We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What they thought the 1930s was like in the 1980s”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What they thought the 1930s was like in the 1980s”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

My title is as close as I can get to describing the rather odd ambience this hotel has. It is well located, the staff were OK, the room was comfortable with a decent shower and no noise and yet there is just something about it that feels dated (in not a good way) and faded, certainly for the prices they charge. The worst thing was the food; we had two dinners there, both mass catered. One was so poor we left and went somewhere else, the other one was acceptable but instantly forgettable. It is not a nightmare and I did not have any problems as such, it is just I am sure there are better hotels in Leeds for the money... or less.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuralRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear RuralRides

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queens and I thank you in particular for the comments concerning the décor of the building, which I found particularly disappointing. Over the last 5 years, we have spent over £10million on The Queens, restoring this magnificent hotel to its’ former Art Deco decadence and have touched every facet of the building and can therefor assure you that we take the maintenance and upkeep of our hotel extremely seriously and will most definitely look into the issues you have raised.

On a more positive note, I am delighted that you found the room both comfortable and peaceful.

Yours sincerely

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    1,083
    419
    159
    96
See reviews for
306
1,220
183
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Positives:
The location next to the railway station was very convenient.
The concierge was very helpful and understood the important of good old fashioned service.
The rooms were very quiet at night from noise within the hotel and there was a hum of traffic noise but this was not excessive considering the city centre location.
The tea and coffee facilities in the room were good.
The orange juice at breakfast was delicious.

Negatives:
VERY expensive car parking costs.
On Sunday morning we had to queue for twenty minutes for breakfast.
The breakfast room seemed somewhat cramped for the size of the hotel.
The bar service was unfriendly: the Richard mentioned in other reviews clearly wasn’t on duty!
There was a limited and expensive bar menu.
The decor in our room was a tad tired and the net curtain had seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMeerkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear MidlandsMeerkats

Thank you for taking the time to write such concise and valuable feedback. I am obviously delighted to hear that you found the rooms extremely peaceful, something we strive to offer our guests, despite having such a fantastic city centre location. I am also very pleased to read that most of the team were able to offer you our famous Northern hospitality, however I am concerned regarding the service in the bar and will certainly be addressing that so thank you for highlighting those issues.

I was also very disappointed to read your comments regarding the standard of your bedroom as we are continually investing and take the upkeep of this magnificent hotel extremely seriously. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of replacing our net curtains as although cleaned on a very regular basis, the particular choice in colour may suggest otherwise.

I hope that this hasn’t tainted your view of our hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

What more can i say...we arrived and were treated like kings and by the end of the night we were laughing and joking with the barman like we were best freinds. I can not praise the hotel enough....i only hope another of my mates are getting married soon...then i'll have an excuse to return!!!

I big thank you to all your wonderful staff for making the weekend truly special (the bits i can remeber anyway!!).

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Jamzzee

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Queens, it’s a delight to read that you had such a fantastic stay and that you found our team more than welcoming, they are the true heart of this hotel, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, please contact me personally and I will do everything I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Having previously stayed in the Queens I cannot recommend it enough, it is a fantastic location and has all of the ammenities I would ask for.

I now stay in Leeds one night a week for business, and it was only the price that stopped me booking the Queens for the 2 years I will be down here!

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GordonBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear GordonBaird

Thank you again for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queens, it’s nice to see that we are consistently getting it right.

We do offer a Breakaway Club membership which offers a range of benefits including money off vouchers and added extras for just a minimal one off fee for life. Please do get in touch if you would like more information on becoming a member queensreservations@qhotels.co.uk
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and hope that you become a most valued guest.

Warmest regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This year I have stayed in several hotels in Leeds including the Hilton and City Inn, neither of which compare to the Queens Hotel in the slightest. In my own opinion, the bedroom was spacious and great value for money, well equipped and thought out. The hotels location is amazing with it being situated next to the train station, making the commute less stressful, especially if you’re travelling with the little ones. Richard the barman was funny, friendly, and attentive this alone set the hotel apart from the others.
All in all, it was a fabulous couple of days. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_19715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Matthew

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback, it goes without saying that we're absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us. Over the last 5 years we have spent over £10million on The Queens and have also recently invested a further £500,000 to create the QClub floor and private executive lounge on the top floor and are thrilled that you appreciated our efforts.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team and in particular Richard. We are all extremely proud of our magnificent hotel, and the team are the true heart of its success.

Thank you again for your recommendations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The Queens hotel is situated in the heart of the city - minutes walk around the corner from the main transport hub of Leeds train station. The Queens is an imposing building that exudes elegance from the moment you step into the main foyer. All public areas are well kept with an Art Deco theme - the kind that isn't in your face but subtle in areas and exact where it needs to be...

My stay started off with a speedy check-in together with helpful advice on where I could eat in or eat out at Leeds' many restaurants, drink at bars or just stroll along the pedestrianised shopping precincts.

The hotel room was quite spacious for a standard room - with a fresh looking newly renovated bathroom that had all the fixtures and fittings you'd need for a comfortable stay. My room over looked the main City Square outside the hotel - very quiet inside with the buzz of the city zooming by outside, great nights sleep!

I had a couple of hours to roam around the city before boarding a train back to London. Concierge offers to take your luggage off your hands and stow away until your return - leaving you to walk around the many shops and see interesting sights within walking distance without the 'dragging' of luggage.

I would recommend anyone to stay here, be it family, couples or solo travellers. I am looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at The Queens for 2 nights. The location is great, right next to the train station and only a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops and bars. The room was fine, nice and clean but nothing special. The staff were very helpful in advising us on the best places to go in the area, and gave us a little map to help us on our way. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,018 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing