We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central location”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice central location”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I like to stay either here of at the hilton in Leeds. I am from south Leeds but it is easier staying at one of these hotels then getting a taxis back home.

The hotel is quite well kept, tired in some place but the rooms are great and the staff are plesant.

You do get the feeling you in a much grander hotel when in the lobby.

It is definaltey a good hotel to stay in. Would recoommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryfryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our staff welcoming, I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    1,095
    421
    159
    96
See reviews for
313
1,238
184
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

great hotel, got a great weekend deal b&b and dinner, with bottle of bubbly in room on 1st night. Room clean massive bed and old art deco feel to the hotel, that created a better feel than most 4 star's i have stayed at in the past.

Great location, well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viking121Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

What a beautiful hotel, stayed there this weekend the room was excellant, the staff very nice, they have spent a lot of money on this hotel, will be going again.,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireThegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our staff welcoming, I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The hotel is in a great location the lobby and public areas are good and the staff are very helpful. The standard rooms let the hotel down a bit as the are dark and the furniture is a bit tired looking and the bathrooms aren't that great either ours had cracked tiles and a very worn looking bath. We stayed on a Saturday and the hotel was not by any means peaceful at night but then it is a city centre hotel and there seemed to be numerous hen parties staying in the building. We got a deal on the room which we were happy with but I'm not sure I'd have been so happy paying the full rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesleyerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you for you’re raising your concerns, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. I would be grateful if you could email me at kharrison@qhotels.co.uk. On a more positive note, I am delighted that you found our staff helpful and the location ideal.
Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Horrible dingy, dark and grubby looking hotel. My room had been doused in air freshener and was really dark and stuffy so I asked if I could open the window. I was told that it was against the rules. Two very apologetic staff members explained that it was for health and safety, because people had committed suicide jumping from the windows. I left. Really wouldn't recommend this hotel. Felt sorry for the staff who were very pleasant and did their best to be helpful. The location is good for access to the train station but very noisy so wouldn't recommend it for location either.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o2o2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you for you’re raising your concerns, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, however on a more positive note I am pleased that you found the staff warm, welcoming and more than happy to help and assist.
Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We were very impressed with the lobby and hotel in itself, and the staff were amazing. However the room left little to desire. Dressed in grungey furnishing and mismatch furniture our room was next to the lift. They assured us they turned off the lift at 9.30pm however this was not quite correct, only one is closed over night and the other kept us awake all night. There was also an unexpected amount of shouting and banging in the corridors. Not quite what you would expect from the prestige lobby and exterior. Worst nights sleep of our life unfortunately. The breakfast on the other hand was amazing. We would recommend this hotel due to the great staff and amenities outside the room, however ensure you are not to be dumped in a room next to the lift.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaharaSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you felt that the room was a little disappointing. On a more positive note, I am delighted that you enjoyed our infamous breakfast and that the staff were more than accommodating to your needs, I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portpatrick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Just spent two nights with my fella in the Queens and what a fabulous break - the staff could not have been more helpful.

Was a bit disappointed on the first night, although the room and bed were enormous, it was bang opposite the lift which woke us up in the early hours. I requested if we could change our room the following day, and the lovely receptionist (sorry I didn't get your name, blond hair very pretty) said as a treat for my birthday would upgrade us to a deluxe room on the 5th floor. This was excellent, no noise whatsover, and the quality of the room was superb again bed was massive ! I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there. But the staff and service we received was second to none !

Hotel is in prime position for pubs, eating out and shopping (didn't do any of the latter we did mostly pub crawling). There is an excellent curry restaurant just round the corner opposite Scarborough Taps pub. If you want a late breakfast go to Wotherspoons up the road or try the Merrion Centre one, the breakfasts are amazing !!

Once again, thanks for a wonderful weekend, will definitely be coming back !!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff both friendly and helpful. It’s always nice to receive positive feedback and I will pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,994 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,050 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing