We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure Luxury”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

What more can i say...we arrived and were treated like kings and by the end of the night we were laughing and joking with the barman like we were best freinds. I can not praise the hotel enough....i only hope another of my mates are getting married soon...then i'll have an excuse to return!!!

I big thank you to all your wonderful staff for making the weekend truly special (the bits i can remeber anyway!!).

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Jamzzee

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Queens, it’s a delight to read that you had such a fantastic stay and that you found our team more than welcoming, they are the true heart of this hotel, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, please contact me personally and I will do everything I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    1,077
    417
    158
    95
See reviews for
302
1,208
183
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Having previously stayed in the Queens I cannot recommend it enough, it is a fantastic location and has all of the ammenities I would ask for.

I now stay in Leeds one night a week for business, and it was only the price that stopped me booking the Queens for the 2 years I will be down here!

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GordonBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear GordonBaird

Thank you again for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queens, it’s nice to see that we are consistently getting it right.

We do offer a Breakaway Club membership which offers a range of benefits including money off vouchers and added extras for just a minimal one off fee for life. Please do get in touch if you would like more information on becoming a member queensreservations@qhotels.co.uk
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and hope that you become a most valued guest.

Warmest regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This year I have stayed in several hotels in Leeds including the Hilton and City Inn, neither of which compare to the Queens Hotel in the slightest. In my own opinion, the bedroom was spacious and great value for money, well equipped and thought out. The hotels location is amazing with it being situated next to the train station, making the commute less stressful, especially if you’re travelling with the little ones. Richard the barman was funny, friendly, and attentive this alone set the hotel apart from the others.
All in all, it was a fabulous couple of days. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_19715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Matthew

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback, it goes without saying that we're absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us. Over the last 5 years we have spent over £10million on The Queens and have also recently invested a further £500,000 to create the QClub floor and private executive lounge on the top floor and are thrilled that you appreciated our efforts.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team and in particular Richard. We are all extremely proud of our magnificent hotel, and the team are the true heart of its success.

Thank you again for your recommendations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The Queens hotel is situated in the heart of the city - minutes walk around the corner from the main transport hub of Leeds train station. The Queens is an imposing building that exudes elegance from the moment you step into the main foyer. All public areas are well kept with an Art Deco theme - the kind that isn't in your face but subtle in areas and exact where it needs to be...

My stay started off with a speedy check-in together with helpful advice on where I could eat in or eat out at Leeds' many restaurants, drink at bars or just stroll along the pedestrianised shopping precincts.

The hotel room was quite spacious for a standard room - with a fresh looking newly renovated bathroom that had all the fixtures and fittings you'd need for a comfortable stay. My room over looked the main City Square outside the hotel - very quiet inside with the buzz of the city zooming by outside, great nights sleep!

I had a couple of hours to roam around the city before boarding a train back to London. Concierge offers to take your luggage off your hands and stow away until your return - leaving you to walk around the many shops and see interesting sights within walking distance without the 'dragging' of luggage.

I would recommend anyone to stay here, be it family, couples or solo travellers. I am looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at The Queens for 2 nights. The location is great, right next to the train station and only a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops and bars. The room was fine, nice and clean but nothing special. The staff were very helpful in advising us on the best places to go in the area, and gave us a little map to help us on our way. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We attended a Rotary conference, with a group of over 200. Travel by rail, was easy, hotel very close to the station. The rooms were good, large, comfortable beds, good bathroom.
Of the 2 lifts, one broke down, twice. We ate 4 meals in the hotel, 2 breakfasts, 2 evening meals. The food and service at breakfasts, and at a buffet evening were really bad, the worst I can remember since school meals over 50 years ago. The other evening meal food was still bad, but the evening enjoyable because we had good entertainment, and a few drinks

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
Dear MichaelMelville

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queens and I thank you for your particular comments regarding your dining experience. I am saddened to read your review particularly as we had received so much positive feedback regarding the event, predominantly from the event organiser. On a more positive note, I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable evening in spite of your dining experience.

Please be assured that despite the lift breaking down on one occasion, this has now been rectified. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope that it hasn't tainted your view of the hotel when staying in the city in future.

Yours sincerely

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Leeds: Queens Hotel, Art Deco glamour throughout the hotel and a great location for my 6 days enjoying local sights

I very much enjoyed my stay. I love Art Deco, and appreciate that the Queen's Hotel has not only an Art Deco exterior and gorgeously restored Art Deco lobbies. but that even the hallways and bedrooms are furbished in Art Deco style!

I booked a single room for my 6 night stay. I was given a large room with a huge, comfortable bed, a flat screen TV, and a bathroom with a heated towel rack & nice toiletries. I asked for a room quiet from outside noise and away from the lifts, and was given a room on the 7th floor that was quiet from noise from the outside & away from the lifts.

I didn't wish to pay a hefty 15 lbs daily for breakfast, but fortunately the front desk sold me 10 lb breakfast vouchers. Much delicious hot & cold food was in the breakfast room.

This is a 4 star hotel, but at extra price, 18 rooms on the 8th floor reportedly have 5 star amenities.

After arrival by train from Leeds (and having previously seen York) I spent my 1st day sightseeing downtown, especially the gorgeous Victorian shopping arcades and Kirksgate City Market. 2nd day, I enjoyed the Royal Armories, a mile walk from the hotel. 3rd day, I walked to the bus station next to Kirksgate and took the bus to enjoy Harewood House. 4th day, I took the train (next to the hotel) to visit the interesting town of Sheffield. 5th day, I took the train to visit Bradford including the National Media Museum. 6th day, I visited Leeds City Museum and Leeds Industrial Museum. I didn't have the time to visit Temple Newsam. So, there's plenty to do from a stay based in Leeds!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoricHotelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Dear HistoricHotelFan

Thank you for your comments, we’re absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us. Over the last 5 years we have spent over £10million on The Queens and as you so highly praised, touched almost every nook and cranny restoring the hotel to its decadent Art Deco opulence.

We have also recently invested a further £500,000 to create the QClub floor and private executive lounge on the top floor and are thrilled that you appreciated our efforts.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team who you are all so proud of our magnificent hotel, and the true heart of its success.

Thank you again for your recommendations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,988 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing