The Bad
1. The free wifi was non existent. Given a whole range of excuses. Bottom line Nada
2. The free breakfast was non existent as when I got to the exec lounge at just before 7 ( they were full of guests going to the start, so they should have had breakfast ready early) there was nothing, not even a glass of water

The Ugly
1. Was charged £299 for the experience

Bottom line, great staff, but the management should look at a strange concept called customer service and value, which sadly seems to be lacking

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear molars2

Thank you for taking the time to post your construcitve review, I was pleased that on the whole you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team.
Apologies regarding the WiFi, we have experienced some issues with this however our IT department are investigating. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again some time in the future.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay in Leeds. A lovely comfortable hotel with friendly staff and great breakfasts. We will certainly be visiting again. As part of the Q Hotels Breakaway Club we also get great deals on stays there. We will probably try another Q hotel next time.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Panda0601

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Queens, I was pleased that once again you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope that we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Right next to the station, this place is great if you need to be in the city centre. The reception staff were fantastic in sorting out my slightly complicated booking situation and could not have been friendlier. The rooms have been fairly recently refurbished and mine was massive, very comfortable and really quiet. The only thing that lets this place down slightly is the food. I had dinner and breakfast and they were perfectly acceptable but nothing outstanding, hence why it gets 4 rather than 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Panda0601

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was pleased to read that on the whole you had a very enjoyable time with us and hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for one night midweek for an event in the city. Was upgraded to a junior suite free of charge. Staff on reception were exceptionally friendly. I would certainly recommend using the concierge to park your car (around £15 for 24 hours) as you simply park outside the hotel and a staff member takes it away to a secure car park. No hassle looking for parking in the city!

Suite was large with bold colours - again reflecting the art deco theme running throughout the hotel. Tea/Coffee choices were very good as were the complimentary toiletry products in the bathroom (including a white fluffy bath robe!)

Shower was invigorating and powerful - just what you needed to wake you up!

Hotel is centrally located with easy access to local pubs and eateries.

Would definitely return and recommend to others :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NipperTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear NipperTripper

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team and hope that you will have the chance to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,990 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,048 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,094 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing