We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel right next to the station”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed one night with family for my daughters graduation. Excellent and courteous staff, very clean, large double room on the 4th floor. . Breakfast was very good, all you need. Good location for bars & restaurants. I will definitely stay here again if I come back to the area.

Room Tip: Room 531 was a double with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear oster27

Firstly, many congratulations to your daughter for her graduation, you must be very proud. Very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us too and hope that we have the opportunity of welconing you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is well placed in the centre of Leeds. It has retained it's art-deco style and is quite charming. On arrival the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, as indeed were all the staff I came across. I had a suite on the 8th floor, no view particularly but thankfully quiet for a city centre hotel. Nice bathroom and pleasant enough room, unfortunately let down by a very uncomfortable bed. The double was 2 singles pushed together with a very noticeable join between the two, it wasn't very forgiving either. The pillows were also really uncomfortable. The service and quality of this hotel deserves a 5 rating, but the bed unfortunately let it down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kate234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear kate234

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and found your Art Deco surroundings a pleasure. I was pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, however i will of course take your comments on board regarding the bed comfort and thank you for your feedback.

We hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stopped one night on business. What is it with UK hotels and them not providing toothbrushes or shavers?
Fortunately I took my own after discovering this at another hotel last week.
I think I had an Exec room that included breakfast.
Rooms were large. Usual TV programmes plus Sky news.
Shower located above bath but powerful and hot. Toiletries included shampoo and soap.
Coffee/tea making facilities. Nice coffee that went through a filter bag.
Complimentary water in a fridge for use.
Room quiet
Breakfast for buffet and had plenty of options
Car parking for one night was 15 pounds. They take the keys from you outside the hotel and have the car parked outside for you at a time you specify.
Plenty of eating places around the hotel should you want to eat outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woowoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Woowoo101

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at The Queens, I was very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope that you have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend of the Tour de France. I had spread my options given the likely demand and potential (surprise) double booking that can go on at times like this and also booked rooms at the Radisson. Knowing that the radsisson was probably going to be better (but because I was there with a bunch of mates) I let them take by far the better hotel. The room was 50% more expensive thann the other and with a 'phone that wouldn't call room service / house keeping / concierge et. and a shower so hopeless I had to take a bath...this was not value for money. As we also booked a twin room it's hard to imagine why the beds are pushed together to make a double. As much as I like my mate, the thought of waking up facing him in the cold light of day was enough to make us have to rearrange the furniture in the room! Bizarre. Not a great selection o the TV (no Sky channels for example) and overall just a bit grubby. Anyway, after a day's cycling it was sufficient to put our head down. That's about it....

Room Tip: If you do go you might as well get a room overlooking City Square rather than the train station....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StueygHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear StueygHarpenden

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was extremely embarrased to read the nature of your complaint and at this late stage I can only offer you my sincere apologies. I will certainly address the comments raised with our maintenance manager and wouldl ike to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standard of quailty or service.

Thank you again for your valuable constructive criticism and hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, attentive staff! Fantastic central location, breakfast good, the only gripe is the Prom nights held here with rude drunk teenagers in the lobby - but dealt with fantastically by the staff. They could do with a pool but other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank splendid1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear splendid1_11

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, delighted to read that you found our excellent central location perfect for your needs. Apologies however for the behaviour of some of our guests, pleased.

I do hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for the Tour de France Grand Depart
The Good
1. Staff are charming
2. Got an upgrade to exec floor. Free breakfast in the executive lounge

The Bad
1. The free wifi was non existent. Given a whole range of excuses. Bottom line Nada
2. The free breakfast was non existent as when I got to the exec lounge at just before 7 ( they were full of guests going to the start, so they should have had breakfast ready early) there was nothing, not even a glass of water

The Ugly
1. Was charged £299 for the experience

Bottom line, great staff, but the management should look at a strange concept called customer service and value, which sadly seems to be lacking

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear molars2

Thank you for taking the time to post your construcitve review, I was pleased that on the whole you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team.
Apologies regarding the WiFi, we have experienced some issues with this however our IT department are investigating. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again some time in the future.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay in Leeds. A lovely comfortable hotel with friendly staff and great breakfasts. We will certainly be visiting again. As part of the Q Hotels Breakaway Club we also get great deals on stays there. We will probably try another Q hotel next time.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Panda0601

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Queens, I was pleased that once again you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope that we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,156 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing