We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1930s Art Deco Glamour”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The red carpet, the Portland stone frontage, the revolving doors and the smart and helpful commissionaire said it all! This hotel has been sympathetically refurbished with everything in Art Deco style, even to the bathroom fittings. It's quite splendid. The room was comfortable with a good bed and stylish furniture. The bathroom had great fittings in retro style and... a magnifying make-up mirror! How wonderful when so many hotel bathrooms have low energy lighting. The towels were fluffy.

The window doesn't seem to have been replaced as yet, so we had a harmonica whine of wind through a gap. However, we were tired, so we slept through it.

We stayed for one night with a group of 42 on our way to Edinburgh. We had pre-booked our wants for the evening meal some time ago. We sat down as arranged at 7.30pm, but for some reason the staff were inept and were unable to begin serving the pre-ordered starters until 8.10pm, 40 minutes later. We were tired and hungry. We didn't even drown our sorrows in wine as the prices for fairly ordinary wines were expensive. The main course and desserts followed the same pattern, so a simple meal took ages. The food was fine - when it came!

The breakfast was very good.

The hotel is in a central location overlooking the atmospheric City Square. The statue of the Black Prince is prominent and the flowers show civic pride.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank madamemerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear madamemerlot

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and I am pleased that you found our Art Deco surroundings such a pleasure.

I was pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, however I will of course take your comments on board regarding your delayed group dinner service and thank you for your feedback.

We hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely lovely and the staff were very good at their jobs the only downfall I have to this hotel is the ridiculously overpriced parking, think they wanted £16 for over night stay, even the train station round the corner would be cheaper. So imagine when we were staying for two nights what a waste of £32!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ElenaRaouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear ElenaRaouna

Thank you for taking the time to post your construcitve review, I was pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay with us.

My apologies if you feel that our secure valet car-parking is overpriced for a city-centre hotel, but I can assure you that at £15.95 for 24hrs it is cheaper than the £18.00 for 24hrs at the railway station and also the majority of the city-centre hotels within the city.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and I do hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again some time in the future.

With warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Blown away, was not what I expected at all infact it was more then me and friends could ask for. Fantastic rooms, fantastic staff, just fantastic . Would recommend all to visit leeds and for this to be your sfarting point. Beautiful hotel in a beuatiful city

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear claire m

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at The Queens, I was very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I spend three nights a week in Leeds and many of the hotels in Leeds are good, but not great.

The Queens is an exception to this rule.

If you like a hotel with an Art Deco feel, a red carpet outside, staff who couldn't make you feel more welcome and a reasonably comfortable nights sleep - come to The Queens. It's pretty good.

Room service food is good quality and has large portions - none of the nouvelle cuisine nonsense! Despite being right next to one of the busiest railway stations in the north of England, there's very little noise from the trains.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking City Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear john_christiansen

Thank you for so much for posting a review of your stay.

I was pleased to read that you feel that we stand apart from the other hotels in Leeds with both our Art Deco and the welcome that the team gave you.

I do hope that you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This Art Deco Hotel is slap bang in the centre of Leeds opposite some very imposing buildings and a statue of among others The Black Prince. There is a red carpet and a concierge together with very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately we could only stay one night on our way to Scotland but this hotel would be ideal to explore all Leeds has to offer, it was a pleasant surprise to see such lovely architecture and civic pride. For a hotel in the centre of a large city it was very quiet and peaceful and we all had a good nights sleep and a splendid breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear france036

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay and I am so pleased that you found our Art Deco surroundings such a pleasure.

I do hope that the next time you are passing through, that you are able to stay longer to explore more of both The Queens and also the delightful City of Leeds.

With warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited leeds with a friend. Stayed at the Queens. Lovely Art Deco hotel. Nice spacious room with fridge which was useful. Good bathroom. Comfy bed, clean room, decent breakfast. Fast check in and express checkout. Ideal if travelling by train, two mins walk away

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzykSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear kazzykSouthYorkshire

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Queens.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have visited this hotel several times to visit family in Leeds, I requested a quiet high floor room overlooking city square and that is exactly what we got. Room was comfy and quiet, breakfast good but made exceptional by excellent staff, very pleasant and attentive and some longstanding staff members who are very good at what they do. If you get a good deal this hotel is ideal for its central situation and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 608 end of corridor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Ann C

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Queens,

I was pleased that once again you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and thank you for the lovely comments about our team members.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

With warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,105 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £72 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing