We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly spoilt a whole weekend”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nearly spoilt a whole weekend”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel is in a brilliant location and seemed very nice upon first arrival. Unfortunately, poor service spoilt everything about this hotel. We arrived 3 hours after the check-in time of 2pm, only to be told by quite a rude receptionist that the room wasn't yet available. Once this was sorted out, we met in the bar to start the night with the free champagne which had been promised as part of a package deal for a hen party. The bar staff seemed to know nothing about this and although this was finally resolved after 30 minutes, the hen was already upset by the very poor treatment by the staff meaning a bad start to the evening. Even free drinks aside, the bar staff were exceptionally slow. The room and beds were comfortable and clean, but unfortunately breakfast was another slow and frustrating experience. Obviously Sunday mornings will be busy, but I would suggest either extending the dining area so people don't have to wait for so long, or at least employ some staff who do not seem to be so put out at having to meet and greet guests in the morning. Would not recommend this hotel and would have serioud doubts about staying at a Q hotel venue again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear CazzaB16
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The Queens and I am very sorry that it didn’t go exactly as you planned. The free champagne voucher which you are entitled to is to be used in Chilli Whites along with your VIP free entry to the venue and private reserved table. I can only apologise sincerely if this was not made clear to you and can fully understand that this would put a dampener on proceedings. On a more positive note, I am happy that you found your bedrooms to be more than accommodating and that the location to be ideal for a city centre break.
Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback and we hope that this experience hasn’t tainted your view of us and that when you’re next in Leeds you will consider coming back to stay with us.

Yours sincerely

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    1,084
    420
    159
    96
See reviews for
308
1,220
183
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The staff here were fantastic, from the front desk to the cleaners and restaurant service: friendly, helpful, cheerful and professional throughout. I had a single room and it was extremely comfortable and quiet, a far cry from the poky room you sometimes find in big hotels. The rate was very competitive, the location central, and the breakfast was just great. There's a very good atmosphere about the place - welcoming with a city centre buzz and a strong sense of history, but calm and comfortable with it. An unexpected treat!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The art deco is lovely, as are the staff. In fact the staff make this hotel. The room was large and clean but very dark with all the dark colours and 'subtle' lighting. As with many hotels you can't put make up on in the bedroom. The location was very good, easy access to station and shops. I loved the corridors and attention to detail on the doors. The bar is disappointing, dreary, drab and the toilets off the bar are awful (decor not cleanliness). Food was ok but breakfast was not kept hot enough. The most annoying thing was all the door slamming. i don't know if it was other residents or if we were next to a room that staff accessed but the doors were banging until late at night and started very early in the morning, came home very tired.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Dear L38

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team, you’re right in recognising that they are the true heart of the hotel as is the wonderful period décor throughout. I am sorry that things didn’t go to plan during breakfast, this is a definite one-off as our breakfast is infamous for its quality. I do hope that this hasn’t tainted your view of our magnificent hotel would very much like to welcome you back to The Queens in the near future.

Yours sincerely

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I had booked a romantic break for my fiance and myself, and had made that clear when booking through Late Rooms. The room allocated to us was next to the lift, but having been told that it would not operate after 8pm, we thought that would not be a problem. It was obvious that our room was normally for single occupancy, as one side of the bed was only accessible by a super sllm person, and there was only one set of towels in the bathroom. No alternative room was available when requested, so we tried to make the best of things. It was only when the filthy state of the room became apparent that the housekeeping manager stepped in, and miraculously managed to arrange a transfer to a more suitable room. On a more positive note, the concierge service was excellent. Parking charges are prohibitive, so we would think twice about going by car in the future.We booked dinner in the hotel on the Sunday and were very disappointed with the service and attitude of the staff in the bar where our food was served. Over all, what was meant to be a special weekend, proved to be mediocre in terms of our accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlump_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear sugarlump_10

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The Queens and I am very sorry that it didn’t go exactly as you planned. We have a policy to turn off the lifts at 9.30pm so I will investigate why this didn’t happen during your stay and I apologise sincerely.

I was particularly concerned regarding the standard of your bedroom as we have invested a great deal over the last 5 years to ensure that the hotel has been refurbished to its former Art Deco glory and will obviously be looking into the comments raised as the upkeep and maintenance of the hotel is taken extremely seriously.

On a more positive note I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you in an alternative room and that you found our concierge team offered excellent service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that when you’re next in the city of Leeds that you consider coming back to stay with us.

Yours sincerely


David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The hotel was very handy for the station and most of the staff very helpful and friendly. However, the room (on the front, 2nd floor) was very noisy due to the traffic. We were woken on the first night at 2.30a.m. by a couple having a screaming row in the corridor - nice people!!! Breakfast on the Saturday was very nice but on the second morning we had to wait for over 20 minutes to be seated. One of the other guests in the queue complained and we were told that it was because everyone had gone to breakfast at the same time!!! The staff tried their best but were running round like headless chickens and we could not wait to leave,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sued51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear Sued51

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we do our utmost to ensure that our guests experience is a peaceful one, unfortunately our guest behaviour is completely out of our control; we do however do our utmost to see that our guests behave in accordance with what would be considered appropriate and considerate behaviour to other guests within the hotel. On a more positive note, I am delighted that you found the team both helpful and friendly and that you were able to enjoy our famous Yorkshire breakfast, however I do apologise for the delay in service.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I will start with the pros for this hotel; Great location & very good valet parking!
Now the not so good bits, I booked this hotel over the malmaison as it looked very nice and the reviews were very good, as this was our first weekend away in a long time it was very important it was a lovely modern hotel! However the first room we were allocated was very small and old looking also the noice from the traffic was far too loud, I asked to be changed room and was given another room at the back which was slightly bigger but still tired looking especially the bathroom! The hairdryer didnt work, the heating only comes on at certain times not when you use the controller in the room, I was unhappy and asked if I could get a refund and checkout but this was refused, we asked for an iron at 6pm and after ringing three times for it it turned up 1 min before we were going out! The menu wasnt very extensive so we didnt eat there.
To top it off someone knocked on our hotel room door at 6:30am a number of times and couldnt get back to sleep!
all in all I wouldnt go back and it wasnt the modern hotel I thought it was meant to be!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farnhamsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear Farnhamsurrey

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that there were a few niggles whilst you were here. Over the last 5 years we have spent over £10million bringing this fabulous Art Deco hotel to its former grandeur and am therefore disappointed to read that you found some of the bedrooms to be tired. We take the maintenance and upkeep extremely seriously and will of course be investigating the points you raised. On a more positive note, I am obviously delighted that you found the location of the hotel more than suitable

I do hope that this experience hasn’t tainted your view of the hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Kanarens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

my friend and i stayed for 2 nights.the room was lovely.meals were amazing.staff were all very friendly and welcoming. we will definatly be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindasaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing